Infinity Blade II iOS

Infinity Blade II Image
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 107 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Infinity Blade II is the second game in this fantasy action adventure role-playing game series for the iPhone 4S and iPad.
Stream On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Nov 30, 2011
    100
    Infinity Blade 2 is a must own - it is the App Store's killer app.
  2. Dec 1, 2011
    100
    In just about every way, Infinity Blade 2 builds on the rock-solid foundation of the original game, and delivers an experience that's as tense, deep, gorgeous, and enjoyable as anything you'll find on the platform.
  3. Dec 12, 2011
    100
    If you're looking for a game to show off the power of your new purchase, but also get value for money then you can't go far wrong with Infinity Blade 2. Even at its launch price of £4.99 it represents great value for money, especially with developers Chair due to release updates in a similar way to IB1, adding new locations, weapons and enemies to fight all set to be free DLC at the time of writing.
  4. Dec 1, 2011
    90
    Deep, accessible, and visually stunning, Infinity Blade II sets the standard for iOS gaming.
  5. Dec 5, 2011
    83
    You'll have a bit more choice in the direction that story takes, thanks to some branching paths in the castle. It's a nice change of pace from the first Infinity Blade, though if you stuck with the original long enough to receive the massive content update Chair delivered for that game, you'll have seen the beginnings of those branching paths already.
  6. Dec 14, 2011
    80
    When it works, however, Infinity Blade II represents iOS gaming at its finest. For all Chair's improvements, the first game's nagging sense of hollow repetition will still set in eventually; it just takes longer to arrive this time. But until that point arrives, Infinity Blade II remains a defining, and essential, iOS experience.
  7. Dec 2, 2011
    70
    Despite an incredibile graphic engine Infinite Blade 2 lacks in terms of gameplay and fails to add something really new to the (always winning) formula.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 34
  2. Negative: 5 out of 34
  1. Dec 1, 2011
    10
    Great game, far better that the original in my opinion. So far it has been running far better on my iphone 4 than the original did, and thatsGreat game, far better that the original in my opinion. So far it has been running far better on my iphone 4 than the original did, and thats impressive considering how much bigger and better looking this is. I had a really annoying bug where it forgot all my save data and I had to start again. I know problems like this are going to be ironed out, so while its annoying it doesn't change how good the game is. I would highly recommend this to anyone with an iPhone, its got great controls lots of depth and an addictive levelling system, just watch out for the bugs... for now. Expand
  2. Dec 18, 2014
    10
    (this is a review from my other account) Infinity Blade II, In my opinion, is the greatest IOS game on the market right now. Everything from(this is a review from my other account) Infinity Blade II, In my opinion, is the greatest IOS game on the market right now. Everything from the first game was improved in this game which are the longer story, the greatly improved graphics, the enemy variety, more bosses, and the slightly expanded fighting mechanic. Infinity Blade II is even better than its predecessor and is my favorite mobile game of all time. 10/10 (Masterpiece) Expand
  3. Jan 22, 2012
    10
    This game came as a bit of surprise for me. The first one was a tech demo which was polished in patches but this one is a thrill. Having a lotThis game came as a bit of surprise for me. The first one was a tech demo which was polished in patches but this one is a thrill. Having a lot more fighting styles to choose from, more diversification in the meta-game level + intriguing story. It doesn't get much better than this on the iOS!
    P.S.
    In the III part they should work more on the mechanic itself rather then diversifying it they should make it more "active" next time. I mean the core gameplay is still magic+block/evade/parry + attack. Maybe adding a choise on which part of body to attack?
    Expand
  4. Dec 3, 2011
    10
    Infinity Blade II is brilliant. The game picks up where the first left off and it plays much like the first, but with many additions. In fact,Infinity Blade II is brilliant. The game picks up where the first left off and it plays much like the first, but with many additions. In fact, this game is a far deeper experience. With the ability to enchant weapons via magical gems and multiple combat styles ranging from duel wielding swords to massive battle axes, there are combat classes to please any gamer's playing style, with the exception of ranged weapons, but that's not what Infinity Blade II is all about. It is about quick reflexes, combos, and stuns through the use of power attacks and magic rings. None of this would work, however, with shoddy controls, and perhaps this is where Chair has succeeded the most. The game has absolutely beautiful graphics (better than most console titles in all actuality), but it is truly those touch controls that we first experienced in Infinity Blade that make this game shine. In short, the controls are perfect. If ever you are taken down by an enemy, with the exceptions of those level 75 baddies that you will come across occasionally, it is purely because you made a mistake. Timing is crucial and, with practice, you will be unstoppable. As you grind your way through this vivid, beautiful world, you will come across a large variety of enemies, all with varying fighting styles and move sets that are much larger than the previous games'. You gain experience in the same fashion as Infinity Blade and earn gold along the way to buy new weapons, armor, and rings for your character. You will also come across gems, which I spoke of briefly earlier, and you can use these to enchant weapons and armor, giving them special abilities and perks. This addition not only makes the game feel much deeper, but it adds variety and makes your character feel truly unique as you are no longer restricted to a preset choice of weapons, one being better than the rest. The art design of Infinity Blade II is amazing, as is expected. The world is very detailed and filled with beautiful lighting effects from the sun. It truly is amazing that this is a cellphone game and this game sets the bar for those to come.

    Infinity Blade II is not only a brilliant game; it is art, and it is worth every penny of the low asking price. Surely, you cannot compare this game to a massive title such as Skyrim or Dark Souls, but the fact that this is something you play on your phone changes things, and thus I give this game a 10 out of 10 because it truly is an amazing game. It would be a travesty to ignore this title because it is history in the making and it is one of those rare titles, much like Skyrim and Dark Souls, that will pave the way for those to come.
    Expand
  5. May 26, 2012
    9
    When I held the original Infinity Blade in my hand last year, I was in awe at the amazing graphics. Then I played the game and I loved howWhen I held the original Infinity Blade in my hand last year, I was in awe at the amazing graphics. Then I played the game and I loved how such graphics can be used to be an iPod/iPhone exclusive game taking full usability of the touch screen. The gameplay was amazing but after beating the story a couple times, it gets boring. Now, Infinity Blade II takes the original game to a whole new level. The story is much longer and the graphics have improved quite a bit also, and this is especially noticeable on the iPhone 4S and the iPad 2. Infinity Blade II has new bosses and many more weapons. ChAIR has also added three classes of weapons you can choose from, light, heavy, and dual. I personally prefer the dual weapons but let me just talk about all the weapon classes overall. The heavy weapons take a little longer time to hit the enemy because they arenâ Expand
  6. Dec 26, 2011
    9
    This game is completely great. For a 7$ price, it really makes your money worth. Of course it is very much alike in gameplay from the firstThis game is completely great. For a 7$ price, it really makes your money worth. Of course it is very much alike in gameplay from the first one, but this one has a deeper story and brand new combat mechanics, such as dual weapons and two-handed weapons. It is a must buy. Expand
  7. Dec 5, 2011
    0
    The game is an expansion on the first one, but definitely not a second installment. It's really easy, not skill-based, and doesn't last veryThe game is an expansion on the first one, but definitely not a second installment. It's really easy, not skill-based, and doesn't last very long. The Gameplay hasn't really been refined to the point where it doesn't get repetitive after five minutes, so I see no reason to play it. If Epic make a great looking game on a REAL handheld and charge full price, I'd much rather pay that than 5 dollars on the app store. Expand

See all 34 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best iPhone and iPad Games of 2011

    The Best iPhone and iPad Games of 2011 Image
    Published: December 20, 2011
    Looking for something to do with your iOS device over the holidays? We recap the best-reviewed iPhone and iPad games of the year.