Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 5 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Our hero, Max, may be just a 2D sprite, but he can leap into the third dimension by jetting between the background and the foreground playfields with his trusty jetpack in this unique dimensionally-woven experience.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Jan 11, 2013
    100
    Mutant Mudds really has it all, and in terms of the slower-paced, exploration-based platforming games it's unmatched by anything else on the App Store.
  2. Dec 5, 2012
    100
    Mutant Mudds is one of the very best platformers on the system.
  3. Jan 10, 2013
    91
    Mutant Mudds is a throwback sculpted charmingly out of equal amounts of old-school platforming and unique plane-shifting. The experience has translated exceptionally from 3DS to iOS thanks to a set of excellent, responsive virtual buttons.
  4. Dec 6, 2012
    90
    The crazy thing is that this game is really an absurd value.
  5. Feb 11, 2013
    80
    For 99c it's an absolute steal. [March 2013, p.27]
  6. Dec 12, 2012
    70
    If you can't get your hands on the 3DS release of Mutant Mudds, the iOS version is serviceable, but the original remains the definitive platform for Mudds.
  7. Jan 2, 2013
    60
    Mutant Mudds is a slower paced platformer that makes good use of shifting perspective, but doesn't really go that extra mile to make good use of it.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 1 out of 2
  1. Feb 5, 2013
    9
    The graphics, sounds and level design are extremely good, almost every review seems to agree on this. That being said, I'm very surprised to see several players complaining about the controls of this game, in my opinion they are great, among the best I've experienced on iOS platformers. I've completed all 20 main levels collecting all the coins and even though I've died a million times I never blamed the controls, only my skills. Collapse
  2. Jan 15, 2013
    1
    I absolutely loved this game on 3ds. Refreshing retro gameplay, awesome 3d effects, and percise platforming controls. The ios version does most of that well, except the most important thing of all: the controls. Yes, the virtual buttons break the game so bad, it warrants this review a 1/10. Absolutely unplayable. What's the point in playing a platforming game, if the controls are an absolute mess? Expand