• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 207 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The zombies are coming… back. It’s about time! The sequel to the hit action-strategy adventure with over 30 Game of the Year awards is here. Join Crazy Dave on a crazy adventure where you’ll meet, greet and defeat legions of zombies from the dawn of time to the end of days. Amass an army ofThe zombies are coming… back. It’s about time! The sequel to the hit action-strategy adventure with over 30 Game of the Year awards is here. Join Crazy Dave on a crazy adventure where you’ll meet, greet and defeat legions of zombies from the dawn of time to the end of days. Amass an army of powerful new plants, super charge them with Plant Food and power up your defenses with amazing new ways to protect your brain. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Aug 15, 2013
    100
    Plants vs. Zombies 2 is everything you could have wanted, or expected, from the sequel to one of the greatest casual games of all time. It’s safe to say this one was well worth the wait, and then so much more.
  2. Aug 15, 2013
    93
    Plants vs. Zombies 2 gives serious strategy players and casual mobile gamers a lot to love.
  3. Aug 15, 2013
    90
    The comedic army of undead make placing your aggressive plants in every level a party. The tried and tested gameplay of defending your base continues to be interesting thanks to the right amount of variation at the right time. Plants vs. Zombies 2: It’s About Time was definitely worth the wait.
  4. Aug 18, 2013
    88
    Compared to the original one, there's more content and fun, even though being free to play is something not everyone will like. However, it lives up to the expectation, and does deserve a try.
  5. Aug 19, 2013
    85
    Plants vs. Zombies 2: It's About Time keeps the fresh gameplay and the sense of humor from the first game and offers new funny situations to its tower defense formula; and all that just for free.
  6. Aug 23, 2013
    80
    The core Plants vs Zombies gameplay is still as strong as ever, so there is still tons of fun to be found in the sequel. But after the first game's carefully crafted difficulty curve, Plants vs Zombies 2's grinding can make it feel like a more inconsistent experience.
  7. Aug 21, 2013
    60
    There's a creeping sense that [the game] cares less about the player, and more the clinking in their coffers. [Issue#138, p.111]

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 63
  2. Negative: 32 out of 63
  1. Jul 23, 2013
    10
    The only reason the user reviews are so low is because PvZ 2 was delayed in the USA so that they would not have any server issues like SimThe only reason the user reviews are so low is because PvZ 2 was delayed in the USA so that they would not have any server issues like Sim City had. I am sure that when it comes out in just a few days it will be fantastic. If you are in Australia or New Zealand, you are enjoying it right now. Love the original game! Collapse
  2. Oct 19, 2013
    9
    A fun game for kids, it has a potential to be a blockbuster. There are some glitches but overall it is a great tile. Good job devs i 9 starsA fun game for kids, it has a potential to be a blockbuster. There are some glitches but overall it is a great tile. Good job devs i 9 stars goes to you. Expand
  3. Jul 7, 2014
    7
    I played the first three worlds and I loved it, so much. Addictive, at that time. But, at the moment, as new worlds come out, I am starting toI played the first three worlds and I loved it, so much. Addictive, at that time. But, at the moment, as new worlds come out, I am starting to lose interest in the game, maybe because there are not really something changed and I have to wait a lot to play a new world... Expand
  4. May 12, 2015
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I do not have to say anything more. But i need to write one hundred and fifty characters. i think my score can describe it............................ Expand
  5. Aug 16, 2013
    3
    The game plays like it has no soul. It teaches you to learn how to use power-ups several boards in then a little after that slaps you with theThe game plays like it has no soul. It teaches you to learn how to use power-ups several boards in then a little after that slaps you with the Store where it shows you all the items you can buy. Why even present the game as f2p if you're going to shove the store at users so early? Loved the first game and felt compelled to finish it several times. It remains a no-brainer pick-up-and-play game even now. This sequel feels stiff, flat and completely unlike the first one... which in this case isn't a good thing. After waiting for the release for so long in North America I can't help but be disappointed. It's already uninstalled from my iPad. Not sure what I was hoping or expecting, if anything, but it sure wasn't this. Expand
  6. Gid
    Oct 7, 2013
    2
    I'll cut to the chase. It heavily relies on In-App Purchases, often seeming to shove it in your face. It doesn't really experiment withI'll cut to the chase. It heavily relies on In-App Purchases, often seeming to shove it in your face. It doesn't really experiment with different plants to encourage different strategies and game-play styles, but rather gives more of the same, as if they thought that just giving a best-selling game a makeover was enough to satisfy customers. Even the plants are pretty much the same, just with different looks. There are a short amounts of levels, but the game tries to drag it out with replaying old missions with extra special requirements, which I would have been fine with if they weren't boring, repetitive, and just generally not challenging. You'll tire of this very quickly.

    Somehow, it managed to lose the spark that won consumers over the first time. This probably because EA saw this franchise as a money-grabbing opportunity, rather than a platform as to which more innovative ideas could develop. It almost seems desperate as to how it tries to revive the magic of the first game with different looks, but when you play this, the game altogether seems a bit empty. It's as if the game is just a skin that merely looks like what it used to be. And when you take a look at its predecessor which was jam-packed with content and many mini-games which challenges players to come up with different strategies and tactics, often to great difficulty (Bobsled Bonanza, anyone?), this pales in comparison and it definitely not worth your time.
    Expand
  7. Oct 24, 2013
    0
    Deja vu. Plants vs Zombies was an outstanding game but the EA buy-out of Popcap guaranteed the sequel was going to blow. Sure enough, whatDeja vu. Plants vs Zombies was an outstanding game but the EA buy-out of Popcap guaranteed the sequel was going to blow. Sure enough, what we're given is a painfully mediocre sequel buried in-app purchases and DRM. A supposedly "free" game which costs over $20 just to access all the plants. Expand

See all 63 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 10 Best iPhone/iPad Games for July 2013

    10 Best iPhone/iPad Games for July 2013 Image
    Published: July 31, 2013
    Looking for a few new time-wasters, or something more involved? Our list of the best new iOS games has something for every type of gamer.