• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
  • Also On: PC
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 173 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The zombies are coming… back. It’s about time! The sequel to the hit action-strategy adventure with over 30 Game of the Year awards is here. Join Crazy Dave on a crazy adventure where you’ll meet, greet and defeat legions of zombies from the dawn of time to the end of days. Amass an army of powerful new plants, super charge them with Plant Food and power up your defenses with amazing new ways to protect your brain. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Aug 15, 2013
    100
    Plants vs. Zombies 2 is everything you could have wanted, or expected, from the sequel to one of the greatest casual games of all time. It’s safe to say this one was well worth the wait, and then so much more.
  2. Aug 15, 2013
    93
    Plants vs. Zombies 2 gives serious strategy players and casual mobile gamers a lot to love.
  3. Aug 15, 2013
    90
    The comedic army of undead make placing your aggressive plants in every level a party. The tried and tested gameplay of defending your base continues to be interesting thanks to the right amount of variation at the right time. Plants vs. Zombies 2: It’s About Time was definitely worth the wait.
  4. Aug 18, 2013
    88
    Compared to the original one, there's more content and fun, even though being free to play is something not everyone will like. However, it lives up to the expectation, and does deserve a try.
  5. Aug 19, 2013
    85
    Plants vs. Zombies 2: It's About Time keeps the fresh gameplay and the sense of humor from the first game and offers new funny situations to its tower defense formula; and all that just for free.
  6. Aug 23, 2013
    80
    The core Plants vs Zombies gameplay is still as strong as ever, so there is still tons of fun to be found in the sequel. But after the first game's carefully crafted difficulty curve, Plants vs Zombies 2's grinding can make it feel like a more inconsistent experience.
  7. Aug 21, 2013
    60
    There's a creeping sense that [the game] cares less about the player, and more the clinking in their coffers. [Issue#138, p.111]

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 52
  2. Negative: 28 out of 52
  1. Jul 23, 2013
    10
    The only reason the user reviews are so low is because PvZ 2 was delayed in the USA so that they would not have any server issues like Sim City had. I am sure that when it comes out in just a few days it will be fantastic. If you are in Australia or New Zealand, you are enjoying it right now. Love the original game! Expand
  2. Sep 5, 2013
    9
    I don't get why people hate this game. Plants Vs. Zombies 2: It's About Time is a solid iOS title and it will be coming to the Android and PC in the near future. The main reasons why this game is completely criticized is the IAP (In-App-Purchases) and the international delay (with the exception of New Zealand, Australia, and China), which are both completely stupid reason to hate on a game and give it low scores. Delays happen people and sometimes for the greater good of the game. As for the IAP, I've gotten all stars on Ancient Egypt and Pirate Seas without purchasing any coin packs and without constantly using the Premium Plants that I bought (I have the US version incase you were curious). Yet people still say that it is "Impossible to obtain stars". This just baffles me to think that people will let something as stupid as IAP ruin a game. It might be because our generation is impatience but I enjoyed replaying levels to obtain stars. In my opinion it worked well for Plants Vs. Zombies and for its the replay value. Anyway enough about "other people's opinion" let's talk about mine a little more. Plants Vs. Zombies 2 is just as good as the original in its gameplay despite missing features like the Zen Garden and the Mini-games which will probably be added in future updates. There are a couple of new plants that stand out including the Bonk Choy, the Bloomerang, the Chili Bean, Pea Pod, the Lightning Reed, and the Snapdragon. There are also new gameplay mechanics like Plant Food and Power Ups. Plant Food is fun and a perfect idea for a Plants Vs. Zombies sequel. Plant Food allows plants to use Overpowered Attacks on Zombies, it can be obtain by buying it with the coins you earn in-game or dropped by green-glowing zombies (which are in every level presiding the introduction of Plant Food). Power-Ups are not my favorite of the bunch, you can buy power-ups with coins earned in game. These Power-ups allow you to use super-overpowered touch attacks on Zombies which doesn't work as well as Plant Food does because it takes away the element of the Tower-Defense in the game. IAP are completely optional but some like the Snow Pea, Jalapeno, and Torchwood are hard to resist. I've bought so far the Snow Pea, The Jalapeno, The Torchwood, and the Power Lily and that is all I've bought so far (I plant on getting all the Premium Plants just to have them and use them). I will never buy any coin packs because it is not worth it. I don't necessarily like the whole free-to-play thing slapped on to Plants Vs. Zombies 2 but I will not let something optional and that stupid ruin a wonderful gaming franchise for me. If anything I thing they do well with the free-to-play thing. Trust me I've played worst free-to-play games than this. Expand
  3. Mar 23, 2014
    7
    This game is good but not excellent and it's rather sad. The point is that the first game offered you good and multifarious campaign as well as different additional puzzles that were really fun.

    PvZ 2 seems to be big and interesting game but after playing Egypt level and switching to another world you find the game quite repetitive. Tasks (quests) are similar to each other and also there are so many additional puzzles that after some time you can come to conclusion that first game was better. It doesn't mean that PvZ 2 is bad but you can easily be bored with it after finishing the first half of the second world.
    Expand
  4. Mar 13, 2014
    4
    The good: - New plants introduced in this game are solid and offer new things. - Some of the new maps and puzzle levels are fun. The bad:

    - Lacks content (only has campaign mode which is still fairly short).
    - Pay to win model, riddled with desperate attempts to get you to buy things.
    - Levels get very repetitive once you're about half way through each zone.
    - It's made by EA, awarded worst company 2 years running, and for good reason.

    Overall, meh. If you liked the first PvZ or tower defence games, get this, but don't be tempted into buying the in app offers.
    Expand
  5. Oct 12, 2013
    3
    This games ok but they had to ruin it with one thing that makes this game not so fun to play. FREEMIUM You have to buy different plants to make it through hard levels. Now I know most of you can beat this without paying a dime but what about the rest? EA why did you have to ruin another franchise why?? I hope in the next installment (if there is another one) They just make it where you buy the game and that's it you play. Expand
  6. Apr 21, 2014
    2
    And, once again, someone jumps on the freemium bandwagon. Apparently, the developers seem to think that people like to pay to play less, which seems to be working out for them. All the same; I do not agree, and find it an insult to my intelligence to provide a 'cheat' option. Expand
  7. Oct 10, 2013
    0
    The game crashes every time you start it. Re-install doesn't fix it. Releasing a game that doesn't even work is really poor form EA. I did manage to get in once and play for about 2 minutes before it crashed again. Expand

See all 52 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 10 Best iPhone/iPad Games for July 2013

    10 Best iPhone/iPad Games for July 2013 Image
    Published: July 31, 2013
    Looking for a few new time-wasters, or something more involved? Our list of the best new iOS games has something for every type of gamer.