User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 110 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 110
  2. Negative: 36 out of 110

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 30, 2013
    2
    $6.99 at the app store and this is what I get?! Okay, lets go over a few of my favorite things about minecraft pc edition. #1. The infinite worlds. #2. The ton of items you can craft through smelting and mining. Does pe (pocket edition) have that? I think not. The items are what you would expect, the things to make the kids who cant afford $25 minecraft happy. TNT, tools, yadayadayada. The$6.99 at the app store and this is what I get?! Okay, lets go over a few of my favorite things about minecraft pc edition. #1. The infinite worlds. #2. The ton of items you can craft through smelting and mining. Does pe (pocket edition) have that? I think not. The items are what you would expect, the things to make the kids who cant afford $25 minecraft happy. TNT, tools, yadayadayada. The world size is my main point against minecraft because its 100% right. Its tiny!!!!! Its puny! Its not even varied. Its still randomly generated, I will give them that, but in reality, its just a single medium sized grassland biome with about 12 trees and a few light hills, the tallest having a small stone cave. It can vary, but its usually around that. The world is cut off at invisible wall, about 24 seconds of running from the very middle. Mining is where they got somewhere, although not really. Its similar to the pc version so its not THAT bad, but its still missing things like crevices and thing that really make mining fun. The mining combined with the fact its got a few small meh parts got it a 2, but don't buy this app. Expand
  2. Jul 6, 2013
    3
    A really downgraded port of the PC version.
    The Good
    Runs smoothly
    It's minecraft in your pocket
    The Bad
    So few features
    Updates contain so little
    The Controls are horrible
    Creative mode dosen't contain all the items in the game
    No randomly generated structures
    £4.99/$6.99
  3. Jul 13, 2013
    3
    This version is nothing compared to Minecraft. Compared to PC, this version DEFINETLY is not as worth it money wise. The graphics, the difficulty, and just the overall gameplay just want you to scream "I'M BORED!"
  4. Dec 17, 2013
    2
    Offering nothing but a pale imitation to its far, far better PC version, Minecraft: Pocket Edition will craft you to boredom with its finite world of no opportunities.
  5. Jul 29, 2013
    3
    Update: They pinned down some things that needed to be done. Animals in creative, water, and lava are just a few. The score gets bumped up to 5. I hope the game gets even better.
  6. Aug 12, 2013
    1
    minecraft pocket edition is not that good. first of all the worlds are to small and it has nothing compared to the PC/MAC/Linux version. there are practically no blocks and theirs no end or nether world. you can also get minecraft pocket edition for android but its not worth it. they just got BUCKETS in the game. dont buy unless you really want to.and it costs 6.99$
  7. Oct 5, 2013
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Face it, Minecraft PE will never live up to the Mac/PC/Linux edition. One major flaw is that there are no unlimited worlds. Compared to the computer edition the nether is an obsidian cave. No bosses, no Enderdragon. Heck, you can barely fly. I know there is more coming to the iOS edition but for now it's terrible. Expand
  8. Dec 23, 2013
    2
    This game is mediocre right now. Barely worth $6.99. The game is underdeveloped and choppy. The crafting is cheap and doesn't contain the excitement as the PC version. As of 0.8.1, this game, while did add lots of new features, still isn't worth the 7 dollars, other than creative. Do not buy until the game is at least to where infinite worlds and better features start to roll in. BasicallyThis game is mediocre right now. Barely worth $6.99. The game is underdeveloped and choppy. The crafting is cheap and doesn't contain the excitement as the PC version. As of 0.8.1, this game, while did add lots of new features, still isn't worth the 7 dollars, other than creative. Do not buy until the game is at least to where infinite worlds and better features start to roll in. Basically a downgraded version of indev PC version. Expand
  9. Jan 11, 2014
    4
    This is the rating the original deserved. Not great, but not terrible. People were expecting to get everything from the computer edition in this? No. Of course not. I am not sure it is worth the price, but the PC version is not worth the price, that's for sure. Anyway, I enjoy it about as much as the original. They both have similar problems, but I can give this a bit of leeway because itThis is the rating the original deserved. Not great, but not terrible. People were expecting to get everything from the computer edition in this? No. Of course not. I am not sure it is worth the price, but the PC version is not worth the price, that's for sure. Anyway, I enjoy it about as much as the original. They both have similar problems, but I can give this a bit of leeway because it is a mobile port. Expand
  10. Apr 6, 2014
    2
    Though the pocket edition of the game is portable, It doesn't mean It's good, or entertaining. Night time in the game is very hard to see, as it is to build anything during it. At a later time maybe it will improve, but faith in the game can be long gone when It's on the I-phone and only the I-Phone
  11. Oct 6, 2014
    4
    This is just a bad port onto the mobile gaming community of a masterpiece of a game. If you like minecraft then get a PC or a console, don't get this broken game.
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 11
  2. Negative: 3 out of 11
  1. 60
    Not really worth the price in its current form, unless you're a die-hard fan of the Creative game mode of Minecraft. And yet it still manages to be a recommendable series, as there's something zen-like about just building to your hearts content.
  2. Jan 12, 2012
    56
    For now it's all craft and no mine. [Feb 2012, p.87]
  3. Dec 12, 2011
    40
    This iOS version, alas, is akin to the original's early iterations. You're only offered the sandbox creation mode, in which you potter about a vast landscape, placing blocks to build stuff. Recreate your own house; make a fairytale castle; spell out 'help, I'm bored' – the choice is yours. And that's basically it.