Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 7
  2. Negative: 2 out of 7
  1. Mar 1, 2012
    100
    This package may have a harder time winning over younger gamers spoiled by the flash and glitz of today's titles, but for those who remember when a pocket full of quarters meant an afternoon of enjoyment, Midway Arcade is a blast.
  2. Feb 27, 2012
    100
    Midway Arcade is more than just a trip down memory lane - it's a real pint-sized Arcade that goes to great lengths to provide cheap thrills and spills that are hard to pass up if you're an old-scool gamer.
  3. Feb 28, 2012
    80
    Despite the control issues, this is still a fantastic compilation for fans of classic arcade games. The effort that went into making this more than just a bunch of repackaged arcade titles makes it worth checking out for that alone.
  4. May 1, 2012
    70
    No, it's not perfect, but it is good and the atmosphere herein is valuable all by itself. A must-buy for retro enthusiasts.
  5. Mar 5, 2012
    60
    Playing Midway Arcade left me wishing that it supported either the iCade or the Atari Pro Duo controllers. No matter how well-implemented the control schemes are, these games were built with a joystick and buttons in mind. At the end of the day, that's the only true way to enjoy them for all they're worth. Still, Midway Arcade is a solid collection given the price.
  6. Mar 8, 2012
    40
    A decent range of great value, genuine arcade classics neutered by poorly implemented controls.
  7. Feb 27, 2012
    20
    As I played - or tried to play - these games, I found myself wondering if Tiffany Melson is on Facebook. Which would never happen if I had playable versions of Gauntlet, APB, Rampage, and Defender.
User Score
tbd

No user score yet- Awaiting 2 more ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 2
  2. Negative: 1 out of 2
  1. Oct 18, 2014
    4
    Controls stink. Not sensitive enough. Graphics good, but the whole point of these games -- especially Defender and Joust -- is the controls. At a minimum, they could have allowed you to hook up a keyboard. But searches of app and website instructions were silent on this. Full Review »
  2. Apr 14, 2013
    5
    For those looking to enjoy their old arcade favorites, anything that promises to let you play those old greats again sounds good...nearly irresistible. Defender, APB, Spy Hunter and many more, most tied to great memories of time in an arcade. That's why I went and downloaded Midway Arcade, and why I bought one of the expansion packs. Unfortunately, the game falls far short of the promise. Let's run it. On the plus side, these are faithful recreations of old games, with graphics just like the arcade-edition originals, sound that is genuine, and gameplay that, for better and worse, is spot on to the originals. It's just like having a copy of the original arcade editions, albeit with a smaller screen. But there are downsides. For reasons that are completely alien to me, WB decided to go with gyroscopic steering control, which on a top-down game make no sense whatsoever and, with sensitivity and precision as poorly implemented as they are, they wreck great games. Attempting to control games like Spy Hunter is difficult to the point of wanting to give up. A five out of ten is very fair, particularly that these games are not free and are poorly implemented. I doubt an update is going to come out to change the control scheme, but who knows? Stranger things have happened. Until then, though, it's five out of ten: games faithfully recreated, but nearly unplayable. Full Review »