User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 22 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 22
  2. Negative: 8 out of 22

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 24, 2012
    5
    Back in high school I plaid quite a lot of Magic, but stopped later due to lack of playing partners. When I saw that a Magic: The Gathering game is coming for iPad I knew I had to get it. Sadly the part I used to enjoy most, deck building, is the part the game doesn't allow you to do. You can make some modifications to pre-made decks, but that's it. For me that takes a huge part of the fun and the motivation away, since I always enjoyed making new decks with interesting strategies much more than actually playing the game. I am surprised that this doesn't seem to be an issue for any commercial reviewers.

    The interface of the game looks quite beautiful, but has some flaws. As pretty as some of the animations look it get's annoying to have to watch the 1-2 second tapping animation so often. That doesn't sound like much but sums up. Want to attack with you pack of 10 wolfs? Well you will have to wait for every tapping animation to finish before you can tap the next creature. This alone wouldn't be that bad, but it contributes to to make the game feel very slow. This behavior also makes the interface feel wonky at times, because slow starting animations like tapping, don't give immediate feedback and needs some getting used to.
    Most other board and card games are much faster in the computer versions. Not so with this game. You have to wait for a timer for every phase of the game to finish, even if there is no action that possibly could be taken. This makes especially the first few round feel unnecessary slow.

    Overall it's an OK game, but could have been so much more. Just a little interface polish and the option to build you own deck (which Magic is all about) and this could be one of my favorit games.
    Collapse
  2. Jul 2, 2012
    8
    Great game. Some aspects are missing like custom deck building, at this point you can only make changes to pre made decks. Some animations are kinda slow on my iPad 2 too. But overall a very nice game. Hope they fix those issues on next updates.
  3. Apr 12, 2014
    4
    Easily the worst balancing ever in any game. The AI cheats like mad to compensate for the fact that it would otherwise be completely inept, even on lowest difficulty. AI always draws the right card at the right time (e.g. playing 3 identical fire spells at the same time? Seriously?) No variety in deck building except for paying $4 dlcs. The mulligan system is fundamentally flawed, and when they implemented it into this iOS version, each hand that's drawn is so blatantly rigged that it's not even funny. Over half if not most of the time, the player will either have too few lands or too few spells. Not uncommon at all to draw 5 or 6 cards in a row without drawing a single land.

    The only redeeming factor is the fact that it's on iPad, which is portable. Only if you have absolutely nothing better to do, or if you're on the go, is it by all means an OK game. It really does the actual card game no justice.
    Expand
  4. Jun 24, 2012
    0
    Back in high school I plaid quite a lot of Magic, but stopped later due to lack of playing partners. When I saw that a Magic: The Gathering game is coming for iPad I knew I had to get it. Sadly the part I used to enjoy most, deck building, is the part the game doesn't allow you to do. You can make some modifications to pre-made decks, but that's it. For me that takes a huge part of the fun and the motivation away, since I always enjoyed making new decks with interesting strategies much more than actually playing the game. I am surprised that this doesn't seem to be an issue for any commercial reviewers.

    The interface of the game looks quite beautiful, but has some flaws. As pretty as some of the animations look it get's annoying to have to watch the 1-2 second tapping animation so often. That doesn't sound like much but sums up. Want to attack with you pack of 10 wolfs? Well you will have to wait for every tapping animation to finish before you can tap the next creature. This alone wouldn't be that bad, but it contributes to to make the game feel very slow. This behavior also makes the interface feel wonky at times, because slow starting animations like tapping, don't give immediate feedback and needs some getting used to.
    Most other board and card games are much faster in the computer versions. Not so with this game. You have to wait for a timer for every phase of the game to finish, even if there is no action that possibly could be taken. This makes especially the first few round feel unnecessary slow.

    Overall it's an OK game, but could have been so much more. Just a little interface polish and the option to build you own deck (which Magic is all about) and this could be one of my favorit games.
    Collapse
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Jan 15, 2013
    70
    Yes there are a couple of niggles but for the most part Magic: The Gathering - Duels of the Planeswalkers 2013 is still very much the same, albeit cut down, game I fell in love with back in the day.
  2. Sep 11, 2012
    80
    Magic The Gathering Planeswalker 2013 is a great start for the brand on iPad and probably the best version on the market.
  3. Jul 24, 2012
    90
    New cards are a big attraction, but this year it's the multiplayer that shines. [Sept 2012, p.101]