Icebreaker: A Viking Voyage Image
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 12 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: An icy wind has swept the Vikings away, leaving them stranded throughout the land and surrounded by trolls, deadly traps, dangerous enemies, and worst of al...troll snot!
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Jun 28, 2013
    100
    Icebreaker: A Viking Voyage is one of the most clever and whimsical games in recent memory, and it does a lot to revitalize the physics-puzzler genre.
  2. Jun 24, 2013
    100
    Bursting with clever level design and creativity, this physics-puzzler is a cut above the competition.
  3. Jun 26, 2013
    90
    Icebreakers: A Viking Voyage is a puzzling treat that packs a surprising amount of depth into a few simple mechanics.
  4. Jun 24, 2013
    85
    Icebreaker breaks the ice for Rovio Stars. Its fundamentals are not unlike Angry Birds and Bad Piggies, which come with wildly addicting and easy to get into puzzle gameplay in Icebreaker. But Viking Voyage is more complete and diverse than those games, because it manages to surprise with new puzzle concepts again and again, even though it's so recognizable.
  5. Aug 11, 2013
    80
    This game builds a very solid base where one of the most fun and addictive games for iOS devices can grow from.
  6. Jul 1, 2013
    80
    Fortunately, there's enough variety and imagination in the level design, not to mention humor in the game's storytelling, to help Icebreaker just about rise above these concerns. You can expect a stiffer challenge here than you'll get from the average physics puzzler, but that's not necessarily a bad thing in 2013.
  7. Jun 24, 2013
    70
    Giving us two different prices is also a rather blatant form of game gouging, especially when there are a healthy amount of in-game purchases to be had. Even with these complaints, Icebreaker: A Viking Voyage is still worth a look, especially if you have three bucks to blow.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Jun 21, 2013
    10
    The perfect game. It has everything we would want to see in an iOS game together. You'll only understand it once you play it. The pixelThe perfect game. It has everything we would want to see in an iOS game together. You'll only understand it once you play it. The pixel graphics are awesome, the gameplay is unique in lots of aspects and the in-game purchases aren't intrusive, they're just optional. Expand
  2. Oct 21, 2013
    10
    Great game. Engrossing, clever and funny with lots of content to discover and play with.

    Hopefully this will set a new level of quality
    Great game. Engrossing, clever and funny with lots of content to discover and play with.

    Hopefully this will set a new level of quality for iOS games its clear the developers had fun while making it.

    Looking forward to future content!
    Expand
  3. Jun 24, 2013
    10
    This is one of the best games on iOS, is has a brilliant mechanic, really well designed levels with the polish that you would expect fromThis is one of the best games on iOS, is has a brilliant mechanic, really well designed levels with the polish that you would expect from Nitrome. This is a big game, well worth the price tag! Expand
  4. Jun 24, 2013
    10
    An excellent game, well worth the money. Combines a brilliant design style with quality mechanics and is thoroughly engrossing as a result. AAn excellent game, well worth the money. Combines a brilliant design style with quality mechanics and is thoroughly engrossing as a result. A real classic hard to put down game, with depth humor and quality throughout. Expand
  5. Jun 24, 2013
    10
    Icebreaker is one of the best games I played recently. Cute pixel graphics, excellent gameplay and lots of content make it stand out in theIcebreaker is one of the best games I played recently. Cute pixel graphics, excellent gameplay and lots of content make it stand out in the app store. It took me good few days to finish it and even then it has good amount of replayability. My kids absolutely love it Icebreaker managed to keep them quiet for good few hours I highly recommend it for everyone! Good job Nitrome! Expand
  6. Jul 5, 2013
    1
    this app is fairly boring to me atleast one of the wost apps i have played, i guess i just didnt enjoy it as much as the version on thethis app is fairly boring to me atleast one of the wost apps i have played, i guess i just didnt enjoy it as much as the version on the computer. i dont reccommend this Collapse

Related Articles

  1. The Best iPhone and iPad Games of 2013

    The Best iPhone and iPad Games of 2013 Image
    Published: December 22, 2013
    Here are the highest-scoring games released for iOS this year.