Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. Apr 25, 2012
    100
    It has an incredibly large cast of characters, totally usable controls, three-on-three battles, button lay-outs for both novices and veterans, and some of the most intense and awesome action of any fighting game ever. To cap it off, it only costs a few bucks.
  2. May 3, 2012
    81
    Capcom pulled out a fine port of one of the best 2D fighting games out there, being one of the best available on iPhone and iPad too.
  3. May 25, 2012
    75
    Marvel Vs Capcom 2 is an acceptable but lazy conversion of a good 12 years old fighting game. Some graphical tweaks or a couple of new game modes would have been much appreciated.
  4. Apr 30, 2012
    75
    Not a bad game, as it is exactly the same title we enjoyed twelve years ago, and it has quite an affordable price, but it lacks two things: a good adaptation of the graphics, which doesn't make use of the higher resolution of the iPhone screen, and bad controls which affect gameplay.
  5. Apr 26, 2012
    70
    If you love this title and wish you could play it away from home, this is a recommended purchase. On the flip side, if you detest fighters with virtual controls, nothing about this game will change your mind.
  6. May 14, 2012
    60
    In an age where we're seeing a great deal of innovation and quirkiness in iOS releases, it's disappointing to see an old classic so lazily ported across to Apple's mobile platform.
  7. Apr 30, 2012
    60
    An experience that few other games have duplicated, and I highly recommend playing it. Just do so on a system with an actual controller, as apparently for fighting games to work on iOS, they have to be actually designed for the system, or at least dramatically reworked. This is a straight port, and this is just difficult to play.
  8. Apr 29, 2012
    60
    The controls are passable, but nowhere near the likes of Street Fighter IV Volt, King of Fighters-i, or SoulCalibur on iOS.
  9. Apr 26, 2012
    60
    Marvel Vs. Capcom 2 feels rushed and otherwise falls short of Capcom's prior fighter releases on the App Store; a shame considering the wild popularity of this title.
  10. May 14, 2012
    50
    There are a lot of issues with Capcom's latest iOS fighter; framerate, controls and those ugly graphics, but the game is saved from total disappointment by just being what it is; a port of Marvel vs Capcom 2.
  11. Apr 30, 2012
    50
    It boggles my mind that Capcom can flawlessly port new titles like Street Fighter IV and Ghost Trick, but somehow struggle with classics like Mega Man X and Marvel vs. Capcom 2. It still contains all of the characters, modes, and combat of the original, but limiting that with occasionally slow and murky presentation gives the impression that Capcom is simply trying to make a quick buck as a cross promotion with the Marvel-heavy Avengers film.
  12. May 14, 2012
    40
    Marvel vs. Capcom 2 just feels like a lazy port, because that is exactly what it is. It seems as though Capcom was just trying to cash in on the hype behind the franchise, which is disappointing because they did such a good job adopting Street Fighter to iPhone.
User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 5 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 3
  2. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Jun 5, 2013
    7
    I am very disappointed because I wanted to come on here and rate this legendary game a 10/10... but I can only give it a 7/10 for its frustrating controls that takes long periods of time in Training mode to get used to, it was a ride to hell and back trying to unlock everyone and the frame rate is average. Why would Capcom waste such a great opportunity and just do a lazy job on this game!? I tried to look for a save file for this game but it was nowhere to be found with all the characters unlocked... so I ended up doing it myself and submitting it to the world so nobody would EVER have to go through the ride to hell and back unlocking characters with the wonky controls (I prefer classic controls!) I still however ended up loving the game because it has a lot of content plus all 56 characters back from my childhood. The graphics are acceptable and even with all of that.... it is still fun to play but it is REALLY DIFFICULT to recommend this to somebody. Way to go Capcom and next time, do a better job with your games or go home! However, it is fun to play this game on the go. It's better than that lazy effort from Capcom's, Street Fighter X Tekken on IOS! Full Review »
  2. May 3, 2012
    6
    Odd port. First off, this uses devices from mostly 4th generation and up which is ridiculous. Second off, it run not so great on the Ipod touch 4th Generation as well as THIS IS A PORT OF A 12 YEAR OLD GAME!!! But, it is a pretty terrible one. The controls suck on ALL DEVICES and pulling off those awesome combos is more of a pain in the ass. Second off, NO ONLINE PLAY while a much better game Street Fighter IV Volt has online play and much smoother controls. The weirdest part is is that both the IPhones/Ipod Touch and the ipad both have arcade sticks or controllers and they are NOT COMPATIBLE. Though I sort of like the swipe controls of the game because it is a compromise to the touch screen and I like how it also had unlockables which build the replayability a lot. But there is one of the final and HUGE PROBLEM, the fact that the Xbox 360 and Playstation 3 both have updated versions of the game and are a HELL OF A LOT BETTER than this version even if the price is $15 there. Another problem is that this is the port of the Dreamcast and Arcade versions and they run smoothly while requiring less power while the I devices need a HELL OF A LOT MORE POWER to run it equally which is ridiculous. Overall, this game is somewhat BARELY worth your money because it is $3 to $5 for the game. If you are a Marvel Vs Capcom fan and want MVC2 on the go, get it before the price goes up but if not, buy another game on the app store and or get it on the consoles. Full Review »
  3. Apr 28, 2012
    8
    A decent port of one of the best fighting games ever created. The animation looks good and it occassionally suffers from a drop in framerate (usually due to someone texting or something, it is on a phone after all). The only reason it didn't score higher, predictably are the controls. But for being on a touch screen they're surprisingly workable, and if you customize the resolution you can (mostly) remove your thumbs from the characters, which seems to be a common complaint with people too lazy to change something so simple. While it's on sale still, pick it up! Full Review »