Max Payne Mobile Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 26 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Max Payne, the award-winning title is now available for iOS.A fugitive undercover cop framed for murder, hunted by cops and the mob, Max is a man with his back against the wall, fighting a battle he cannot hope to win. Max Payne is a relentless story-driven game about a man on the edge, fighting to clear his name while struggling to uncover the truth about his slain family amongst a myriad of plot-twists. The groundbreaking original cinematic action-shooter, Max Payne introduced the concept of Bullet Time® in videogames. Through its stylish slow-motion gunplay combined with a dark and twisted story, Max Payne redefined the action-shooter genre.Universal App:Max Payne is supported on iPhone 3GS, iPhone 4, iPhone 4S, iPod Touch 4, iPad 1, iPad 2, the new iPad.Features:• Max Payne's signature slow motion gunplay, Bullet Time® • Stunningly sharp, HD quality resolution and textures• Retina supported resolution for the new iPad• Gameplay tailored for touch screen devices• Highly customizable controls • Multiple aiming modes • Rockstar Social Club integration to track stats, unlock cheats and more*Rockstar Social Club supported on the iPhone4, iPhone 4S, iPad 2 and the new iPad only. Cheats are still accessible on older devices. For optimal performance, we recommend re-booting your device after downloading and closing other applications when playing Max Payne Mobile.For those using the "Skip to Level" cheat, we recommend that you have weapons in your inventory; as you will start a new level with your current weapon set. Languages Supported: English, French, Italian, German, Spanish, Russian and Japanese.Mobile Version developed by War Drum Studioswww.wardrumstudios.com Find out more:www.rockstargames.com See videos:www.youtube.com/rockstargames Follow us: www.faceboook.com/rockstargameswww.twitter.com/rockstargames Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 23
  2. Negative: 1 out of 23
  1. Apr 13, 2012
    100
    While it looks old, and has virtual joysticks, Max Payne is every bit the great game it was 11 years ago. I wish Rockstar had put more love into the port, but for costing me 1/25th of the original game, I'll cut them some budgetary slack.
  2. Apr 12, 2012
    100
    Time hasn't dulled Max Payne's wit and explosive action by any appreciable amount - given how stable, fast and easy to play it is on the iPhone, there's no reason not to grab and enjoy (or replay) this classic shooter.
  3. May 23, 2012
    80
    A perfect way for new gamers to learn the story of Max before they delve deep into Max Payne 3.
  4. Apr 16, 2012
    70
    Max Payne Mobile is a perfect port... gone wrong. The game is the same as the original PC version, but the touch controls and the low difficulty make it less enjoyable than what it should have been.
  5. May 14, 2012
    70
    Max Payne Mobile pays tribute to the original, and if you have never played the original you owe it to yourself to give it a go. It is by no means a perfect game, and you will get annoyed with Max spastically drying to jump, or getting stuck on something. Still it is an important piece of gaming history, and despite the flaws it is highly enjoyable due to a great story, amazing voice acting and relentless action.
  6. Apr 20, 2012
    70
    A good port of the first Max Payne game is spoiled by the only thing - its controls. Even though the control system is adjustable, it is not as impressive as it should be, and it can be annoying from time to time. That's the reason why the gunfights are not entertaining enough as they used to be. However, there is no reason to turn your back on this port because the rest of the game is exactly the same as we've remembered - stylish, rough, funny, and above all of good quality.
  7. Apr 20, 2012
    40
    Max Payne fails miserably at perpetuating its gameplay on a tactile device. It's either largely unplayable, or too easy if the auto-targeting is on.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Jun 2, 2012
    10
    An expertly made port of one of the best shooter games ever. Max looks and plays great on the iPhone 4S, maybe losing to some games in terms of graphics, but totally not in terms of gameplay. The nearest example, 9mm, another Gameloft's piece of **** ripoff, is nothing compared to this game. The controls are highly customisable, and ive had the best shooting experience on the iPhone with Max. (Here's a scheme that worked very well for me: move the shooting button to the left, set the auto-aim to "Soft lock" and turn on the "Tap to shoot" option. Now you can run and gun by tapping the right side of the screen and fire precisely, aiming with your right finger and shooting with the left.) To sum up, Max Payne is one of my favorite games of all time, and this is a great opportunity to get nostalgic and experience the noir story again. And for some people, just to get to know the classics for a reasonable price. Expand
  2. Jun 21, 2013
    10
    Max Payne Mobile is the best PC on a Mobile Device. The controls and Graphics are very good (and for the Tegra Users like me awesome).
    The
    German and English synchronization are very good, but the german is a lower than the English voices.
    This Game has a good story and many action.

    This is the best Mobile Game on IOS and Android

    p.s. I played it on my Ipod Touch 4g and later on my LG Optimus 4X HD.
    Expand
  3. May 18, 2012
    10
    Max Payne was one of my favourite games back in the day and the iOS port did not disappoint either! Still the great game I remember it to be with really easy to use controls. Quick run through of the Tutorial and you'll be sorted. Great game play and some nice optimised graphics. Collapse
  4. May 6, 2012
    9
    Max Payne was great back on the PC and consoles in 2001 and it still is today after being released on iOS. Everything about the original game is here and while I loved the control set-up of the game, I did find the game a bit too easy when you have auto-aim on in combat. But, this does not make the game unplayable and it does make bullet-time more than possible in this game. This game is a great blast from the past and it will prepare you for Max Payne 3 out on 5/15/2012! Expand
  5. Apr 15, 2012
    9
    Beautiful PC port of Max Payne! The story is 100% the same as the original PC version! Though the auto-aim and touch screen controls were a bit annoying...
    -the-epikninja
    Expand