Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 12 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Congratulations on your new Little Inferno Entertainment Fireplace! Throw your toys into your fire, and play with them as they burn. Stay warm in there. It's getting cold outside!

    Burn flaming logs, screaming robots, credit cards, batteries, exploding fish, unstable nuclear devices, and
    tiny galaxies. An adventure that takes place almost entirely in front of a fireplace - about looking up up up out of the chimney, and the cold world just on the other side of the wall. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Feb 1, 2013
    100
    If anything, Little Inferno is far more poignant on the App Store than it is anywhere else; with so many games attempting to exploit the 'freemium' concept, Little Inferno embraces and turns it in to something rewarding, but also (and most importantly) something that ends.
  2. Feb 6, 2013
    100
    You may get the sense that Little Inferno walks a fine line between satirizing our gaming habits and revelling in them. If you take it lightly, it works. Give it serious thought and you might find a bit of hypocrisy buried between the lines, but that doesn't change the fact that this is a game that sticks with you.
  3. Feb 11, 2013
    100
    Dark, weird, and very different, Little Inferno is great for those looking for something different.
  4. Feb 5, 2013
    85
    Little Inferno was already a great game when it was released on PC and Wii U last November and it still is now that it has landed on App Store.
  5. Feb 10, 2013
    70
    While the allure of setting fires cools off before long, the engaging style, story, and puzzle elements make for an enticing experience.
  6. Jan 31, 2013
    70
    Little Inferno is a smart and subversive work of art that pokes fun at freemium games. But its dedication to the joke often hurts the fun little physics toy at the core.
  7. Feb 28, 2013
    50
    Little Inferno shines softly with originality and cuteness but never moves beyond this. As a more luxurious variation of Doodle God ($ 0,99), the game falls short and is not worth the hefty price tag. With all the tapping at coins and waiting, I can’t help but wonder: could Little Inferno have turned out better as a freemium game?

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 1 out of 5
  1. Gid
    Oct 9, 2013
    10
    I've grown pretty fond of this game. It's a cute little game indeed. It has a way of resonating with the player, because, let's be honest here, no one can get bored of watching the fire burn.

    People will say that this isn't a proper game, because the game-play is basically just burning things. You have a catalogue, you buy things, you burn them, you get even more coins, and spend it on more stuff, and then burn that too. It's an endless cycle of buying and burning that one would think would get old pretty quickly. But it really doesn't.

    In fact, I think the game-play is where this shines. It's so simple and so repetitive but yet it never ages on the player. It makes to be quite the enjoyable play-thing.

    I can appreciate the format they went for too. It's more of a story that happens in the background, while you're playing, though you'd have to play the game to understand what I'm getting at.

    The story is great here also. Though a bit on the predictable side, it manages to project a heart-warming mood towards the player, especially towards the end. I won't give away any more than that though.

    I'll stop before this gets too long, but in short, this is an incredibly heart-warming play-thing that will affect you deeply. The design is from the people who brought you World Of Goo, which was also a stellar game in my opinion. It usage of the touch controls are used incredibly well with the physics engine, which is probably why the scores are lower on PC. You would have to play this on iOS or Wii U to fully immerse yourself into this game. It just works better. I feel that this should be an example that different is better most of the time.

    In shorter, buy this game.

    "But there's something even more dangerous than fire!"-Sugar Plumps
    Expand
  2. Feb 14, 2013
    10
    A really impressive allegorical game about games (obviously freemium/social click whittlers). The meaning it creates through your interaction, and ongoing narrative is amusing, poetic and quite personal. The most polished and perfect experience you will play on your ipad. Expand
  3. Feb 28, 2013
    10
    This curious, special little game hit a note of emotional resonance with me that I can't really explain. Maybe this created a strong opinion bias in me, but I simply loved it. It's deep, ironic and sarcastic without being cynical or jaded, runs smoothly on my iPad 3 and accomplishes so much with so little in terms of mechanics and gameplay. It made me cry, and made me acutely aware of my own sadness and loneliness, but not in a bad way, much to the contrary. A beautiful, melancholic and superbly crafted experience. Expand
  4. Jul 4, 2013
    8
    This is my favorite game on ios platforms and probably the most satisfying purchase I felt I have made from the app store. This game has a charm and polish combined with unique, original, simple, and fun gameplay that fits perfectly for the ios platform. I really hope they make a sequel to this game! The word puzzles were really fun to figure out, although some of them were pretty hard and pissed me off, it was really satisfying once it clicked in my head and I finally figured out the connection! I would recommend this to anyone looking for a unique, charming puzzle/riddle game. It also has a lot of fun satiristic gaming nods that any hardcore gamer will recognize and enjoy along with hilarious social commentary in general. The atmosphere is perfect in the game and there is a subtle emotional weight in the game that slowly grows stronger as you progress in the game. It's refreshing to have a game that you feel connected to the game world. The game is an interactive piece of art! Expand
  5. May 8, 2013
    4
    This is not a game. It's a toy that's fun at first (Set anything you want on fire) but the actually gameplay consists of solving really easy but stupid word puzzles such as Japan Combo (burn sushi and ninja) at the same time. It feels like they just came up with the actual gameplay that causes story progression at the last minute. The story feels like it's tacked on so we can ignore the abysmal gameplay. Wanna burn random things in a fireplace with a terrible metagame and a pretentious story tacked on? Spend $4.99 on this. Collapse