User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 18 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 18
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 18
  3. Negative: 4 out of 18

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 8, 2012
    9
    This is a game that seems too straightforward at first glance, but the hidden depth is enormous. People who stick with this game are typically those who enjoy chess or RTS games. The developer has some serious denial issues about who their game really appeals to. They wouldn't want to hear this, but Hero Academy is a niche game. It'll immensely satisfy people within that niche, butThis is a game that seems too straightforward at first glance, but the hidden depth is enormous. People who stick with this game are typically those who enjoy chess or RTS games. The developer has some serious denial issues about who their game really appeals to. They wouldn't want to hear this, but Hero Academy is a niche game. It'll immensely satisfy people within that niche, but everyone else will pass. Expand
  2. Apr 20, 2013
    0
    Android version promised. Never delivered. If you do not attend to your examination, you fail the test.
  3. Jan 18, 2012
    10
    I don't know what reviewers are looking for in a game based on their reviews here, but it apparently isn't fun, humor, or strategy. Or FUN, did I mention that? The two available teams offer markedly different approaches you can use, and with the promise of forthcoming teams (which I assume will also offer completely new variety), I don't see myself getting sick of this in the foreseeableI don't know what reviewers are looking for in a game based on their reviews here, but it apparently isn't fun, humor, or strategy. Or FUN, did I mention that? The two available teams offer markedly different approaches you can use, and with the promise of forthcoming teams (which I assume will also offer completely new variety), I don't see myself getting sick of this in the foreseeable future. Kudos to you, Robot Entertainment! Keep this quality of stuff coming please! Expand
  4. Oct 17, 2013
    8
    While I'm enjoying this game i'm still a little confused as to what I'm doing. The tutorial starts you off nicely but I feel it could have been a little more in-depth on preparing me for battle. The Challenges are nice but offer no real reward, would have been nice to earn team members from challenges rather than having to buy them. It seems EVERYTHING in this game is a micro-transactionWhile I'm enjoying this game i'm still a little confused as to what I'm doing. The tutorial starts you off nicely but I feel it could have been a little more in-depth on preparing me for battle. The Challenges are nice but offer no real reward, would have been nice to earn team members from challenges rather than having to buy them. It seems EVERYTHING in this game is a micro-transaction while I don't mind that, I still feel that some form of rewards would have been nice for time spent on challenges. Collapse
  5. Jan 22, 2014
    10
    This is a cross between starcraft and scrabble. Its the best version of a modern day chess I've ever seen. I tried every other title which claimed to be the "ultimate turned based strategy game"and continue to buy many games to experiment. But i don't think I will ever stop playing this game, I enjoy it so much and I have so many of my friends loving this game too I can't abandon them.This is a cross between starcraft and scrabble. Its the best version of a modern day chess I've ever seen. I tried every other title which claimed to be the "ultimate turned based strategy game"and continue to buy many games to experiment. But i don't think I will ever stop playing this game, I enjoy it so much and I have so many of my friends loving this game too I can't abandon them. Its a classic like chess but even better. Very well balanced with its array of 6 teams: the teams are very diverse with a very original theme that really distinguishes itself from the other teams, each with beautifully animated and unique powers and abilities yet, the winning ratio for the teams is the same. If you have some competitive friends who like turn based strategy, it does not get better than this. Introduced this game to about 30 of my friends throughout 2012 and 2013, and we've all been playing ever since (this is a 2014 update). Challenge me if your interested or interested in learning the ropes: sevenstyx. Prevents me from getting any work done for almost two and a half years lol come to think of it this game is awful. Expand
  6. Oct 3, 2014
    0
    there is no turn time limit so your opponent can just stop playing and the game does not end. the game is a complete and total joke. but it does have an irritating flash effect so i guess if you like epilepsy it will be good for you
  7. Oct 17, 2013
    0
    While I'm enjoying this game i'm still a little confused as to what I'm doing. The tutorial starts you off nicely but I feel it could have been a little more in-depth on preparing me for battle. The Challenges are nice but offer no real reward, would have been nice to earn team members from challenges rather than having to buy them. It seems EVERYTHING in this game is a micro-transactionWhile I'm enjoying this game i'm still a little confused as to what I'm doing. The tutorial starts you off nicely but I feel it could have been a little more in-depth on preparing me for battle. The Challenges are nice but offer no real reward, would have been nice to earn team members from challenges rather than having to buy them. It seems EVERYTHING in this game is a micro-transaction while I don't mind that, I still feel that some form of rewards would have been nice for time spent on challenges. Collapse
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 18
  2. Negative: 1 out of 18
  1. Aug 20, 2012
    90
    Even if you buy all the teams Hero Academy will barely cost you $15. For that price you get a strategy game you can play indefinitely, and whose tactical elements are deep enough to entrance everyone from the casual gamer to the strategy enthusiast.
  2. Apr 10, 2012
    90
    Well-balanced, fun turn-based strategy gameplay perfectly suited to mobile devices.
  3. Mar 9, 2012
    70
    Hero Academy wants a piece of the emerging asynchronous market, and offers a compelling turn based strategy game. After some matches you begin to discover patterns and strategies, and before you know it you're completely hooked.