• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Monument Valley Image
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 123 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Monument Valley you will manipulate impossible architecture and guide a silent princess through a beautiful world. Monument Valley is a surreal exploration through fantastical architecture and impossible geometry. Guide the silent princess Ida through mysterious monuments, uncoveringIn Monument Valley you will manipulate impossible architecture and guide a silent princess through a beautiful world. Monument Valley is a surreal exploration through fantastical architecture and impossible geometry. Guide the silent princess Ida through mysterious monuments, uncovering hidden paths, unfolding optical illusions and outsmarting the enigmatic Crow People. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 37
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 37
  3. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Apr 22, 2014
    100
    Monument Valley is not only an exquisite piece of craftsmanship, but a genuinely delightful adventure with more 'wow' moments than most million-dollar blockbusters.
  2. Apr 15, 2014
    95
    This is one of those milestones in mobile entertainment, unique and beautifully crafted. It feels quite short, but it still is worth experiencing.
  3. Apr 7, 2014
    90
    Monument Valley is a technical and aesthetic accomplishment that rewards players with beauty, originality, and grace at every turn of its ten stages.
  4. Apr 8, 2014
    90
    This is an absolutely gorgeous game that must be experienced by anyone with an iOS device.
  5. Monument Valley is a strong contender for my mobile game of the year.
  6. May 13, 2015
    88
    This eautiful puzzle platformer is an atmospheric trip, but a tad too short. Well designed puzzles keep you occupied for couple of hours, but when the credits roll, you'll be crawing for more. [May 2015]
  7. Apr 29, 2014
    75
    Overall my Monument Valley experience was full of charm, perfect for a single marathon playthrough, or short stabs.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Apr 13, 2014
    10
    The puzzle genre has been has been nice to mobile users for years and monument valley is no exeption it looks like a generic move the block toThe puzzle genre has been has been nice to mobile users for years and monument valley is no exeption it looks like a generic move the block to get to the goal but it it has a twist a twist in reality it some times looks like you can't do anything but your probably being tricked by its masterpiece of puzzles and the story is poetic puzzle as well it has a very good price and it literally looks like art Expand
  2. Nov 21, 2014
    10
    This is a great little game, good for adults and children. Teaches perception, 3D thinking and imagination. Clever, subtle, beautiful,This is a great little game, good for adults and children. Teaches perception, 3D thinking and imagination. Clever, subtle, beautiful, addictive, with a calm relaxing music. Pure magic. I want more. Expand
  3. Jul 12, 2015
    10
    One of my favorite iOS games. Monument Valley is a beautiful puzzle game inspired by the artwork of MC Escher. It is fairly easy and a bitOne of my favorite iOS games. Monument Valley is a beautiful puzzle game inspired by the artwork of MC Escher. It is fairly easy and a bit short but it is an experience that shouldn't be missed by anyone with an iPhone or iPad. Expand
  4. Jul 25, 2014
    9
    This game is very beautiful and imaginative play. A little short, but consolation is that the player participates in an experience which youThis game is very beautiful and imaginative play. A little short, but consolation is that the player participates in an experience which you never forget. Touching and varied artwork. I will not give you the maximum points only due to the above mentioned brevity. Those who can give it a try. Expand
  5. Apr 6, 2014
    9
    Easily one of the better iPhone games ever made. While it will only last you around an hour, that hour will be extraordinary, artistic, andEasily one of the better iPhone games ever made. While it will only last you around an hour, that hour will be extraordinary, artistic, and beautiful. "Quality over quantity" defines this game well. The art style is amazing, levels/puzzles are clever and well-designed, the plot is mysterious, and it's overall something you just have to experience. In a market over-saturated with Pay to Win games and IAP's, Monument Valley stands out and definitely deserves your attention at its $3.99 asking price. Collapse
  6. Jan 22, 2015
    9
    Monument Valley is a unique M.C. Escher type dreamscape with fantastic visuals and audio that relax the player whilst marveling at the beautyMonument Valley is a unique M.C. Escher type dreamscape with fantastic visuals and audio that relax the player whilst marveling at the beauty of the graphics. With very unique puzzles, Monument Valley is a must have on any iphone or ipad. Expand
  7. Aug 5, 2014
    6
    Nice little artistic and hypnotic puzzle game. The atmosphere reminds me of Journey a bit, but it's not as good. I liked the puzzles and theNice little artistic and hypnotic puzzle game. The atmosphere reminds me of Journey a bit, but it's not as good. I liked the puzzles and the overall experience mostly, but it's extremely short (lasts for about 1 hour), so you don't even start caring about things and suddenly it's over. That wouldn't be a problem if the game was free (which it should imo). I finished it on a friends device, so it's all good, but I can imagine I would be unpleasantly surprised if I paid for it and then finished the game under 1 hour. Freebie is something that would suit this game a lot, so I believe that's the path Monument Valley should take in the future, gaining more fans in the process. 6/10 Expand

See all 25 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best iPhone and iPad Games of 2014

    The Best iPhone and iPad Games of 2014 Image
    Published: December 17, 2014
    Inside, we rank the 25 best-reviewed iOS games of the year.
  2. 10 Best iPhone/iPad Games for April 2014

    10 Best iPhone/iPad Games for April 2014 Image
    Published: May 1, 2014
    We reveal the 10 best iOS gaming apps released over the past month, including ports of Hearthstone and FTL, plus the unique, experience-driven Monument Valley.