Oceanhorn iOS

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 42 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 42
  2. Negative: 7 out of 42
Stream On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 19, 2013
    10
    I don't care what platform we're talking about, this game is SOLID. The music in each area is well-suited and epic, the graphics are eye candy, and the controls work well. Exploration keeps me coming back. Gameplay is straightforward most of the time, but there isn’t too much handholding. For no IAP and no ads, this game is definitely worth the $9 price tag.
  2. Nov 16, 2013
    10
    It is realy gorgeous game Fun gameplay fun combat beautiful visuals.Optimisation is great on iPhone 4s works wery fluid .On iPad 4 game works great .This game is like zelda for mobile devices 10/10 one of best ios games ever made
  3. Jan 15, 2014
    7
    for a mobile phone game, its amazing. But compared to an actual console game, i feel the scores wouldent hold up as well as it is right now. NOT saying im not enjoying it, im loving it! thats why i gave it a 7! But its a really simple game in my opinion, not very difficult and very beautiful.
    Compared to Zelda, mediocre, but as its own game. Amazing.
  4. Dec 5, 2013
    7
    A really nice looking and sounding Zelda clone, but unfortunately full of cliches, the levels are quite boring and the same, and the combat's not that good. Hope that the sequel will be better. A bit pricey for a mobile game that's a blatant clone...
  5. Nov 28, 2013
    6
    This game looks and sounds the part, but it doesn't take long until you notice that presentation has been getting too much attention, while basic gameplay polish has been overlooked.

    * Combat is lackluster. There is very little strategy involved; you have a sword and shield, and a limited stamina meter for blocking. Enemies, however, can block instantly (with no animation to show it),
    This game looks and sounds the part, but it doesn't take long until you notice that presentation has been getting too much attention, while basic gameplay polish has been overlooked.

    * Combat is lackluster. There is very little strategy involved; you have a sword and shield, and a limited stamina meter for blocking. Enemies, however, can block instantly (with no animation to show it), at random times, and whenever they want (even when attacking). This means combat ends up being a very hit and miss affair where sometimes it feels alright and other times it's just frustrating. You can easily get around it by picking up random objects and throwing them at enemies instead which does way more damage than your shiny metal sword but that isn't any more satisfying.

    * Level design is haphazard and lacks distinguishing features. Every island you visit looks very alike, with the same brown, yellow and faded green color schemes. Dungeons are darker without the green. It's difficult to judge where you can walk at times, because while the game seems to be designed around a grid, it isn't. So what might look inaccessible is often accessible, and the other half of the time the opposite it true.

    * Dungeons are a boring affair consisting of the very standard "box shoving" puzzle variety and a few switches to hit here and there. And respawning enemies, and sometimes a boss at the end. The combat mechanics falter in a different way on boss fights, where often pinpoint precision is required, something neither the touchscreen is capable of nor the control solutions, however well they work when just walking around.

    * Bugs and glitches. These will probably all be fixed in time, and I'm sure people can forgive this, but premium games shouldn't ship with bugs that gets you stuck in dungeons where you have to manually through iTunes file management delete area save files to unstuck yourself. Many of the box shoving puzzles also allow you to completely break your ability to solve them if you shove the box off the wrong edge. This adds to the feeling of sloppy level design.

    Overall the game is alright, and certainly one of the better Zelda-likes on iOS. But because it tries so hard to be like its piece of inspiration, the basic mechanics that are so lacking combat, level design and polish makes the whole affair feel even more lacking.

    If you've never played a Zelda game before, the game will probably be far easier to swallow. But even judged by itself in perfect isolation it is still not a very good game. It's ok.
    Expand
  6. Mar 19, 2015
    8
    I enjoy playing this game much. The reason why I cant give it a 9 is because its too much of a zelda clone. Beside that its a pretty good game , but a little too expensive
  7. Jul 23, 2014
    5
    nintendo needs to process some producers for plagiarism .
    this is a god game but 100% copy and past of zelda series, is funy to see this game on IOS sistem because apple love to process sansumg for your patents .
  8. Nov 19, 2013
    10
    Obviously this game begs to be compared to Zelda therein lies its blessing and its curse. Compared to Zelda, most games (especially mobile games but even many console games) aren't even in the same league. If you take this game for what it is and what it accomplishes, it's the best action-adventure RPG available on iOS. Compare it to Zelda, and it'll score similar to most good games.Obviously this game begs to be compared to Zelda therein lies its blessing and its curse. Compared to Zelda, most games (especially mobile games but even many console games) aren't even in the same league. If you take this game for what it is and what it accomplishes, it's the best action-adventure RPG available on iOS. Compare it to Zelda, and it'll score similar to most good games. Puzzles are simple but fun. Combat is good and the exploration element is great. It also changes the Zelda formula a bit with a leveling system that upgrades your character. The graphics speak for themselves (amazing), and the controls work as well as one can expect on a touch screen. The music is as legendary as its composers. For $8.99 this is a great game! It should take most people at least 15 hours to reach 100% completion. Expand
  9. Dec 26, 2013
    9
    Oceanhorn is an amazing remake of The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time. The music fits in with the background. The game is nostalgic. The graphics are beautiful. This game is worth the $8.99
  10. Jun 2, 2015
    3
    I just started the game and have found a glitch in bomb island... I am stuck in some sort of loop and can't escape. My bombs kept trowing instead of placing in the south where the 3 wood boxes are. Now I can't get out .. :( very disappointing as this game is $9.99 and I haven't even begun to really play.. Otherwise I was enjoying it..
  11. Jul 14, 2016
    8
    Ocean horn is a really nice and beautiful game looking and playing a little bit like zelda series mixed with little big adventure.

    Everything is put in an isometric perspective with lovely candy graphics. The world is divided into island to which you travel by sailing your boat. Our main hero has no name but looks very similar to Link - although without the cap - but with the sword and
    Ocean horn is a really nice and beautiful game looking and playing a little bit like zelda series mixed with little big adventure.

    Everything is put in an isometric perspective with lovely candy graphics. The world is divided into island to which you travel by sailing your boat. Our main hero has no name but looks very similar to Link - although without the cap - but with the sword and the shield the inspiration is unmistakable. Your goal is to kill the monster called Oceanhorn - to do so you will need to travel the world, discover new locations, solve puzzles and gain necessary abilities.

    This game gives a very laid back feeling. The gameplay is very good as well. Fighting, travelling the world, solving puzzles, even fishing are all well done. I really enjoyed my time playing the game and can easily recommend it to any Zelda fan out there.
    Expand
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Mar 31, 2014
    100
    If there is only one game you buy all year than Oceanhorn should be it, especially if you love those classic Nintendo adventure games.
  2. Pelit (Finland)
    Mar 11, 2014
    90
    Oceanhorn proves that there's still room for premium games in the tablet market. Almost AAA grade production values in an iGame are something that you don't see everyday. Sure, it's a Zelda rip-off, but this heist is done with love and respect. [Dec 2013]
  3. Grab It Magazine
    Feb 10, 2014
    90
    A long and enjoyable experience that launches a promising new series while raising the bar for 3D adventure games on iOS. It might be overly nostalgic, but Oceanhorn still provides some of the richest gaming to be found on the App Store. [Issue 1, February 2014]