Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Jun 20, 2012
    90
    It's fantastic to see such a simple yet gripping idea be implemented quite so well. Just expect your iOS device battery to run low regularly. Not through inefficient coding but through the way that New Star Soccer makes two hours feel like five minutes. It's pure, unadulterated joy.
  2. Jul 24, 2012
    91
    Once you complete a few matches you'll be snared. [Sept 2012, p.111]
  3. Apr 3, 2012
    90
    Set out as a fresh sixteen-year-old, ready to take on the world. Practice, negotiate with clubs and get sponsors, girlfriends and a luxurious lifestyle. Probably the best mobile soccer game ever.
  4. Aug 24, 2012
    90
    New Star Soccer in equally horrible on the eyes and incredibly addictive to play. If you have any kind of interest in soccer you really just have to download it.
  5. May 21, 2012
    90
    Few games are able to worm their way into your imagination and subconscious as well as New Star Soccer. You'll suffer the highs and lows of its simply presented matches with the grin of a true addict plastered across your face.
  6. May 17, 2012
    90
    It's a wonderful little game but it will eat your life. Don't say I didn't warn you.
User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 6 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Aug 30, 2013
    9
    You're first impression is: I hope I didn't just give up some cash for a cheap looking game like this. Given 10 more minutes, and you'll never want your money back. New Star Soccer 5 is a great and addicting game, even for those who think the sport is lame. I've never played so intensely on something so basic and simple. The game is always challenging as you progress, and packs in a lot of things to do. As far as the game dynamic, I would rate it a 10/10. The only things keeping the overall review from this score are the rare, small bugs during matches, and the annoyance of getting a low performance rating when the chances are rigged. Maybe that's part of the challenge to overcome, but it can be angering for just an app game. Full Review »