Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
Stream On
  1. Nov 6, 2017
    92
    When I first saw Million Onion Hotel, I was intrigued by the screenshots, but didn't know what to expect from it in terms of gameplay. Now that I've spent my morning playing the game, I have to say that I'm impressed. As someone who grew up with classic pixel art games, the visuals bring back a sense of nostalgia with me, and the sounds are rather satisfying. After my first round in the game, I seriously said what is going on in this game? out loud. Not many games make me say that, so kudos. But I still find myself returning, because it's just fun. This is one of those games that I'll be returning to time and time again, for sure.
  2. Nov 29, 2017
    90
    Million Onion Hotel is a quirky and addictive arcade action game with a strategy element that has been a blast to play over the last few weeks.
  3. Nov 9, 2017
    90
    If you've got an appetite for unusual games, have good reflexes, and a keen ability to assess patterns quickly, Million Onion Hotel was made just for you. If you don't? Well, you'll probably have a good time with it anyway. It can be really confusing at times, but usually in a good way. As iOS gamers, we're fortunate enough to have a wealth of stylish puzzle games with personality to burn, but I can promise you that none of them are as adorably eccentric as this onion-plucking pleasure cruise.
  4. Nov 7, 2017
    90
    Million Onion Hotel can be a pretty overwhelming experience, but that’s part of what makes it so great. Its gameplay is relatively simple, but it layers on all sorts of crazy visuals and twists on its base mechanics that force you to learn from your mistakes and refine your strategy every time you play. There are some ways in which Million Onion Hotel gets a little too hectic and hard to follow, but I’d much rather that be the case than the alternative. Million Onion Hotel is a totally uncompromising experience, and I certainly respect it for that, even if it can be a little distracting at times.
  5. Jan 3, 2018
    80
    Million Onion Hotel is a wonderful new game to add to the mobile phone library of treasure troves. This is a surprisingly addictive release, with its fast-paced action mechanics complementing the required skill to achieve high scores. While the whimsical setting, and even weirder cut-scenes, may leave heads scratching, it is part of the overall charm. Whether it's fighting off asparagus, or taking on large onions, this is a required title for those seeking a fast and exciting finger-tapping adventure to an overbearing and scary countdown clock.
  6. Edge Magazine
    Dec 10, 2017
    80
    [An] endearingly odd, memorable little game. [Issue#314, p.122]
  7. Nov 27, 2017
    80
    Million Onion Hotel is another winner from Onion Games and Yoshiro Kimura. It’s fascinating, freakish, and further proof invigorating games can be found on mobile platforms if you just know where to look.
User Score
tbd

No user score yet- Awaiting 3 more ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Nov 30, 2017
    9
    This is a delightful and beautiful little game that is reminiscent of the era of classic gaming (80s, 90s) while also moving forward andThis is a delightful and beautiful little game that is reminiscent of the era of classic gaming (80s, 90s) while also moving forward and embracing the smartphone as a platform fully. As a fast puzzle game it has a smooth learning curve of the "easy to learn, hard to master" variety. It also has an irreverent, ambitious, quirky, shocking and somewhat existential story, which is told through poetic little "story cards" that you collect. I would very much recommend this well-crafted game. Full Review »