Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
Stream On
  1. Feb 14, 2013
    82
    MC4 is a fun, action-packed FPS with some interesting gameplay elements. Some elements don’t really work as well, but they do make MC4 that little bit more interesting than your average run-of-the-mill FPS.
  2. Games Master UK
    Feb 10, 2013
    75
    One of the most gorgeous games we've yet seen on mobile. [March 2013, p.93]
  3. Dec 19, 2012
    80
    Modern Combat 4: Zero Hour is an important step for Gameloft's franchise. If you are truly in love with FPS and mobile playing does not scare you, you shouldn't miss it.
  4. Dec 14, 2012
    100
    Featuring graphics, sound, and gameplay that continue to push the envelope for mobile gaming, Modern Combat 4 is an engaging and immersive juggernaut that absolutely blows us away.
  5. Dec 7, 2012
    80
    We have nothing but positive things to say about the spectacle. Having such a graphically-rich title on iPhone and iPad screens is remarkable. At the same time, and if we expect video games to grow up, publishers need to invest the same effort into the other components, especially when dealing with the fourth entry of a popular franchise.
  6. 90
    The single-player campaign is completely generic, but multiplayer shines, and we can't help but be impressed with what Gamefly are able to squeeze out of the hardware. This is the kind of shooter we were hoping to see on Vita.
  7. Dec 6, 2012
    100
    Modern Combat 4: Zero Hour may still fall short of its console brethren, but it still remains a predictably solid series for the iOS platform and one that only gets more gorgeous with each generation.
  8. Dec 6, 2012
    80
    The multiplayer is the real star here: there's a whole bevy of modes to check out with players form around the world.
  9. Dec 6, 2012
    78
    Modern Combat 4 might be a small step backwards but it's still an impressive, action-packed adventure. At its best, the game offers up real moments of intense gunplay.
  10. Dec 6, 2012
    85
    Modern Combat 4: Zero Hour is a solid FPS, with a blockbuster direction and stunning graphics. The touch controls work fine and are fully customizable, but they lack of an auto-fire option.
  11. Dec 5, 2012
    80
    While some may complain about the lack of significant improvements, I'm willing to be satisfied with the fact that Gameloft has taken a successful series and preserved the single player campaign with small changes and improvements to an otherwise well-done formula.
  12. Dec 5, 2012
    90
    What Gameloft have created here is almost the complete package. It is truly AAA in scope and presentation. It's just a shame that it is still lacking decent AI routines for enemies and the voice acting it deserves. Of course, take things out of the campaign mode and into multiplayer, and MC4 really shines.
  13. Dec 5, 2012
    100
    Modern Combat 4: Zero Hour is the closest they've come yet to recreating a recent Call of Duty game on iOS.
User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 37 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 11
  2. Negative: 2 out of 11
  1. Mar 17, 2013
    10
    modern combat 4 is the best shooter i played on smartphone.for me it was better from n.o.v.a 3 and n.o.v.a 3 was realy good.this game havemodern combat 4 is the best shooter i played on smartphone.for me it was better from n.o.v.a 3 and n.o.v.a 3 was realy good.this game have some of the best graphics for smartphone games.the story is damm good and the multiplayer is awsome.just buy it Full Review »
  2. Jan 6, 2013
    10
    awesom. I love it . Multiplayer is awesome and the graphics are great and it is fun game.definitly a buy for mc ers. The story is ok though itawesom. I love it . Multiplayer is awesome and the graphics are great and it is fun game.definitly a buy for mc ers. The story is ok though it is not as long as mc3 Full Review »
  3. Dec 31, 2012
    8
    For a moment thought that i was playing on the computer. Pretty good graphics, nice story. And multipayer is quite good(i haven't play so muchFor a moment thought that i was playing on the computer. Pretty good graphics, nice story. And multipayer is quite good(i haven't play so much multi). Sometimes the game crashes but Gameloft the gradually improving. Full Review »