Monument Valley iOS

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Monument Valley Image
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 137 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Monument Valley you will manipulate impossible architecture and guide a silent princess through a beautiful world. Monument Valley is a surreal exploration through fantastical architecture and impossible geometry. Guide the silent princess Ida through mysterious monuments, uncoveringIn Monument Valley you will manipulate impossible architecture and guide a silent princess through a beautiful world. Monument Valley is a surreal exploration through fantastical architecture and impossible geometry. Guide the silent princess Ida through mysterious monuments, uncovering hidden paths, unfolding optical illusions and outsmarting the enigmatic Crow People. Expand
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 37
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 37
  3. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Apr 22, 2014
    100
    Monument Valley is not only an exquisite piece of craftsmanship, but a genuinely delightful adventure with more 'wow' moments than most million-dollar blockbusters.
  2. Apr 15, 2014
    95
    This is one of those milestones in mobile entertainment, unique and beautifully crafted. It feels quite short, but it still is worth experiencing.
  3. Apr 7, 2014
    90
    Monument Valley is a technical and aesthetic accomplishment that rewards players with beauty, originality, and grace at every turn of its ten stages.
  4. Apr 8, 2014
    90
    This is an absolutely gorgeous game that must be experienced by anyone with an iOS device.
  5. Monument Valley is a strong contender for my mobile game of the year.
  6. Pelit (Finland)
    May 13, 2015
    88
    This eautiful puzzle platformer is an atmospheric trip, but a tad too short. Well designed puzzles keep you occupied for couple of hours, but when the credits roll, you'll be crawing for more. [May 2015]
  7. Apr 29, 2014
    75
    Overall my Monument Valley experience was full of charm, perfect for a single marathon playthrough, or short stabs.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Apr 13, 2014
    10
    The puzzle genre has been has been nice to mobile users for years and monument valley is no exeption it looks like a generic move the block toThe puzzle genre has been has been nice to mobile users for years and monument valley is no exeption it looks like a generic move the block to get to the goal but it it has a twist a twist in reality it some times looks like you can't do anything but your probably being tricked by its masterpiece of puzzles and the story is poetic puzzle as well it has a very good price and it literally looks like art Expand
  2. Nov 21, 2014
    10
    This is a great little game, good for adults and children. Teaches perception, 3D thinking and imagination. Clever, subtle, beautiful,This is a great little game, good for adults and children. Teaches perception, 3D thinking and imagination. Clever, subtle, beautiful, addictive, with a calm relaxing music. Pure magic. I want more. Expand
  3. Jul 12, 2015
    10
    One of my favorite iOS games. Monument Valley is a beautiful puzzle game inspired by the artwork of MC Escher. It is fairly easy and a bitOne of my favorite iOS games. Monument Valley is a beautiful puzzle game inspired by the artwork of MC Escher. It is fairly easy and a bit short but it is an experience that shouldn't be missed by anyone with an iPhone or iPad. Expand
  4. Nov 13, 2014
    9
    Monument Valley is a charming and imaginative premium puzzle game that clearly demonstrates that casual iOS games don't have to be mindless orMonument Valley is a charming and imaginative premium puzzle game that clearly demonstrates that casual iOS games don't have to be mindless or derivative. The game is short — in a "leaves you wanting more" sense — and the day after completing it (I finished it off in an evening) I found myself recommending it to everyone with an iPhone. Expand
  5. Jan 22, 2016
    9
    Monument Valley is a mobile puzzle game developed by Us Two Games available on Android and iOS. You play as a princes named Ida that needs toMonument Valley is a mobile puzzle game developed by Us Two Games available on Android and iOS. You play as a princes named Ida that needs to solve these ever evolving 3D labyrinths to find out answers on why she is lost. Graphics look simple yet stunning; a very beautiful game that is pleasing to the eye. The art direction that Us Two Games took was having sharp edged graphics with a perfect blend of colors. The music goes very well with the game that has the player calm, and thinking on the puzzle at hand. Level designs are well crafted and made me turn my mobile device from side to side to get a better perspective on where to make your next move. The difficulty in each level varies and are not completely presented in order of difficulty precedence. Players could have a hard time with some earlier levels and find some later levels quite easy however, this does not count against the game. I found enjoyment in the random level difficulty because it kept me examining the entire screen at every level. Although some might say that the game is too short as if there weren't enough levels; I would have to disagree. The amount of content quality, and art direction fully justifies the price.
    My only gripe was the ambiguity in the story in which the ending left me wondering why the crows were so rude in some levels, squawking every time I was in their way (WTF? The path is big enough go around!). Monument Valley is a great game and all gamers would enjoy this masterpiece of mobile gaming.
    Expand
  6. Mar 12, 2015
    9
    best cellphone game out there
    the puzzle's are fun and interesting while leading them with a great m.c.escher style of art. sureal landscapes
    best cellphone game out there
    the puzzle's are fun and interesting while leading them with a great m.c.escher style of art. sureal landscapes and puzzles are what make this game unique, with a hidden mysterious story that flows perfectly with little dialogue.
    Expand
  7. Aug 5, 2014
    6
    Nice little artistic and hypnotic puzzle game. The atmosphere reminds me of Journey a bit, but it's not as good. I liked the puzzles and theNice little artistic and hypnotic puzzle game. The atmosphere reminds me of Journey a bit, but it's not as good. I liked the puzzles and the overall experience mostly, but it's extremely short (lasts for about 1 hour), so you don't even start caring about things and suddenly it's over. That wouldn't be a problem if the game was free (which it should imo). I finished it on a friends device, so it's all good, but I can imagine I would be unpleasantly surprised if I paid for it and then finished the game under 1 hour. Freebie is something that would suit this game a lot, so I believe that's the path Monument Valley should take in the future, gaining more fans in the process. 6/10 Expand

See all 27 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best iPhone and iPad Games of 2014

    The Best iPhone and iPad Games of 2014 Image
    Published: December 17, 2014
    Inside, we rank the 25 best-reviewed iOS games of the year.
  2. 10 Best iPhone/iPad Games for April 2014

    10 Best iPhone/iPad Games for April 2014 Image
    Published: May 1, 2014
    We reveal the 10 best iOS gaming apps released over the past month, including ports of Hearthstone and FTL, plus the unique, experience-driven Monument Valley.