Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Nov 25, 2011
    100
    All the fun of running, jumping, and shooting everything in sight on your iPhone, with a minimum of fuss from the controls.
  2. Nov 17, 2011
    90
    Major Mayhem can be proud not only to be a soldier, but also to be included in the wonderful lineup of mobile entertainment that Adult Swim has provided for iOS device owners.
  3. Jul 30, 2012
    86
    Major Mayhem is a very fun, fast-paced touch shooter, packed with four different modes and plenty of weapons, items and skins to unlock.
  4. Nov 17, 2011
    85
    Major Mayhem's odd third person sidescrolling light gun premise just works. Within moments core and casual gamers alike will be having a blast dispatching ninjas, mummies, tanks, and plenty more.
  5. Dec 6, 2011
    80
    Part Operation Wolf, this Ninja kill-a-thon is loads more fun than it probably has any right to be.
  6. Dec 1, 2011
    80
    Major Mayhem is yet another addictive time gobbler to add to [adult swim]'s rapidly growing battalion of quirky, tongue-in-cheek titles. Almost anything under their aegis is a safe purchase and the Major is definitely no exception.
  7. Nov 29, 2011
    80
    It's a bit repetitive, and with only three environments, visually limited, but Major Mayhem delivers thrilling arcade style fun. Worth a buck? Absolutely.
  8. Nov 29, 2011
    80
    A brash, bright shooter, Major Mayhem is a brilliant way to waste an hour. It's just a shame there isn't more to get your teeth into.
  9. Nov 14, 2011
    80
    Major Mayhem takes elements from an Operation Wolf style shooting gallery, Canabalt platforming, Gears of War duck-and-cover and Max Payne bullet time, and mixes it into an action-packed budget platformer that's hard to put down.
  10. Nov 17, 2011
    60
    It's a brainless sort of fun, the kind you can easily waste many unsuspecting hours on. So, if you've been aiming for something new to keep you occupied during a particularly laborious stretch of the day or during your daily pilgramage to the Porcelain God, you should really give Major Mayhem a shot.
User Score
tbd

No user score yet- Awaiting 2 more ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Oct 14, 2012
    9
    I\'m writing this having just completed the 150 challenges offered by Major Mayhem. At my newly acquired rank of \'Major\' I feel I now possess knowledge needed to give the in-depth review this title deserves. Simple mechanics and the constant carrot on a stick level up system that we\'ve seen in so many games before, keep you coming back for more. It\'s whack-a-mole on steroids man! But nothing fascinates or excites me as much as Michael Jackson and the Michael Jackson experience. I must admit I was slightly hesitant at first when it came to picking up this game, as I was devastated when MJ died. But once I slipped on my official Michael Jackson collectors edition glove, and began breaking it down oh so low to \'Billy Jean\' I felt Michael was alive again, living through the rhythmic undulations of my pelvis! I especially like the bonus levels, racking up points touching as many prepubescent boys possible while the timer counts down is almost as thrilling as the real thing! Or so I\'ve heard. I\'ve often fallen back onto my sofa, in a sweaty mess after a good 2 hour session of the game just to let my gloved hand do the walking... wink wink. It\'s almost like Michael is in the room with me. This is a must buy for die hard fans. Full Review »