User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 26 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 26
  2. Negative: 5 out of 26

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 13, 2013
    8
    The original Oregon trail with zombies. You can watch your party die slowly as you play endless or campaign mode. Progress too far in endless and your aiming dots are gone. It is NOT A BUG. Random events, easy controls once you learn them, and more will keep you occupied. It might get repetitive for some, but for me the fun hasn't died it out.
  2. Mar 3, 2013
    6
    For those who were around back in the good old days of monochrome graphics (yeah, there was something worse than 8-bit), you almost certainly know The Oregon Trail. A bunch of dolts pile into a wagon and go trundling off to Oregon, breaking the wagon, hunting for food, and getting dysentery. Ah, the good old days. Well, they're back with a twist: The Organ Trail has opened. The zombie apocalypse has lurched onto the scene. You and four others pile into a classic station wagon in search of a safe zone. You're not hunting food now; you're scavenging and trying to stop from being food for roaming zombies. Survivor colonies are there for trading, work, and upgrading your car. And, yep, watch out for dysentery and typhoid. It's a game with great throwback graphics, a cool premise, good implementation, and overall a lot of fun in a small package. So what am I doing giving it a six? Doesn't it deserve like a nine? Yeah, it does, except there are some long-standing bugs that still haven't been fixed, the worst of which is a disappearing gunsight that renders you effectively unable to defend yourself or scavenge (which means your only recourse is reset). If that could be fixed, this would be a nine with ease. Here's hoping. Expand
  3. May 25, 2013
    10
    I bought this game looking to recoup some of those Apple II memories from my elementary school computer lab days... and boy did it bring me back. The game isn't just a parody, but an excellent resource management game in and of itself. Awesome sense of humor, loads of replay-ability, and just a genuinely FUN game. You can't get more for less than this game. Easily the most fun I've had in a long time. Expand
  4. Jul 11, 2013
    3
    OMG this game is terrible even at 50% off. Just because a game is a simple application does not mean it can get away with giving user unusable junk. I am sick of non-gamers giving good reviews to game they play for 20-30 mins good reviews because the game looks retro or edgy. A game importance is measured in how long it will keep the user entertained. Anyone who can enjoy this game for more than an hour has a great futures as a programmer or any other job that involves constant frustration. For normal gamers this piece of junk is a complete waste of change. NO NOT BUY THIS GAME!!! Expand
  5. Sep 10, 2013
    9
    I beat the game twice with 9 hours of playtime. The game was extremely entertaining. For gamers who played FTL recently and enjoyed it, I feel like this game is a relatively similar experience. There's enough content for at least two playthroughs, I may go through it a couple more times. In addition to the campaign and its very difficulty settings, there's also "Endless Mode" which gets harder and harder. Collapse
  6. Gid
    Oct 8, 2013
    8
    This is a very clever RPG game. One which had me hooked for hours on end. As a play on Oregon Trail, this uses the same mechanics but in a zombie apocalypse setting. This was definitely an open space in the market, as most of the zombie games nowadays just require shooting and shooting until they're all dead, not many people realized the potential in a zombie apocalypse setting. It's about management of your party, how basic resources are restricted, how, when society breaks down, unspeakable actions become necessary routines. The management is played out perfectly well in this game. It gives you responsibilities and lets you decide your priorities. This allows you to come up with different ways to tackle situations. For example, I found myself stockpiling on scraps and waiting until I came across an area where they could be sold for a high price. When an RPG game finds the user working out these kinds of tactics, it means it's a success.

    Though things may get repetitive, and the game can, at some points, outstay it's welcome, this is definite win if you're a fan of the RPG genre.
    Expand
  7. Nov 23, 2014
    8
    Organ trail is a great game to play with friends! Naming your crew after your friends and watching them die from breaking their arm in the car is hilarious! The tasks (mini-games) that you can do on the road become a bit repetitive with only 3 jobs and occasional boss fights, but the humorous style of the game is worth the price.
  8. Jul 9, 2013
    7
    Excellent game to have some fun with. Took about 3 hours of my time to play through. I could not see myself playing through this game more than once, but the three hours I spent playing I had a blast.
  9. Sep 10, 2013
    0
    I beat the game twice with 9 hours of playtime. The game was extremely entertaining. For gamers who played FTL recently and enjoyed it, I feel like this game is a relatively similar experience. There's enough content for at least two playthroughs, I may go through it a couple more times. In addition to the campaign and its very difficulty settings, there's also "Endless Mode" which gets harder and harder. Collapse
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Feb 15, 2013
    50
    Try to play it seriously and only anger and frustration awaits. It’s lovable in attitude for a short while but once you begin repeating cycles it soon runs out of fuel. Much like the car now abandoned on that highway.
  2. Oct 8, 2012
    90
    Manages to nail the sense of dread inherent in all good zombie fiction. [Nov 2012, p.29]
  3. Aug 20, 2012
    70
    Organ Trail is immensely fun to play a couple of times, but after that the fun vanes.