• Publisher: Capcom
  • Release Date: Dec 21, 2011

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 10
  2. Negative: 3 out of 10
Stream On
  1. Mar 1, 2012
    For long-time fans, Mega Man X on iOS is at best tolerable and at worst insulting. It's a "remake" rife with unnecessary alterations that only serve to make it feel more dated than the original game.
  2. Jan 19, 2012
    Megaman saga is by nature nervous and challenging. The only reward this iOS remake will give you could be the satisfaction of having this great name of platform gaming on your iPhone.
  3. Jan 13, 2012
    The formula still works, but this adaptation is strange and a bit confusing. It changes the visuals but the new ones are not breathtaking, the levels have been splitted for some reason, and its in-app purchases are a bit insulting.
  4. Jan 3, 2012
    MEGA MAN X isn't quite the game you remember, even if it follows the same beats; when a modern device can't replicate an 18 year old game it's time to go back to the drawing board.
  5. Dec 28, 2011
    If you want a real taste of what Mega Man X is, pick up a console or top loader and play the original. Having said that, MEGA MAN X is a fun game, especially for those who don't have a SNES emulator or just want a mobile alternative.
  6. Dec 28, 2011
    Mega Man X definitely deserved a more faithful transition to iOS than what Capcom has delivered this time. If you want an excellent example of how to bring a classic game to modern platforms, check out Sonic CD, because it's exactly what should have been done here. I wouldn't call this port lazy, just a misguided attempt at upgrading a game that didn't need it.
  7. Dec 28, 2011
    The controls aren't perfect, but some assists are included to make them a bit easier to handle. Obviously, the Mega Man series being what it is - extremely difficult platforming games that demand player perfection - this isn't the ideal Mega Man experience, but it is a fun way to experience these games on an iOS device.
  8. Dec 28, 2011
    The classic original shines through in places, but its greatness is mostly clouded by a poor-quality port.
  9. Dec 23, 2011
    The controls are spot on. We had no trouble navigating each 2D environment with the d-pad while dashing through tough areas and jumping up walls; we died more times than we care to admit.
  10. Dec 21, 2011
    As a stand-alone platforming action game for the iPhone, Mega Man X isn't bad, but it falls well short of the standard set by the original nearly two decades ago.
User Score

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 12 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 12
  2. Negative: 5 out of 12
  1. Mar 16, 2018
    I don't really know why people hate this port. It's the best Mega Man port I've played.