Plants vs Zombies 2: It's About Time iOS

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Plants vs Zombies 2: It's About Time Image
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 228 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The zombies are coming… back. It’s about time! The sequel to the hit action-strategy adventure with over 30 Game of the Year awards is here. Join Crazy Dave on a crazy adventure where you’ll meet, greet and defeat legions of zombies from the dawn of time to the end of days. Amass an army ofThe zombies are coming… back. It’s about time! The sequel to the hit action-strategy adventure with over 30 Game of the Year awards is here. Join Crazy Dave on a crazy adventure where you’ll meet, greet and defeat legions of zombies from the dawn of time to the end of days. Amass an army of powerful new plants, super charge them with Plant Food and power up your defenses with amazing new ways to protect your brain. Expand
Stream On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Aug 15, 2013
    100
    Plants vs. Zombies 2 is everything you could have wanted, or expected, from the sequel to one of the greatest casual games of all time. It’s safe to say this one was well worth the wait, and then so much more.
  2. Aug 15, 2013
    93
    Plants vs. Zombies 2 gives serious strategy players and casual mobile gamers a lot to love.
  3. Aug 15, 2013
    90
    The comedic army of undead make placing your aggressive plants in every level a party. The tried and tested gameplay of defending your base continues to be interesting thanks to the right amount of variation at the right time. Plants vs. Zombies 2: It’s About Time was definitely worth the wait.
  4. Aug 18, 2013
    88
    Compared to the original one, there's more content and fun, even though being free to play is something not everyone will like. However, it lives up to the expectation, and does deserve a try.
  5. Aug 19, 2013
    85
    Plants vs. Zombies 2: It's About Time keeps the fresh gameplay and the sense of humor from the first game and offers new funny situations to its tower defense formula; and all that just for free.
  6. Aug 23, 2013
    80
    The core Plants vs Zombies gameplay is still as strong as ever, so there is still tons of fun to be found in the sequel. But after the first game's carefully crafted difficulty curve, Plants vs Zombies 2's grinding can make it feel like a more inconsistent experience.
  7. Aug 21, 2013
    60
    There's a creeping sense that [the game] cares less about the player, and more the clinking in their coffers. [Issue#138, p.111]

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 74
  2. Negative: 36 out of 74
  1. Jul 23, 2013
    10
    The only reason the user reviews are so low is because PvZ 2 was delayed in the USA so that they would not have any server issues like SimThe only reason the user reviews are so low is because PvZ 2 was delayed in the USA so that they would not have any server issues like Sim City had. I am sure that when it comes out in just a few days it will be fantastic. If you are in Australia or New Zealand, you are enjoying it right now. Love the original game! Expand
  2. Jan 6, 2016
    9
    Ok i can see the hate with the other users, but in my opinion, its a great sequel, yea some of the plants that where in the original are onesOk i can see the hate with the other users, but in my opinion, its a great sequel, yea some of the plants that where in the original are ones you have to buy, but the game can be played without them, and the difficulty spike makes it so you have to THINK about what plants to bring, the minigames are repettitive, but so is the main game, and the minigames are a fun distraction from the main game, all and all this is a good game...but has the flaws of the omega currency, in this case gems, whoch ruins the fun sort of...but if this game had a life system then i would give it a lower score, but thankfuly it doesnt Expand
  3. Dec 6, 2015
    7
    After all that hype, we finally got PVS 2. And it's, well-it's not BAD or anything but it's a bit disappointing. It takes FOREVER to load andAfter all that hype, we finally got PVS 2. And it's, well-it's not BAD or anything but it's a bit disappointing. It takes FOREVER to load and apart from the time-travel twist, it's a bit too similar to the First one. It just feels a bit like a cash grab. Still, it's not an awful game. It is fun to play. Don't expect the brilliance of the first one but don't expect it to be terrible either. Expand
  4. Oct 2, 2013
    5
    Over the years, I managed to beat the original PvZ on my PC, then Mac, then iPad. So, clearly I liked the game. It was a fun and addictiveOver the years, I managed to beat the original PvZ on my PC, then Mac, then iPad. So, clearly I liked the game. It was a fun and addictive game.

    The problem with PvZ 2 is it's just not that fun. The grinding nature of the gameplay takes me back to the mid-90s RPGs where you would just fight battle after battle to advance (bear with me on this analogy). It was pretty fun for me, I was 7 and I knew that's what I was getting into with the RPGs and at least it served a purpose to level up my guys and give me new attacks. The grinding in PvZ 2 is annoying because it serves no purpose other than to frustrate you and make you spend money to advance.

    Not letting you advance because you don't have enough stars really does hamper the fun. Games are supposed to be fun! Not frustrating exercises in repetition as this game is.

    And for those people that say they have had a blast grinding through level after level...I gotta say..it seems to me that you haven't played a lot of really fun games before. And if you're a casual gamer of the post-Wii generation...I'm sorry to say but you really don't know how to enjoy a game properly because chances are you've just been conditioned to play freemium games and think "all games are like this, hence it's fun". They're not all like that and freemium games are rarely fun and they're often little more than tedious cash grabs.
    Expand
  5. Nov 2, 2015
    3
    Really bad f2p game, they made the game harder just to try to sell plants in-game , it's not even fun because they try to delay the cool andReally bad f2p game, they made the game harder just to try to sell plants in-game , it's not even fun because they try to delay the cool and fun plants and combos just to make you buy then with real money. Expand
  6. Apr 21, 2014
    2
    And, once again, someone jumps on the freemium bandwagon. Apparently, the developers seem to think that people like to pay to play less, whichAnd, once again, someone jumps on the freemium bandwagon. Apparently, the developers seem to think that people like to pay to play less, which seems to be working out for them. All the same; I do not agree, and find it an insult to my intelligence to provide a 'cheat' option. Expand
  7. Oct 14, 2016
    0
    Total inhuman horsesh*t, do not play, it's only a proof that EA DESTROYS companies made by humans like Emrakul coming to Innistrad.Total inhuman horsesh*t, do not play, it's only a proof that EA DESTROYS companies made by humans like Emrakul coming to Innistrad.

    Well...where do i start with....

    This game seems pretty promising at first since you in fact do not need premium plants to win most of the levels. UNTIL you get to the Power-ups which you are almost required to win, Zombies with NO counters, Impossible levels (Do not listen to the strategies that rfm or other players use on youtube, they DO NOT work, plain and simple), Overly easy bosses compared to the rest of the crazy levels, uninspiring music that is actually good at first but quickly becomes boring soon (Only one i liked is the modern day theme and the Boss theme) and not to say Plant food impossible to access in most cases.

    Here is an example of impossible levels:
    *A level which you are required to protect 5 Puff Shrooms which in this game VANISH after 30 seconds so you are required to use plant food to recharge them. If you don't use them, you will die. I tried MULTIPLE TIMES and my puff shroom are GAURANTEED to vanish when i was stalling the last Knight and i will have to use a Powerup to take care of it.
    *Big wave beach level 16 - NO PLANTS TO FIGHT THE INSANE HORDES OF ZOMBIES, Well organized and adjusted attack that there is no way to defend against properly, Last Gargantuar is gauranteed to take you out unless you are lucky. not to say that there is a level before it that technically requires you to have only a column of defenses while producing 5000 sun which is **** (I got past that level without power ups, fortunately)

    Here is a list of impossible zombies:
    *A Wizard that turns your plants into sheep and there is no way to remove that sheep and it clogs that space requiring you to destroy that wizard. Plus it is SO DAMN SLOW that there is no way to hit it with area of effect plants which are mostly short ranged while there are so many zombies in those levels that it will drive you to insanity. There's a zombie that is like this too in another world which instead of turning your plants into sheep, wraps them with an octopus and it turns that plant into a projectile blocking obstacle that takes ages to kill. No counters given throughout the game, virtually impossible to get around, especially when they are close.
    * A zombie fisherman that drags your plants forward in chilling speeds and can immolate your WHOLE lawn in seconds if there are 1 per lane. Plus with the octopus zombies above AND the gargantuars, the whole thing is nigh on impossible; Not joking. Its only weakness is a plant food infi-nut barrier that protects your plants from the hook but plant food does not come often and sooner or later you are DEAD. There's a plant that rushes to attack it if its hooked as well, but it does not do enough damage to kill that Zombie.

    I quit during Big Wave Beach because it was too cruddy sh*t, so i am not sure about the rest, but i heard some are pretty awful and uninspired too. There was even one of the bosses which is a stage with Zomboss on it that even rfm had trouble with.

    This is anti-human and is simply one of the works that EA does, purchase human companies and DESTROY them....There aren't many companies as generous as popcap and anti-human conquistadors like this are ruining everything.
    Expand

See all 74 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 10 Best iPhone/iPad Games for July 2013

    10 Best iPhone/iPad Games for July 2013 Image
    Published: July 31, 2013
    Looking for a few new time-wasters, or something more involved? Our list of the best new iOS games has something for every type of gamer.