• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
  • Also On: PC
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 13 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Might & Magic Duel of Champions is an online free-to-play card game in the M&M universe.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Apr 16, 2013
    90
    Be sure to take the time to get to know Ubisoft's latest entry in the Might & Magic franchise: a deeply satisfying take on the card battler gaming genre.
  2. Jan 26, 2013
    82
    We get the feeling that this universe is trying to reinvent itself, bringing very original elements to its proposal, something that we appreciate taking into account the situation of the genre. There's still room for improvement, but it is indeed a very interesting start that we hope will get better with further updates.
  3. Feb 4, 2013
    80
    A great card battling game, and only a few niggly details hold it back from being even better: the lousy locked decks, the half-baked multiplayer tournaments, the quick and dirty iPad port. Nevertheless, it offers something fresh and creates battles that feel like two massed armies clashing across their ranks.
  4. Apr 18, 2013
    80
    A card-battling game into which serious strategy fans will want to invest some equally serious time.
  5. Jun 3, 2013
    70
    When I first started up Duel of Champions and played through the tutorial, I never thought I'd be playing for the next four hours. I found myself becoming easily lost in the game, with my duels lasting over a half hour but only seeming like 10 minutes. It's a solid CCG for sure, and one that I don't mind being tied to at the moment.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 3 out of 6
  1. Sep 24, 2013
    9
    This game is the best CCG Ive played and Ive played plenty and it's FREE. I haven't spent a dime and Im a competitive player. There's a new expansion coming out and this game should only get better. If you are trying to find an interesting CCG to play don't pass this one up. Expand
  2. Jan 6, 2014
    8
    Granted, I've only just broken 500 ELO (skill rating) recently, and occasionally you have those games where you just stomp someone or get stomped by someone, but it feels like you have a lot more control in this game as you don't really have the "mana screwed" issues that plague Magic The Gathering. Not to say you can't still get a crappy hand, but by keeping the resource system as a constant increase in production each turn they mitigate this aspect considerably.

    Any time you have a system of 'rarity' determining quality, you will of course run into those players with a deck stacked full of rares. However, the bulk of your deck will still likely consist of starter cards, AND you can purchase cards decks using the in-game currency, which is gained by simply playing ranked matches against other people.
    Expand
  3. Oct 28, 2013
    8
    I'm having a lot of fun with this game. I've played it through to 700 Elo so far and I've been doing pretty well. The resource system is interesting, and I really like the way the battle field is set up into lanes. I think there is quite a bit of tactical depth to the game, and the card base isn't yet so massive that it's intimidating to get into (looking at you MTG). Expand
  4. Nov 19, 2013
    4
    Free to play, and very much pay to win. Starter cards are bland, with little control, while better cards, that you can reliably get only by spending cash, easily dominate the battlefield. Tournaments are open to all players of all skill levels, and they bring their decks with them, making it near impossible for anyone not investing large amounts of money to rank and gain any rewards as you will likely have 2 or 3 top end players in every tournament. Avoid, unless you want to spend at least $50 to be competitive, and well over $100 to dominate. Expand
  5. May 16, 2013
    3
    When i saw, i was sure this gonnabe an awesome game, and it is! WOULD BE. The speed of the game, IF YOU DONT PAY, a lot SLOWER then a crippled turtle, and the cost... I'd say, its not expensive, but when i realize, it's an copy of 'XY the GATHERING' and they release new packs, around 2-6 months, for ~15Euro (as instant buy), it's cost a lot, because if you want play good, and efficient, you NEED TO HAVE the MOST of cards, to build good decks. Or you play 2-4 hours day to have ENOUGH money... and get tons of the same RANDOM cards, you dont need.
    So you wont have free GOLD, when the expansion comes, OR NOT ENOUGH, and you played A LOT, and bougth tons of packs, contains 12 RANDOM cards!
    The result, if you wanna play enjoyable, even on MEDIUM level ~400-1000 rate, you will/must PAY for the game, or you need to sacrafice your life to get the good cards. So this game, if i suppose, get frequent updates, and content, then INSANE EXPENSIVE.

    So overall:

    Gameplay 8/10 (If you like card games, and this "random card draw" stuff)
    Music/Graphics 6/10 (Would be a lot better)
    GameMech 8/10 (The logic of fight/buffs/spells)
    Pay/Cost 1/10 (Insane expensive, for a constant "UP TO DATE" deck)

    Like this, i cant give more then 3, because of hte money system.

    The best bet: Dont play/Dont buy.

    Could be an epic awesome game... to sad
    Collapse
  6. Oct 19, 2013
    2
    A truly terrible game. Unbalanced decks and severe pay to win mechanics make this game hard to enjoy. Would not recommend this game to anyone and would advise against even giving it a try. Expand