Ninja Fishing Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
2.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 18 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Sharpen your swords and swing your rods - it's time to fish...the NINJA way!Otoro, a fitness challenged ninja, might not be the best fighter, but he sure has mad skills when it comes to fishing!Cast your hook as deep as possible into the ocean, then use the tilt controls to reel back as manySharpen your swords and swing your rods - it's time to fish...the NINJA way!Otoro, a fitness challenged ninja, might not be the best fighter, but he sure has mad skills when it comes to fishing!Cast your hook as deep as possible into the ocean, then use the tilt controls to reel back as many fish as you can. Finally, use the katana-powered touch technology to slice the scaly fish right out of the sky for maximum gold profit (watch out for the Dynamites!).More gold means more ways to upgrade your gear to find rare fish and cool treasure chests.? LOADED WITH FEATURES! ?-------------------------------------* Super addicting FISH & SLASH gameplay!* Master both tilt & touch controls to perfection!* More than 20 crazy fishes to collect & eat.* Find treasure chests with goodies!* Earn gold to buy lots of super upgrades like katanas, fishing guides & more.* Hilarious art & animations.* Gorgeous HD RETINA graphics.* Gamecenter and OpenFeint Leaderboards.* Facebook & Twitter integrations - brag about your high score and catch to your friends!? FREE Updates Coming Soon! ?-------------------------------------* SUSHI MODE - Test your mastery of the katana and follow special recipes to make sushi!* ACHIEVEMENTS, booyah!* NEW FISHES!* COOL UPGRADES & POWER-UPS!* Did someone say more TREASURE?* Who knows what lurks in the deep abyss?We're planning lots of updates, join us in our Ninja-riffic fishing odyssey!Tell us what YOU want for the next updates in our Facebook page: http://goo.gl/cxE7t? Ninja Tips ?-------------------------------------1. Watch out for Underwater Mines - they appear below 300m!2. The fish will bite the hook only at the mouths, you can pass them by their tails.3. Don't slash mindlessly, or else you'll explode the Dynamite!4. The Treasure Chests needs a lot of slashes, so be sure to upgrade your katana.Follow us on Twitter: http://twitter.com/Gamenauts Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Aug 5, 2011
    90
    While I'll admit Fruit Ninja is a little slicker in its presentation, I've enjoyed playing Ninja Fishing far more, and at the end, isn't that really what matters?
  2. Aug 5, 2011
    80
    I've got a folder set aside for these kind of games, the 'just one more go' games that are inexpensive but compelling. Ninja Fishing will be happily residing there for a while to come.
  3. Aug 5, 2011
    80
    Ninja Fishing perfectly captures its quirky premise. I love the idea that a ninja would fish by hooking 30+ fish at once, fling them in the air, and slice them all up before they hit the ground. The game's progression system is a bit on the slow side, but it did keep me intrigued, curious to see what lurked in the game's deeper depths.
  4. Aug 8, 2011
    80
    This is a must buy for fans of fishing games, and slashing games. The price is low, the game is simple, and there's more than enough to keep you playing for a while.
  5. Aug 10, 2011
    75
    Ninjas can make anything fun, and fishing is no exception.
  6. Aug 5, 2011
    70
    Utilizing tried-and-true mechanics and plenty of upgradeable equipment using your in-game earnings, Ninja Fishing is a casual timewaster that's oddly fun and strangely addictive.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 8 out of 11
  1. Aug 12, 2011
    10
    This game is my current *obsession* on the iPhone, really super addictive. To the whiners here (sounds like friends of that flash gameThis game is my current *obsession* on the iPhone, really super addictive. To the whiners here (sounds like friends of that flash game developer), what about Angry Birds, Doodle Jump, Tiny Wings and all the Gameloft games? Aren't they all just clones? In the end this game is a lot of fun, so take a chill pill. Expand
  2. Aug 11, 2011
    10
    This game is so much fun. It is a combination of doodle jump and fruit ninja, and it plays really nice. The diversity of the fish to catch isThis game is so much fun. It is a combination of doodle jump and fruit ninja, and it plays really nice. The diversity of the fish to catch is always fun and with a combination of great gameplay, nice retina display, and this addictive feature, this is a great game for a great price. Expand
  3. Aug 18, 2011
    8
    Heard about this game through the whole controversy in twitter and blogs. Decided to buy this and played Radical Fishing both. For sure NinjaHeard about this game through the whole controversy in twitter and blogs. Decided to buy this and played Radical Fishing both. For sure Ninja Fishing is very similar to Radical Fishing, but it has some differences so it's not like it's identical. The sword slicing in Ninja Fishing makes the killing of the fish a different experience than the gun shooting one in Radical Fishing. So yeah definitely very similar, but I think Ninja Fishing has enough to stand on its own and it's an overall fun little game. Collapse
  4. Mar 26, 2013
    0
    Stolen game, don't play it, don't support it, get the original, Vlambeer's Ridiculous Fishing, instead.Stolen game, don't play it, don't support it, get the original, Vlambeer's Ridiculous Fishing, instead.

    .............................................
    Expand
  5. Aug 16, 2011
    0
    My review: Don't support plagiarism: buy Ridiculous Fishing when it comes out, its going to be way better.

    Not only is it appalling that this
    My review: Don't support plagiarism: buy Ridiculous Fishing when it comes out, its going to be way better.

    Not only is it appalling that this company has gotten away with stealing Vlambeer's original game "Radical Fishing", it is also disgusting that so many people are letting them get away with it. This isn't the 80s, you can't just lift a game like this anymore and its pathetic to try to defend that. I'm looking at you exitbrad, there are copies and there is plagiarism. This game is plagiarism. PS Metacritic, stop removing people's comments here supporting Radical Fishing. This site is supposed to give people's honest scores about games and movies. It turns out most people think this game is horrible for hurting Vlambeer so much, so it deserves a low score. Taking our comments away means you are censoring real opinions to make something seem less scandalous than it is. I don't think people come to your site for ratings that are censored and tailored to your liking. In fact, the word "conspiracy" comes to mind, especially since many game companies take your scores so seriously.

    If you do it again, I'm never going to use this site again and I'm going to tell everyone I know not to use it either.

    Love,

    Pissed-off Girl Gamer

    PSS: Taking my comment down will not stop the fact that your website is censoring opinions and not fulfilling its service. Take this one down will only deepen the hole that you've dug yourself into.
    Expand
  6. Aug 15, 2011
    0
    This game is stolen from the ingenious minds of Vlambeer. The original game is called Radical Fishing. Look it up and try not to supportThis game is stolen from the ingenious minds of Vlambeer. The original game is called Radical Fishing. Look it up and try not to support Gamenauts for ripping it off. Expand
  7. wez
    Aug 15, 2011
    0
    It's a shameless rip off of both Radical Fishing and Fruit ninja. I'll just wait till vlambeer releases it's 10 times cooler ridiculous fishing.

See all 11 User Reviews