Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Jan 8, 2014
    100
    It's very simple to learn, but there's a huge amount of depth to the game.
  2. Jan 10, 2014
    90
    An incredible, ever-changing blend of dungeon-crawling and tactical puzzles, Hoplite may lack a little longevity but it's impressively entertaining while it lasts.
  3. Apr 14, 2014
    80
    Hoplite proudly flies its roguelike colours. Permadeath, turn-based combat and punishing difficulty await those game enough to plunder the dungeons’ depths in search of the Golden Fleece. The punishing, and often frustrating, difficulty of Hoplite is balanced by short, quick levels and an addictiveness that only comes from a desire to not let the game get the best of you.
  4. Feb 18, 2014
    80
    Hoplite is the perfect example of how you can create a roguelike in a bunch of days and get the job done.
  5. Feb 14, 2014
    80
    Hoplite is a procedural tactical game that will require patience, concentration and planning. The ideal indie game to chain-die in the bus, the subway or on the beach.
  6. Jan 14, 2014
    80
    Ultimately Hoplite is not a game based to any great extent about discovering new content or unlocking secrets; while some abilities are added to the roster for completing achievements, it does not have the complexity of hidden mechanics that its close comparator 868-Hack does. Instead it is, bluntly, the more “accessible” game and perhaps as a result the truer evocation of retro gaming. Its rules can be learned very quickly, as any good short-playing game should, and yet it still has elements of deep strategy, choice and randomisation to provide a motivation for chasing high scores.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 9 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Mar 20, 2014
    10
    Game of the year 2013. Best game i played all year. Actually best game I've played on iPad. So fun, my only gripe is its too short. PleaseGame of the year 2013. Best game i played all year. Actually best game I've played on iPad. So fun, my only gripe is its too short. Please make a sequel. Gameplay is tense, whoever designed this is genius. More people need to play this game. I see one negative review, but how can a review be posted without anything written? Full Review »
  2. Apr 2, 2015
    10
    Great Game ! Some game mechanics remind me of Vandal Hearts on PS1. The gameplay is fast-paced and it works well on mobile device. All in allGreat Game ! Some game mechanics remind me of Vandal Hearts on PS1. The gameplay is fast-paced and it works well on mobile device. All in all you should really give this a shot if you haven't already done so ! Full Review »
  3. Jan 27, 2014
    10
    Really love this game. Super simple and easy to get into. Graphics super simple but perfect. Plays a bit like a turn-based strategy game. IReally love this game. Super simple and easy to get into. Graphics super simple but perfect. Plays a bit like a turn-based strategy game. I still haven't beat it but have come close. Well worth the price. Full Review »