Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 19 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Please note that the game is working only on iPad 2!Machinarium is award-winning independent adventure game developed by the makers of popular web-games Samorost and Samorost2.Headphones recommended!9/10 - Pocket Gamer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Sep 12, 2011
    100
    An absolutely brilliant take on the classic point and click adventure plot, with enchanting visuals and sounds, and a plethora of unique challenges that are sure to bend your mind.
  2. Oct 2, 2011
    100
    Machinarium, as a whole, is remarkably tidy.
  3. Oct 29, 2011
    100
    Our sole complaint is its baffling demand for an iPad 2; we honestly can't see what it's doing that needs the extra power. It spends quite a bit of time loading and there are lots of animated things going on, but nothing especially excessive that we'd expect to require an iPad 2. What do we know, though? If you have the technology, we strongly recommend it.
  4. Sep 8, 2011
    90
    Machinarium is irresistible - a splendid little point-and-click adventure bolstered by a truly artful sense of character, storytelling, and world design.
  5. Sep 14, 2011
    85
    Machinarium is a must-play for point-and-click fans. It hearkens back to the early days of the genre with a brutal level of difficulty that will keep you puzzled for hours.
  6. Sep 28, 2011
    80
    Attractive hand drawn graphics feature twisted scrap heaps, cool looking contraptions and droids of all shapes and sizes. The soothing mood music, meanwhile, helps put you at ease.
  7. Sep 12, 2011
    70
    Quotation forthcoming.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Sep 26, 2011
    10
    Amanita Design, in a stroke of genius, have taken a game and made it into a work of art. Both the artwork and music are spectacular, trulyAmanita Design, in a stroke of genius, have taken a game and made it into a work of art. Both the artwork and music are spectacular, truly capturing the incredible atmosphere of the world you experience inside Machinarium. And of all things Machinarium is full to the brim with originality, a value which should be the very thing that games are judged upon. This game is a credit to Amanita's brilliance and a true masterpiece. Collapse
  2. Nov 6, 2011
    8
    A highly quirky, stylish and delightful game. The puzzles were often very clever and often made me think hard. Its cartoony flash animationA highly quirky, stylish and delightful game. The puzzles were often very clever and often made me think hard. Its cartoony flash animation style without spoken dialogue is part of its charm but makes it feel closer to a casual amateur game than a commercial adventure game. One criticism is that you will often have to go back and forth between several screens and those sweet little robots take an awful long time to do it. there's a good demo available, worth testing.

    half way between a commercial game and a casual amateur game.
    Expand

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best iPhone and iPad Games of 2011

    The Best iPhone and iPad Games of 2011 Image
    Published: December 20, 2011
    Looking for something to do with your iOS device over the holidays? We recap the best-reviewed iPhone and iPad games of the year.
  2. iPhone/iPad Games Guide: What to Buy This Month

    iPhone/iPad Games Guide: What to Buy This Month Image
    Published: September 29, 2011
    Our roundup of the best iOS games released in September includes critical favorite "Where's My Water," Adult Swim's "Monsters Ate My Condo," the new strategy word game "Quarrel Deluxe," and more.