Mikey Shorts Image
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 18 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: RUN, JUMP, and SLIDE through the land to help Mikey Shorts rescue the people! Collect coins to buy fun disguises along the way! FEATURES: • 72 different levels across 2 game modes • 6 unique environments • Choose from over 100 disguises to wear • Finish a level fast to earn up to 3 stars
    • Golden Shorts are hidden in all Story levels
    • Race against a ghost of your best score
    • Split times at gates show +/- your best score
    • Earn achievements both online and offline
    • Easy access to Game Center scores
    • Quick retry button for restarting a level
    • Ability to customize controls
    • View various game stats
    • New content planned with updates

    Universal app for iPhone, iPod touch & iPad!
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Aug 29, 2012
    100
    Mikey Shorts is pure retro goodness, all wrapped up in a modern package. While its influences may be visible from space, it doesn't change the fact that this game is pure fun to play. Even after playing through the game in a matter of hours, we were desperate to go back to see if we could change those hours into minutes, and get all the coins, too.
  2. Aug 25, 2012
    100
    There are a lot of reasons to love a game. Great challenge, fun with friends, gorgeous design-all good reasons. Despite its rough edges, Mikey Shorts gets to me because it brings me to a place where I can play and have a great time, without hitting walls, without getting frustrated, without having to pass it on to the next kid in line. It's a good feeling, one I don't particularly want to give up.
  3. Aug 25, 2012
    100
    A wonderful time sink that hasn't forgotten the principles of giving back to its players. This is a title pared down to precious few actions, but designed so well that nothing ever gets stale. A glowing, beeping slice of pure, simple fun.
  4. Aug 26, 2012
    100
    Mikey Shorts is a game that truly has something for everyone. Want to have fun? Story mode. Looking for a serious challenge? Challenge mode. Mikey Shorts is well worth its $0.99 download price.
  5. Aug 27, 2012
    90
    Mikey Shorts manages to stand tall amongst the best the platform genre has to offer, and you should make a point to download it in the very near future.
  6. Oct 8, 2012
    80
    A few hours of solid entertainment. [Nov 2012, p.29]
  7. Sep 2, 2012
    70
    Controls are simple and effective. A two-way control pad for movement and two large buttons for jumping and sliding under low platforms. They're responsive and work well without getting in the way.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Aug 28, 2012
    10
    Not much to say about it. This game is brilliant, simple, and flat out amazing. In my opinion it is the only iPhone game that keeps anyone intersted for more than 5 minutes. Completely unrepetative, and interesting level design. Games these days occasionally need the three Ss, Short, Sweet, and Simple. And Mikey Shorts definetialy supplies. 10 out of 10. Expand
  2. Oct 15, 2012
    10
    Awesome platformer game. Controls, graphics, gameplay, music, learning curve, everything work amazing. If you are looking for a fun and challenging game, I really recommend this game. Expand
  3. Oct 27, 2013
    9
    If you think the game ends when you get three stars on every level, you're dead wrong. The game ends when you're #1 in all the GameCenter leaderboards!

    Closest I've gotten is #12 on Level 6-3. It's tricky!
    Collapse
  4. Aug 31, 2012
    5
    If you're keen on (Game Center) speedrun competition, you will like this game. If you're after a traditional platformer with standard elements such as hazards, player death, enemy creatures, different environmental attributes (not just a palette change) then you will lose interest in it very quickly. If they do a follow-up, using the same engine and controls, but as more of a proper platform game and not just a speed-runner, it could be very good. Expand

Related Articles

  1. The Best iPhone and iPad Games of 2012

    The Best iPhone and iPad Games of 2012 Image
    Published: December 20, 2012
    Find out which iOS titles finished the year as 2012's best in our annual look at the top games for Apple mobile devices.
  2. 10 Best iPhone/iPad Games for August 2012

    10 Best iPhone/iPad Games for August 2012 Image
    Published: August 30, 2012
    A zombified take on Oregon Trail and a port of The World Ends with You are among the past months best-reviewed games for iOS.