Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Feb 6, 2011
    90
    Extraordinarily polished gameplay and high production values guarantee a blast, even if N.O.V.A. lacks the originality necessary to be an all-time classic.
  2. Feb 6, 2011
    90
    Despite its obvious cribbing from Halo (and, in all likelihood, because of it) N.O.V.A. is the best first-person shooter on the iPhone right now. The excellent pacing and great set pieces never allow for a drop in the action, save for a few "calm before the storm" moments. The controls are fantastic.
  3. Feb 6, 2011
    90
    The word is "impressive." Impressive polish and control, impressive storytelling and visuals. The originality factor? Not as impressive. But even with its obvious influences, N.O.V.A. is still a game that stands on its own, and is a game that is well worth your time and money.
  4. Feb 6, 2011
    100
    Fans of FPSes shouldn't let this one slip by. Halo ripoff or not, it packs a lot of great content into a tiny, modestly-priced package.
  5. Feb 6, 2011
    100
    Gameloft truly outdid themselves with this game, and I was totally blown away by NOVA.
  6. Feb 6, 2011
    100
    It's one of the most ambitious iPhone games I've played so far, and despite the questionable originality of the game I've really got to hand it to Gameloft for creating such an amazing iPhone experience.
  7. Feb 6, 2011
    100
    Great graphics, superb controls, and – though it does contain some cheesy voice work, an un-original but great musical score, and a storyline that borrows from a whole host of games of yore – when these elements all come together they offer what can only be described as pure fun!
  8. Feb 6, 2011
    90
    NOVA has oodles of polish, and it's incredibly easy to forget that you're playing a game on your iPod. With a fleshed-out single-player mode and a solid multiplayer option, NOVA has it all. It's beautiful, the controls are great, and even multiplayer doesn't lag.
User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 3
  2. Negative: 1 out of 3
  1. Jan 31, 2012
    5
    Ok, you're a shooter. Ok, you have nice graphics, cutscenes, VO's etc. But... you are oridinary. Normal oridinary shooter on a mobile device. There is absolutely nothing special about it what so ever! Boring story, regular shooting system... I mean... if you played Battlefield and Modern Combat don't download this one. Full Review »
  2. Jul 13, 2013
    3
    I know it's on iOS, but it's a terrible game. There are TONS of better games on any mobile phone. The story is just boring... I don't know what I need to say, it's just a bad game. Full Review »
  3. Nov 11, 2011
    8
    No reviews for "N.O.V.A"? Hmm....