Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 17
  2. Negative: 1 out of 17
  1. Aug 16, 2012
    100
    Puzzle Craft is a joy to play. You'll be farming, mining, and crafting for hours at a time.
  2. Sep 10, 2012
    90
    The game's a well-oiled, spit-polished masterpiece of casual gaming that needs to be on your iOS device.
  3. Aug 18, 2012
    90
    Puzzle Craft is the most addictive puzzle mash-up to hit the App Store this year. Spending collected puzzle blocks to build a town is smart. But allowing that bustling town to power-up the puzzle minigame is brilliant.
  4. Aug 16, 2012
    90
    Puzzle Craft is a wonderful example of how to attract the casual, the hardcore, the cynical, and even the most bitter cash-for-progress gamers of the world together. I am addicted to an empire-building game, and if you've read even a fraction of my previous polemic against the genre, you will know by now that this is the highest accolade I could ever bestow on the game.
  5. Sep 14, 2012
    85
    Puzzle Craft is a perfect concentration of the components of the best puzzle and social games.
  6. Sep 3, 2012
    84
    Puzzle Craft compensates with quality what it lacks in originality; borrowing elements from various genres and games, AT Games managed to create an addictive and compelling puzzle game than fans of the genre should not miss.
  7. Oct 10, 2012
    80
    If puzzle and sim games spin your wheels, you'll get plenty of mileage out of this one.
  8. Aug 25, 2012
    80
    I'm not sure I needed a game in my life with the same hooks used by both Dungeon Raid and Triple Town-each of those alone ate hours and hours of my life. Now that I have it, though, there's no giving Puzzle Craft up.
  9. Aug 21, 2012
    80
    Combining two popular genres, with progress made in each affecting your opportunities in the other, has made for an interesting and engaging mobile experience.
  10. Aug 21, 2012
    80
    Puzzle Craft attempts a different approach to the popular city-building genre, replacing the typical microtransaction model with a satisfying puzzle game.
  11. Aug 20, 2012
    80
    Puzzle Craft is a fine blend of addictive casual gameplay elements, giving rise to a puzzler that you'll gladly keep coming back to without the usual guilt-factor associated with repetitive gathering.
  12. Aug 16, 2012
    80
    At first, the game starts off slow, as you would expect from any simulation game. But as you get the ball rolling, it's quite hard to put this down. I love the fact that it combines two of the most addictive types of games into one, so it's just that much more enjoyable.
  13. Aug 16, 2012
    80
    It's particularly refreshing that in-app purchases are far from vital to progress. A rarity in such a money focused genre.
  14. Nov 11, 2012
    75
    Puzzle Craft acts like it combines two genres, a puzzle game and a city builder, but in reality only the puzzle portion remains standing. The three-in-a-row section is well executed and has a few fresh, new elements, but never really reaches challenging heights.
  15. Aug 21, 2012
    70
    An entertaining experiment, Puzzle Craft won't convert anyone to its slow-paced cause, but it'll certainly keep fans entertained.
  16. Aug 20, 2012
    70
    The presentation is cute, and highly functional. I must mention that the game is universal, but because of the freemium nature with waiting periods and being played in portrait mode I prefer it on the iPhone. Being able to quickly tax my empire when standing in line is great.
  17. Sep 26, 2012
    40
    Dungeon Raid was based on building up your RPG character and earning high scores. But with its crass Farmville skin, Puzzle Craft is ultimately a variation on one of those godawful free-to-play play-now-m'lord microtranscation boondoogles. It's like a time waster wrapped around a time waster. Time wasters all the way down.
User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 17 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 1 out of 4
  1. Aug 22, 2012
    10
    I've downloaded this game 4 days ago. It still have some bugs, but hey...! I've never expected so deep experience in game for a $1. EVERYI've downloaded this game 4 days ago. It still have some bugs, but hey...! I've never expected so deep experience in game for a $1. EVERY building in the game changes gameplay, tons of tools you can use on the puzzles while collecting resources, workers which change your strategy and much more. So far I'm on 17 lvl and still game is keeping my interest. Puzzles + sim work very well as a combination. Is so addictive I'm playing all the time at home and at work I'm collecting money from taxes. Beautiful execution is also on plus, sound is nice. For me - it's a GAME OF THE YEAR on iOS. It's not perfect - they have to polish it more but anyway: 10/10 if it comes for me. My Nataville waiting for developer love and future updates. There is really good article on IGN about it. Developers give us more!! Take my money! ;) Full Review »
  2. Sep 18, 2014
    8
    This was a really great take on what would normally be a mindless genre. It felt like I could progress in interesting ways, choosingThis was a really great take on what would normally be a mindless genre. It felt like I could progress in interesting ways, choosing specializations almost. And while the game was pretty much the same thing, the puzzle board played differently depending on whether or not I'd upgraded a given tech tree. Full Review »
  3. Oct 7, 2012
    9
    Puzzle Craft is a great relaxation game with an enjoyable builder mechanic. It's really a match-three game at its heart, but with somePuzzle Craft is a great relaxation game with an enjoyable builder mechanic. It's really a match-three game at its heart, but with some significant improvements and added features. You build a village up from nothing to a robust town by gathering resources, building structures, and hiring workers. Each building and person makes resource gathering easier and more efficient. So the game will start relatively slowly, but will accelerate from there. Puzzle Craft isn't meant to be a mind-warping experience; it's a pleasant way to spend some time and and enjoyable way to have fun that doesn't require a lot of time investment or too much thought. That may sound bad, but never underestimate the value of some minimal-mindfulness entertainment. Graphics are good, interface is easy, accessible, and well-designed, and the village-builder mechanic is a lot of fun. I've never played Dungeon Raid but don't much care; this is a relaxing game that is worthy of praise on its own merits. As an added bonus, it's a game that doesn't go ballistic if you set it aside for a few minutes, a few hours, or days on end; it'll wait, even if you were in the middle of resource gathering. Flat out, Puzzle Craft is a great way to relax, burn some time, and get a nice little town out of it. The ONLY reason I couldn't give it a 10 is its relative lack of replayability; once you've played through it once, you've seen it all. Sure, doing it again is skill enjoyable, but it's nothing you haven't seen before. Even so, I've played through it three times. Great way to unwind after the day. I'm looking forward to the next version. Full Review »