LIMBO Game Image
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 98 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The 2010 platformer, which earned a 90 Metascore on the Xbox 360, has come to the iOS.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Jul 4, 2013
    100
    Puzzle design is outstanding, with many later instances requiring extremely tight timing to escape certain doom. A dozen GameCenter achievements are available for a bit of replay value, and there is even an achievement for completing the game in one sitting with 5 or fewer deaths, which can be a pretty daunting challenge. This was our first experience with LIMBO and we were pretty blown away.
  2. Jul 3, 2013
    100
    Limbo for iOS is a fantastic port of a classic indie platformer.
  3. Jul 11, 2013
    95
    Limbo has made the leap to iOS admirably, losing nothing in the translation and only minor quibbles with the jumping mechanics really stand out enough to drop the score slightly. Indeed, Limbo is surprisingly well suited to the sporadic habits of the handheld gamer, with well thought out checkpoint placement allowing you to tackle a few quick puzzles at your leisure whenever you have a spare minute or three and the spine tingling aesthetic of the game benefits greatly from the intimate nature of handheld gaming.
  4. Jul 3, 2013
    90
    Is this touchscreen Limbo a perfect port of the original masterpiece? Not quite, and there are certainly moments where you'll cry out for the precision that only a physical controller can provide. Still, these moments are rare enough to ensure that this mobile version remains nothing less than outstanding overall.
  5. Jul 5, 2013
    90
    Limbo is a benefit to the entire App Store that is a spectacular experience to take part in making it a must buy.
  6. Jul 15, 2013
    85
    Limbo is still a wonderful game even on iOS, but the touch controls makes it the less recommendable version of them all.
  7. Jul 11, 2013
    60
    Limbo's soft-focus monochrome promises mystery and dread, but it's undercut by the very puzzles it deliberately obfuscates.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Jul 4, 2013
    10
    Great art style, fun puzzles, challenging, rewarding, entertaining, mysterious. The perfect adventure indie game, only problem that i have is that it's too short but i feel it would have gotten repetitive anyways. This game is a must buy if you own an Xbox or Ps3 and enjoy great games. Expand
  2. Jul 8, 2013
    10
    This is a fascinating game. Of course my grandson figured out more than I could. The only problem is that it takes so much concentration that it gave me a headache. Expand
  3. Sep 4, 2013
    9
    Limbo is the kind of game that's just perfect for mobile devices. It's perfectly playable in small chunks, but has this "just one more level" edge to it as well. I've never played it on other devices, but I can't imagine better, highly intuitive, controls than the touch controls that are used here. If you're considering getting this game but are a little uncertain because of some reviews saying the controls are imprecise, don't be. As for the often mentioned high difficulty and frustration level, I seriously don't know what they're talking about. The game is certainly challenging, but with a little perseverance and some wit it's very beatable indeed. Death is frequent, and there's a lot of trial and error, but that's just how this game tests your intellect. Failure is never cheap, and never the result of impossibly sharp timing. I'm not an avid platform gamer, I actually shy away from anything that involves too much fast finger action, but even I could handle these challenges. Maybe it's because I grew up in an age of games where limited restarts where a rule (yes, I'm that old...), but the fact that Limbo picks up the game again just a couple of seconds before your demise, and lets you do so infinitely, feels very forgiving to me.
    Add to that a highly engrossing atmosphere, very inventive and varied puzzles, a great physics engine, just the right kind of morbid humor, and just the perfect game length and you've got one hell (or should I say purgatory?) of a game.
    Expand
  4. Dec 2, 2013
    9
    This game has awed me like few platformers ever have. Limbo is a story about a little boy that wakes up in a dark forest. You wake up and start exploring.

    There may not be motivation as you move along, but then you'll see the first set of gruesome traps that await you and all you can think of doing, is getting out as fast as possible.

    The developers took this mindset into account and cleverly placed traps to kill those who move too quickly out of fear, but then they also placed traps that take advantage of those who move too cautiously. This strikes a real balance that keeps you on your toes, ever watching, ever waiting, ever running. The music and visuals add to the suspense and the tension throughout the game. The deaths are brutal, and they will happen a lot. The game sets you back instantly before the trap that you die on, allowing you to instantly tackle the problem at hand. Sometimes they will even throw curveballs like brain slugs, forcing movement until you hit the light.

    The games puzzles have a great variety, and they leave me wanting more. Sometimes, the constant deaths can grow wearisome, but a fantastic game overall. I earnestly want more.
    Expand
  5. Jul 3, 2013
    8
    The game is designed around trial-and-error gameplay, with failed attempts resulting in gruesome deaths (in fact, the developers call it “trial and death” game play). AppsGoer’s review is right on time and superb on ideas. Expand
  6. Jul 5, 2013
    8
    The idea, visual look, feeling, mood, atmosphere are perfect! This game is pure genius! The reason it doesn't deserve more than 8 is because the game-play is too frustrating. I couldn't play it trough, and not because it's too hard.. rather because you die a lot of times during a play-trough and every time you need to wait for 10 seconds or more and it gets way too frustrated after you had died a hundred times.. it means you had lost hours from your lifetime, not playing just watching your character die and a black screen :(
    If every time I die I could just skip that unnecessary procedure by hitting an Escape or Space or Enter.. I would give it a 9-10
    Collapse
  7. Dec 29, 2013
    8
    Limbo is a fun, scary and exciting plat-forming adventure game that awakens your descent as you hurry to solve the forever coming death traps. How many times will you die? Great graphic style, challenging puzzles and down right terrifying events, will have you on the edge of your sit the whole ride. This Indie game is defiantly worth your time and money! Expand

Related Articles

  1. The Best iPhone and iPad Games of 2013

    The Best iPhone and iPad Games of 2013 Image
    Published: December 22, 2013
    Here are the highest-scoring games released for iOS this year.
  2. 10 Best iPhone/iPad Games for July 2013

    10 Best iPhone/iPad Games for July 2013 Image
    Published: July 31, 2013
    Looking for a few new time-wasters, or something more involved? Our list of the best new iOS games has something for every type of gamer.