• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Monument Valley Image
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 86 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Monument Valley you will manipulate impossible architecture and guide a silent princess through a beautiful world. Monument Valley is a surreal exploration through fantastical architecture and impossible geometry. Guide the silent princess Ida through mysterious monuments, uncovering hidden paths, unfolding optical illusions and outsmarting the enigmatic Crow People. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 35
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 35
  3. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Apr 22, 2014
    100
    Monument Valley is not only an exquisite piece of craftsmanship, but a genuinely delightful adventure with more 'wow' moments than most million-dollar blockbusters.
  2. Apr 15, 2014
    95
    This is one of those milestones in mobile entertainment, unique and beautifully crafted. It feels quite short, but it still is worth experiencing.
  3. Apr 7, 2014
    90
    Monument Valley is a technical and aesthetic accomplishment that rewards players with beauty, originality, and grace at every turn of its ten stages.
  4. Apr 8, 2014
    90
    This is an absolutely gorgeous game that must be experienced by anyone with an iOS device.
  5. May 4, 2014
    90
    A neat little piece of artistic expressionism to warm your heart and push your mind with. [June 2014, p.78]
  6. Apr 18, 2014
    85
    Monument Valley is a beautiful digital work of art that’s a joy to play with its fascinating puzzles and amazing looking levels. Every level plays with perspective, the laws of nature and a simply unique experience with its great use of color, sounds and music. Too bad it’s really short though.
  7. Apr 29, 2014
    75
    Overall my Monument Valley experience was full of charm, perfect for a single marathon playthrough, or short stabs.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Apr 13, 2014
    10
    The puzzle genre has been has been nice to mobile users for years and monument valley is no exeption it looks like a generic move the block to get to the goal but it it has a twist a twist in reality it some times looks like you can't do anything but your probably being tricked by its masterpiece of puzzles and the story is poetic puzzle as well it has a very good price and it literally looks like art Expand
  2. Jun 18, 2014
    10
    Love it, not just a simple game but a dreamy idea that improves your imagination.
    Great design and a lot of interesting levels. If you're
    looking for a good puzzle game, you found it .The experience of Monument Valley is sure to please both: experienced players and just-for-fun players Expand
  3. Apr 6, 2014
    10
    This game reminded me of DampGnat's Wonderputt. That is a compliment of the highest form. This game is not only beautiful, but also very deep. Even though there isn't dialogue or cutscenes, the devs get their point across. It doesn't hurt that the puzzles and gameplay are flawless. Buy this game now and never look back. We need more iOS games like this. Expand
  4. Apr 7, 2014
    9
    It seems the urgency for time has permeated the minds of the developers at ustwo. Monument Valley’s 2-3 hour play-through is the perfect amount of that decadent cake. The experience of Monument Valley is sure to please both the hardcore gamer and casual audiences alike. In fact, it is the perfect example of the importance of short and sweet, possibly introducing these polarizing audiences to a new approach in game design as seen in Journey, The Room, or EDGE. And like that decadent cake, Monument Valley’s length, design, and puzzles are mesmerizing enough to feel satisfied yet haunting enough to warrant constant craving. If DLC is abound, sign me up. Expand
  5. Apr 6, 2014
    9
    Easily one of the better iPhone games ever made. While it will only last you around an hour, that hour will be extraordinary, artistic, and beautiful. "Quality over quantity" defines this game well. The art style is amazing, levels/puzzles are clever and well-designed, the plot is mysterious, and it's overall something you just have to experience. In a market over-saturated with Pay to Win games and IAP's, Monument Valley stands out and definitely deserves your attention at its $3.99 asking price. Expand
  6. Jul 25, 2014
    9
    This game is very beautiful and imaginative play. A little short, but consolation is that the player participates in an experience which you never forget. Touching and varied artwork. I will not give you the maximum points only due to the above mentioned brevity. Those who can give it a try. Expand
  7. Aug 5, 2014
    6
    Nice little artistic and hypnotic puzzle game. The atmosphere reminds me of Journey a bit, but it's not as good. I liked the puzzles and the overall experience mostly, but it's extremely short (lasts for about 1 hour), so you don't even start caring about things and suddenly it's over. That wouldn't be a problem if the game was free (which it should imo). I finished it on a friends device, so it's all good, but I can imagine I would be unpleasantly surprised if I paid for it and then finished the game under 1 hour. Freebie is something that would suit this game a lot, so I believe that's the path Monument Valley should take in the future, gaining more fans in the process. 6/10 Expand

See all 16 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 10 Best iPhone/iPad Games for April 2014

    10 Best iPhone/iPad Games for April 2014 Image
    Published: May 1, 2014
    We reveal the 10 best iOS gaming apps released over the past month, including ports of Hearthstone and FTL, plus the unique, experience-driven Monument Valley.