Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Feb 10, 2014
    100
    I can guarantee you that once you’ve played through Icycle: On Thin Ice, you’ll be jumping at the opportunity to share your experience with friends. It’s a must-play video game that’s worth every single one of its 99 cents. [Issue 1, February 2014]
  2. Dec 2, 2013
    100
    I'm not sure what else to say in this review, because I don't want to spoil anything at all. Icycle: On Thin Ice is a wonderful game from start to finish, and one of those rare games that, as soon as I finished, made me want to discuss what it means with others.
  3. Nov 29, 2013
    90
    Icycle: On Thin Ice is a steal for just $0.99 thanks to its outside the box creative execution and perfectly realized physics quests. It’s a great one two punch of fun that carries much more heat than its moniker suggests.
  4. Jan 22, 2014
    85
    An abstract platform, unusual and compelling.
  5. Feb 12, 2014
    80
    Enormous fun. [March 2014, p.76]
  6. Dec 19, 2013
    80
    Icycle: On Thin Ice is an exercise of style, a stunning mix of design and direction that will surprise you in each and every level.
  7. Dec 13, 2013
    80
    As lovely to watch as it is to play.
  8. Dec 11, 2013
    80
    In many ways, Icycle: On Thin Ice feels like an art experiment as much as it does a video game. I missed having buttons, but not enough to make me abandon the game before getting to the end. Even without a defined narrative, I wanted to see everything Icycle: On Thin Ice had to offer.
  9. Dec 5, 2013
    80
    Strange, surreal, and spectacularly designed, Icycle: On Thin Ice is a one-of-a-kind platformer that only stumbles when it proves overwhelmingly punishing.
  10. Dec 3, 2013
    80
    Icycle: On Thin Ice is a finely crafted experience that delivers quite a journey to take part in making it a should buy to provide something totally unique.
  11. Dec 3, 2013
    80
    Icycle: On Thin Ice is a game that is at once both silly and poignant, backed up by solid level design that makes it the perfect game to play during the cold winter months.
  12. Dec 2, 2013
    80
    Despite its stiff handling, Icycle: On Thin Ice is a gorgeous, bizarre, and often humorous game which demands your attention.
  13. Dec 1, 2013
    80
    Icycle: On Thin Ice is well worth a pop, with varied, exciting, clever gameplay the dish of the day. If the sound of dressing a naked guy up in just a monocle and riding him through icy backdrops on a penny farthing is your idea of a good time, you need to grab this - and let's be honest, who would turn that down?
  14. Nov 29, 2013
    80
    An entertaining and gorgeous platformer, Icycle: On Thin Ice is as smart as it is fun.
  15. Nov 29, 2013
    80
    In the face of so much delightfully clever level design, it's easy enough to brush aside any niggles about the game. Icycle's colorful, clever and a great example of just how far a little imagination can go in the world of indie mobile development.
  16. Nov 27, 2013
    80
    A relatively plain platformer boosted by a vivid and surreal art-style, Icycle: On Thin Ice is just about crazy and unique enough to warrant a look. Bite-size, fun-packed levels make for a game that doesn’t overstay its welcome, and stands out from crowd both artistically and mechanically.
  17. Nov 27, 2013
    60
    Jump and float in this absurd, beautiful, but ultimately dissatisfying platformer.
User Score
tbd

No user score yet- Awaiting 2 more ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. May 7, 2014
    9
    I was browsing the App store and noticed this game, I played the original and loved it so decided "why not try the sequel?" and I'm happy to say it far exceeded my expectations. The controls work surprisingly well for an iOS game, it's incredibly fun, and definitely worth 99c. If you haven't yet, I definitely recommend buying this amazing title! Full Review »