User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 93 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 93
  2. Negative: 31 out of 93

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    Im sad to see the 2 poor reviews even one from a critic who should be informed that this is not the final release of minecraft iOS pocket edition. It even says v0.1.2 ALPHA just like normal minecraft this will have updates with new features, they can't simply press a button to transfer from pc to iOS. He mentioned it some time on twitter or his blog.
  2. Jan 27, 2013
    8
    Okay, so maybe this isn't as great as the PC version of Minecraft, but how can anyone expect it to be. It is called Pocket Edition for a reason. It's supposed to be played on the go. They keep adding new content so it keeps getting better and better. Until the devices you play Pocket Edition on get better, the game will have it's limitations. Go out and buy this game now, before it gets to its full potential and the developers raise the price! This is a great game. Expand
  3. Mar 30, 2013
    2
    $6.99 at the app store and this is what I get?! Okay, lets go over a few of my favorite things about minecraft pc edition. #1. The infinite worlds. #2. The ton of items you can craft through smelting and mining. Does pe (pocket edition) have that? I think not. The items are what you would expect, the things to make the kids who cant afford $25 minecraft happy. TNT, tools, yadayadayada. The world size is my main point against minecraft because its 100% right. Its tiny!!!!! Its puny! Its not even varied. Its still randomly generated, I will give them that, but in reality, its just a single medium sized grassland biome with about 12 trees and a few light hills, the tallest having a small stone cave. It can vary, but its usually around that. The world is cut off at invisible wall, about 24 seconds of running from the very middle. Mining is where they got somewhere, although not really. Its similar to the pc version so its not THAT bad, but its still missing things like crevices and thing that really make mining fun. The mining combined with the fact its got a few small meh parts got it a 2, but don't buy this app. Expand
  4. Nov 24, 2011
    7
    The pocket edition is where the PC version was 15 months ago developmentally speaking. This is an independent adaptation of an indie game, so think of this as a portable tribute instead of the real deal.
  5. Nov 18, 2011
    7
    The game is an excellent transfer of the incredible indie hit to a portable device, however it's quite clear that the experience couldn't fully be brought over to the iOS platform, and while an fun distraction from work or whatever else, it's a version of minecraft that won't see you building a giant Charizard or functioning toilets with actual flushing, but still worth the asking price, especially to continue supporting Mojang which will soon 'release' the actual 'final build' of the game, with many updates to follow swiftly as it has been doing so. DOWNLOAD IT. Expand
  6. Jan 28, 2012
    10
    Even though there are little bugs, and there is only creative, now I can play Minecraft handheld! Hopefully they will add survival later on. I still give this a ten because this is a good idea; play Minecraft anywhere and everywhere!
  7. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    i know its kinda well boring for now but survival mode is coming and its official by notch. i dont see why its so bad its minecraft on the ipod. just be patient and wait a month more and survival mode will come. and more things
  8. Jun 19, 2012
    10
    Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrreeeeeeeeeeaaaaaaaatttttttttttttt for being porrrrrrrrrrtttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttaaàaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaabbbble!!!!!
  9. Feb 14, 2013
    9
    Pocket Edition is a wonderful transfer from the PC. Though it lacks the features the PC has, and the controls are a bit wonky, it's still a great game for on-the-go.
  10. Jul 6, 2013
    3
    A really downgraded port of the PC version.
    The Good
    Runs smoothly
    It's minecraft in your pocket
    The Bad
    So few features
    Updates contain so little
    The Controls are horrible
    Creative mode dosen't contain all the items in the game
    No randomly generated structures
    £4.99/$6.99
  11. Jul 9, 2013
    6
    Its okay but Minecraft pocket edition needs a lot of updates like nether portals, wolfs, and many other missing stuff. But other than that its a fun game to have when your on the road away from your PC.
  12. Sep 15, 2013
    5
    Taking the famous PC game and moving it to mobile devices seems like a interesting idea, but it end up being to big of a task for the developers. What you get with "Pocket Edition" is a lifeless and barren world that you craft almost whatever you want in, but the amount of fun you have entirely depends on how much you love to build. If you enjoy exploring caves (which aren't in this version) and fighting monsters then you're out of luck. I've never played the PC version, but it always looked like a lot of fun to team up with a friend and try to survive while building your own fortress. Unfortunately none of that transfers over into this port. The game is separated into two modes, survival and create. Create gives you endless supplies and lets your imagination run free without any distractions like monsters getting in your way. The problem with this mode is that the world you're placed in is so barren and lifeless that I couldn't stick around to play for more than a few minutes without giving up thanks to boredom. Survival mode throws you into a scarcely populated world, devoid on any monster filled caves, and tasks you with building shelter to survive the night. There's no real enjoyment to be had in this mode either. Only one monster type is available and poses next to no threat. This mode made me give up as well thanks to boredom. Overall the promise on Minecraft on a mobile device sounds too good to be true, and unfortunately it is. "Pocket Edition" is lifeless, barren, and most disappointingly boring. Expand
  13. Nov 20, 2011
    5
    i'll be blunt, this is a poor adaption of the much loved (by me) of mine craft. but lets not forget this is version 0.1.2 if I'm not correct so obviously there will be a few (many - hopefully) updates that will fix the slight flaws with having only creative, only 36 items in inventory and the controls are a bit clunky if not annoying but ONLY because i'm playing on the iPhone 4. the app is universal so i recommend playing it on the IPAD defiantly. The other thing that annoys me a bit is that the world that is generated are always quite small and this is understandable as this game is being played on a phone but with more powerful phones being made every year i hope there is a point where we can reach an unlimited world. i would recommend for the hardcore fans but think before you by as the price is a bit steep for the little amount of content they give. Expand
  14. Nov 21, 2011
    7
    It's essentially the same as the alpha version was on the pc version. They have said they would update this game in the future like they did with the pc version as well. It's a start and it is still amazing to play any form of minecraft on a phone. It is only fair to be patient because Notch isn't like other developers. He could have released this game in a year or two when it was perfect, but chose to release it now and support it with updates. Expand
  15. Dec 15, 2011
    6
    Right now it's more of a solid proof of concept than a real game, but add survival mode, inprove or a least let people customise the controls better, and generally bring it up to the standard of the PC version and it could be a master piece. Also work out some way to support mods and texture packs.
  16. Apr 7, 2013
    10
    well to all of the people who didn't wait for it to become really epic with multiplayer and survival mode and waaaaaaay better controls. i would have to say suck it because the new minecraft is defiantly worth 7.50 dollars
  17. Apr 17, 2013
    7
    Although it is a very basic version of minecraft, they are adding new things and it clearly says Alpha when you get to the main menu. This means there are more things to come and the game is not finished. I still think it is very fun and a good way to pass the time
  18. Jul 13, 2013
    3
    This version is nothing compared to Minecraft. Compared to PC, this version DEFINETLY is not as worth it money wise. The graphics, the difficulty, and just the overall gameplay just want you to scream "I'M BORED!"
  19. Dec 12, 2013
    6
    This is my second review of "Minecraft: Pocket Edition" because the game has some large updates. The game is progressing to its standards, but definitely cannot match the PC version, nonetheless. The controls aren't as straightforward and easy to use like the PC version, and I doubt that any significant changes will be made to that.
  20. Jun 2, 2012
    5
    I love minecraft on PC, and that is why this version is such a shame. The creative mode is alright, but there is a very minimal assortment of blocks to choose from and the controls, but i wouldn't expect decent controls on a touch screen device anyway. What really angers me is the what Mojang tried to pass as "survival" mode. The current survival mode is pretty unbearable, seeing as most of the core features of survival mode dont even exist. You needto collect your own materials, but since there is no clay in the game yet you always have unlimited bricks. Same for glass, because there are NO FURNACES. No furnaces. Think about that. Think about all the uses for a furnace. Think about how necessary it is. Yea. That's half the game right there. So making torches is harder because you cant smelt charcoal, but even worse is the fact that dark places are unbearably dark. You can barely see anything. How am i supposed to go mining for coal so i can make torches, when the underground is too dark to see ANYTHING in. So by night time, the game is just annoying and not worth trying. I would just stick to creative. Survival is a disaster. Expand
  21. Jun 28, 2012
    5
    Minecraft Pocket Edition, first, It was awful, because It was only in Creative Mode, and, in Creative Mode, you can build whatever you want, but It was completely not challenging, It was without zombies, creepers, skeletons, which I would rate that version 3.0, but now, Majong added Survival Mode, which is more fun. .But, still It doesn't have so much things like in PC Version. There you don't have a hunger bar, there you can kill only zombie and adding animals, for nothing, It's not necessary. It haves more things to do, but still disappointing. Expand
  22. Jan 6, 2013
    5
    The game is ok for IOS however if you want to play minecraft i don't see why u would want to play it on IOS same with the Xbox version its ok but it does not beat the PC version.
  23. Jan 7, 2013
    6
    The good about Minecraft PE is that its better than LITE. But the bad is that it cant make the masterpiece of PC version as there is no Creepers, Skeletons, Spiders, chat, brewing, dropping items, villages, redstone, railways and more. There is serious work needed for PE as this do's not capture the full items of Minecraft and another thing is there is no point for mining diamonds since the only mob are zombies. Expand
  24. Jul 29, 2013
    3
    Update: They pinned down some things that needed to be done. Animals in creative, water, and lava are just a few. The score gets bumped up to 5. I hope the game gets even better.
  25. Jul 23, 2013
    6
    I played this before the real PC version. But one thing: flint and steel is useless. it can only be used with TNT. Creative mode sucks. no crafting, no nether reactor working, NO TNT?!?! Creative is only useful in building. Survival is way better. If you want a better experience, crafting, tnt, flint and steel useful, more stuff, GET THE PC VERSION. It is worth 20 bucks. People say "The graphics are so crappy, the game is so crappy." IGNORE THEM! That is not a big deal. It is still good. Expand
  26. Aug 12, 2013
    7
    In November 2011 we were treated to Minecraft: Pocket Edition. A Minecraft game that had almost nothing to relate itself to Minecraft except for the blocky world. Almost two years later. Minecraft has reached version .7.2 Alpha and I'm happy to say that this game definitely feels like Minecraft. There are better controls, monsters to hide from, ores to mine, items to craft, houses to build, and a sky to look at. Still, this doesn't mean that things aren't missing. Caves are nowhere to be found,so resources are harder to gather. Red stone nerds can't make any red stone machines. The list of omissions is still endless. Still, that doesn't mean that MCPE isn't fun and addicting. Expand
  27. Aug 12, 2013
    1
    minecraft pocket edition is not that good. first of all the worlds are to small and it has nothing compared to the PC/MAC/Linux version. there are practically no blocks and theirs no end or nether world. you can also get minecraft pocket edition for android but its not worth it. they just got BUCKETS in the game. dont buy unless you really want to.and it costs 6.99$
  28. Sep 1, 2013
    10
    To the people who give this BAD FUDGING REVIEWS GO YOURSELF.
    This game, is not finished. It is an awesome game, especially because tablets have such less power then PC's. SUCK IT, PEOPLE WHO GIVE IT BAD REVIEWS.
  29. Oct 4, 2013
    9
    Good game! I played this first then minecraft. Very much updates. Online Multiplayer (in alpha). Pocket version is all time in you ride. Play it love it.

    Very Good Updates
    -Sun & Moon
    -Bed
    -Skeletons, Spiders And Greepers
    -Nether Reactor
    -Online Multiplayer
    -LAN Multiplayer

    Best One
    All Bugs Repaired in 1-2 Days
  30. Oct 5, 2013
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Face it, Minecraft PE will never live up to the Mac/PC/Linux edition. One major flaw is that there are no unlimited worlds. Compared to the computer edition the nether is an obsidian cave. No bosses, no Enderdragon. Heck, you can barely fly. I know there is more coming to the iOS edition but for now it's terrible. Expand
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 11
  2. Negative: 3 out of 11
  1. 60
    Not really worth the price in its current form, unless you're a die-hard fan of the Creative game mode of Minecraft. And yet it still manages to be a recommendable series, as there's something zen-like about just building to your hearts content.
  2. Jan 12, 2012
    56
    For now it's all craft and no mine. [Feb 2012, p.87]
  3. Dec 12, 2011
    40
    This iOS version, alas, is akin to the original's early iterations. You're only offered the sandbox creation mode, in which you potter about a vast landscape, placing blocks to build stuff. Recreate your own house; make a fairytale castle; spell out 'help, I'm bored' – the choice is yours. And that's basically it.