KOTOMON iOS

Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 9
  2. Negative: 3 out of 9
Stream On
  1. May 23, 2012
    30
    A bitter reminder that pedigree is no guarantee of quality.
  2. May 21, 2012
    30
    Unfortunately, the team at the fledgling Monstars Inc. has a lot to learn about this platform if they want Kotomon to join the ranks of their other titles. As it stands now, I find myself stressed at the end of one level, dreading the beginning of the next, and ultimately, pressing the home button pretty quickly.
  3. May 15, 2012
    70
    Maybe it's just a case of irrational expectations, but I was a bit disappointed in the overall package of Kotomon. It feels less like a music/rhythm adventure and more of a simplified platformer with frustrating controls and little in terms of variety.
  4. Hyper Magazine
    Jul 19, 2012
    50
    Sounds nice, though. [Aug 2012, p.31]
  5. Jun 5, 2012
    60
    A unique idea with worthwhile presentation but it might not be enough to hold the interest of players.
  6. May 28, 2012
    45
    With frustrating touch-based controls and lack of variety, Kotomon is a terrible ink stain on the developer's amazing pedigree.
  7. May 25, 2012
    50
    Kotomon may catch monsters, but didn't quite catch me. It's not all bad news though; if six guys ever jump out at me on my way home with a mate, I'll know what to do.
  8. May 25, 2012
    80
    Kotomon is definitely unique. Anyone who sees the screenshots and enjoys the art style should pick it up. Almost all will enjoy the gameplay because of how it mashes a few different gameplay styles into one game. For $2.99 as a universal app, this one's worth picking up.
  9. May 25, 2012
    50
    An utterly unique if disappointingly shallow exploration-based shooter.

There are no user reviews yet.