Kingdom Rush Image
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 75 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The acclaimed action fantasy defense game is now available for iPad in High Definition! Get ready for an epic journey to defend your kingdom against hordes of orcs, trolls, evil wizards and other nasty fiends using a vast arsenal of towers and spells at your command!Fight on forests,The acclaimed action fantasy defense game is now available for iPad in High Definition! Get ready for an epic journey to defend your kingdom against hordes of orcs, trolls, evil wizards and other nasty fiends using a vast arsenal of towers and spells at your command!Fight on forests, mountains and wastelands, customizing your defensive strategy with different tower upgrades and specializations! Rain fire upon your enemies, summon reinforcements, command your troops, recruit elven warriors and face legendary monsters on a quest to save the Kingdom from the forces of darkness!Kingdom Rush highlights:• Epic defense battles that will hook you for hours!• Command your soldiers and see them engage in hand to hand cartoon battles!• 8 specialized tower upgrades to customize your strategy! Mighty Barbarians, Arcane Wizards, Forest Rangers to name a few.• Over 18 tower abilities! Have your Sorcerers summon earth elementals and polymorph your enemies!• Over 30 different enemies, from Goblins to Demons each with their own skills! (Beware of the mountain Trolls!)• Intense boss fights never seen on a defense game!• Hours of gameplay with over 50 achievements • Extra game modes that will challenge your tactical skills to the limit.• High definition awesome illustrated cartoon art!• In-game encyclopedia with information from your towers and enemies.Stay tuned for early 2012 Update :- Gamecenter Enabled!- New Stage: The Ruins of Acaroth!!- Face Gul'Thak the Orc Chieftain!- and more!*** iPad 1 users : Kingdom Rush is a memory intensive game so it is recommended you close background applications before playing. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Jan 9, 2012
    100
    Kingdom Rush is a beaut of a tower defense game, with new ideas that make it feel extremely polished and refined.
  2. Jul 23, 2012
    94
    Overall, Kingdom Rush is a very enjoyable game. The gaming challenge and hours of play you will get from it make it one of the best gaming bargains you'll find.
  3. Dec 30, 2011
    90
    A fantastic package. It's a game that made me take notice, that made a well-trod genre seem a bit fresher and more interesting than it's been in a while.
  4. Dec 28, 2011
    90
    Brilliantly combining as stiff a task as you're likely to encounter with a perfectly pitched sense of fun, Kingdom Rush breathes new life into the tower defence genre, and has a whole lot of laughs doing it.
  5. Jan 6, 2012
    90
    Kingdom Rush deserves a lot of goodwill, simply because it's able to make tower defense gameplay feel fresh and fun. In addition to the deep, challenging gameplay, the game's production values are simply outstanding. This is easily one of the best tower defense games currently in the App Store.
  6. Jul 16, 2012
    90
    Despite the genre already boasting some of the best iPhone games around, Kingdom Rush still manages to shine as one of the best Tower Defence games, even in this more compact form.
  7. Jan 24, 2012
    69
    If you've never tried tower defense and you want a great introduction to the genre, Kingdom Rush is perfect. If you're devoted to the genre and want to play the prominent examples of it, this is absolutely up your street. But if you've played one or two prototypical tower defense games and are looking for something new, Kingdom Rush doesn't have much to offer.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 28
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 28
  3. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Jan 10, 2012
    10
    Kingdom Rush is an outstanding Tower Defence game. It's extremely easy to get into, even for players who are new to the genre. But beneath allKingdom Rush is an outstanding Tower Defence game. It's extremely easy to get into, even for players who are new to the genre. But beneath all the charm, there is some surprisingly deep and challenging gameplay. The controls also work great on the iPad! All in all, solid presentation, solid product. Expand
  2. Jan 10, 2012
    10
    Kingdom Rush stands head and shoulders above a crowded genre, it's fun, while always remaining challenging without being frustrating. IfKingdom Rush stands head and shoulders above a crowded genre, it's fun, while always remaining challenging without being frustrating. If you're a veteran Tower Defence game player, you need to check it out to see what you're missing. If you've never played a TD before, there's no reason not to start with the cream of the crop! Expand
  3. Dec 24, 2012
    10
    The dudes at ztgd.com are a sad bunch of people. How can a great game like this get 6,9? Here is their lame review with my comments.

    "Basically, it
  4. Jan 11, 2012
    10
    I played this game in flash before I bought it on my ipad. Overall it's AWESOME I love the small details and its definitely one of my topI played this game in flash before I bought it on my ipad. Overall it's AWESOME I love the small details and its definitely one of my top tower defense games. Expand
  5. Jul 11, 2013
    10
    The game is very fun and has cute graphics.
    And the enemy variety is surprisingly high for an IOS
    Game. Runs good an an iphone,ipod touch
    The game is very fun and has cute graphics.
    And the enemy variety is surprisingly high for an IOS
    Game.
    Runs good an an iphone,ipod touch and ipad.
    I really recommend you play this game, its very fun
    Expand
  6. Jul 18, 2015
    10
    This is an honest review from an adult. I will tell you my top 3 favorite games so you will know my taste in games.
    Fire emblem series.
    This is an honest review from an adult. I will tell you my top 3 favorite games so you will know my taste in games.
    Fire emblem series.
    Atelier arland series.
    Danganronpa series.

    I played this game on my samsung tablet, which overheated my battery when played for longer than half an hour. This is not the games fault but the tablets. IPad is most definently the way to go for gaming on tablets.

    There are no bad points to list about this game. A perfect tower defense for a great price. I believe it is free now and frontiers and origins are about 3 dollars for each I believe.

    The good about this game,
    Plenty of upgrades, You wouldn't max out everything until after you beat the campaign, which then unlocks the bonus levels.
    In depth strategy that makes you think outside the box every so often. No, you can't use the same setup for every level.
    Plenty of different enemys with different weaknesses and speeds.
    You unlock 3 heroes during the campaign, each with their unique stats.
    Plenty of little quirks hidden in the game, such as breaking the acorn free from a glacier by tapping the screen, for the squirrel in ice age. A beetle juice reference, though I never watched the movie, I recognized the guy with the black and white suit. There are others but I wouldn't want to ruin the fun of finding them yourselves

    Paying real money to play this game isn't necessary at all. You can buy additional heroes but the 3 you get for free are just fine imo. You also obtain gems after each level you play and with these, you can purchase bombs to blow up enemys on a difficult level or spend them on a money bag which will help you build the towers more quickly. Each of these only have one use of course, but you get plenty of gems for free to keep a decent supply of these.

    Also, each tower has its own special abilities that you can unlock after upgrading it enough times. From instantly killing one enemy every 20 seconds, to poisoning enemys, to shooting missiles that never miss. It's all here.

    You also have a special move that rains down meteors upon the enemy that you can upgrade during the game. The upgrades increase damage and increase recharge speed. You also get soldiers to disperse on the battle field about every 10 seconds. You can also upgrade these for more damage output and better armor.

    That about finishes this review, I hope it helps. Also, you will get about 15 to 20 hours of gameplay from this game. Not bad considering it's free. Be sure to check out the other kingdom rush games as well, origins and frontiers. Also great games imo.
    Expand
  7. Feb 12, 2012
    8
    i don't have it on an apple thing, i played it on the PC, and boy, i liked it, a lot, it's a really good tower defense game with lots ofi don't have it on an apple thing, i played it on the PC, and boy, i liked it, a lot, it's a really good tower defense game with lots of things to do and a cool art style. Expand

See all 28 User Reviews