Legend of Grimrock iOS

Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. 80
    I'm not sure just how much of my love of Legend of Grimrock is because of a sense of nostalgia, or a consequence of great level design. The game offers intricate maps and some classic crawler action, and it's as good a second time through as it was the first. Having this game on my iPad for play on the go is this retro 'crawler fan's dream.
  2. Pelit (Finland)
    Jun 14, 2015
    92
    Great PC RPG goes to iPad, and is just as good, which of course means it is the best iPad-game, ever. [June 2015]
  3. May 7, 2015
    90
    A great port of a great game. If you've not played Grimrock before this is a really good way to rectify that.
  4. May 9, 2015
    100
    It’s a nearly perfect port of a classic PC game, something we haven’t really seen since Firaxis brought us XCOM.
  5. May 15, 2015
    100
    Legend of Grimrock was a breakout hit on desktop and it should come as no surprise that it is just as good, if not better, on a mobile device.
User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 30 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Jun 14, 2015
    6
    Solid part of a game I didn't personally like. I thought I would, but it is boring and tedious. However, it seems it is a well-liked game, butSolid part of a game I didn't personally like. I thought I would, but it is boring and tedious. However, it seems it is a well-liked game, but it just isn't for me. Full Review »
  2. Nov 1, 2015
    5
    Right from the onset, it was let on that this was not a kind of modern RPG. It's an old-fashioned one. That's fine. But it wasn't my cup ofRight from the onset, it was let on that this was not a kind of modern RPG. It's an old-fashioned one. That's fine. But it wasn't my cup of tea. Fair warning- I only got about halfway through the game before I decided I was done with it.

    Most of the game seems to revolve around pushing switches and figuring out what they do in order to get past locked doors. There's combat intermittently spaced throughout, and it's fun- it feels at first like some kind of Final Fantasy initiative-based system, but this is not that kind of RPG. Eventually it turns into a dance where you hit the enemy with everything you got and then dance around them until your cooldowns are finished, and you do it again. It was fine and could be fun, but I didn't see any depth to it.

    I initially picked up and held on to every item that I could see in the game, wondering if there would be some kind of reward for it. This is not that kind of RPG- you don't want to pick up spare spears and shields from enemies if you're not going to use them.

    I felt cool and special when I managed to find secrets, but these rarely contained loot upgrades for my team. This is not that kind of RPG- I found myself only rarely replacing my armor and weapons with upgrades. Maybe loot would have become a more important aspect later in the game.

    I quit playing because I was tired of hitting dead ends and trying to run around and see what hidden switches I had missed or what items I had failed to pick up and use correctly. The lack of loot reward, plot, or rewarding combat failed to compel me to want to go down to the next level, and I've decided not to pursue it further.
    Full Review »
  3. Oct 24, 2015
    10
    Amazing game if you're into fantasy/role playing. The UI and game play is PERFECT for iPad or large phone. It's challenging enough to be funAmazing game if you're into fantasy/role playing. The UI and game play is PERFECT for iPad or large phone. It's challenging enough to be fun for experienced gamers. Full Review »