Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Feb 11, 2013
    100
    Dark, weird, and very different, Little Inferno is great for those looking for something different.
  2. Feb 6, 2013
    100
    You may get the sense that Little Inferno walks a fine line between satirizing our gaming habits and revelling in them. If you take it lightly, it works. Give it serious thought and you might find a bit of hypocrisy buried between the lines, but that doesn't change the fact that this is a game that sticks with you.
  3. Feb 1, 2013
    100
    If anything, Little Inferno is far more poignant on the App Store than it is anywhere else; with so many games attempting to exploit the 'freemium' concept, Little Inferno embraces and turns it in to something rewarding, but also (and most importantly) something that ends.
  4. Feb 7, 2013
    90
    Little Inferno is such a finely crafted, yet strange experiment that is simply an experience not to miss that will provide a warm and fuzzy feeling.
  5. Feb 1, 2013
    90
    Little Inferno won't take long to reach its inevitable conclusion provided players burn all the things at a steady pace. However it's the puzzle-like combos and the funny, sometimes freaky, reactions objects have to fire that should keep them coming back even after unlocking the final catalog.
  6. Feb 5, 2013
    85
    Little Inferno was already a great game when it was released on PC and Wii U last November and it still is now that it has landed on App Store.
  7. Feb 10, 2013
    70
    While the allure of setting fires cools off before long, the engaging style, story, and puzzle elements make for an enticing experience.
  8. Jan 31, 2013
    70
    Little Inferno is a smart and subversive work of art that pokes fun at freemium games. But its dedication to the joke often hurts the fun little physics toy at the core.
  9. Jan 31, 2013
    70
    As a toy, rather than a game, there's no denying that Little Inferno's sandbox is a satisfying one that will entertain for a time. But in hammering home its message just a little too forcefully, it also lacks a certain amount of graceful bite, and as a result it doesn't quite touch the greatness it might otherwise have achieved.
  10. Feb 28, 2013
    50
    Little Inferno shines softly with originality and cuteness but never moves beyond this. As a more luxurious variation of Doodle God ($ 0,99), the game falls short and is not worth the hefty price tag. With all the tapping at coins and waiting, I can’t help but wonder: could Little Inferno have turned out better as a freemium game?
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 13 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Aug 10, 2014
    9
    Sure. The gameplay isn't traditionally fun. BUT. This game is hardly a video game. It's art. The gameplay exists merely to compliment and bring the player into this tragically beautiful story. Play to the end. At least 60% of the budget was clearly sunk into the end. Don't look it up, don't watch a walkthrough. Play it. I still think about this game to this day, I still contemplate just what it all meant. Full Review »
  2. Gid
    Oct 9, 2013
    10
    I've grown pretty fond of this game. It's a cute little game indeed. It has a way of resonating with the player, because, let's be honest here, no one can get bored of watching the fire burn.

    People will say that this isn't a proper game, because the game-play is basically just burning things. You have a catalogue, you buy things, you burn them, you get even more coins, and spend it on more stuff, and then burn that too. It's an endless cycle of buying and burning that one would think would get old pretty quickly. But it really doesn't.

    In fact, I think the game-play is where this shines. It's so simple and so repetitive but yet it never ages on the player. It makes to be quite the enjoyable play-thing.

    I can appreciate the format they went for too. It's more of a story that happens in the background, while you're playing, though you'd have to play the game to understand what I'm getting at.

    The story is great here also. Though a bit on the predictable side, it manages to project a heart-warming mood towards the player, especially towards the end. I won't give away any more than that though.

    I'll stop before this gets too long, but in short, this is an incredibly heart-warming play-thing that will affect you deeply. The design is from the people who brought you World Of Goo, which was also a stellar game in my opinion. It usage of the touch controls are used incredibly well with the physics engine, which is probably why the scores are lower on PC. You would have to play this on iOS or Wii U to fully immerse yourself into this game. It just works better. I feel that this should be an example that different is better most of the time.

    In shorter, buy this game.

    "But there's something even more dangerous than fire!"-Sugar Plumps
    Full Review »
  3. Jul 4, 2013
    8
    This is my favorite game on ios platforms and probably the most satisfying purchase I felt I have made from the app store. This game has a charm and polish combined with unique, original, simple, and fun gameplay that fits perfectly for the ios platform. I really hope they make a sequel to this game! The word puzzles were really fun to figure out, although some of them were pretty hard and pissed me off, it was really satisfying once it clicked in my head and I finally figured out the connection! I would recommend this to anyone looking for a unique, charming puzzle/riddle game. It also has a lot of fun satiristic gaming nods that any hardcore gamer will recognize and enjoy along with hilarious social commentary in general. The atmosphere is perfect in the game and there is a subtle emotional weight in the game that slowly grows stronger as you progress in the game. It's refreshing to have a game that you feel connected to the game world. The game is an interactive piece of art! Full Review »