Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Nov 20, 2012
    80
    It's a very simple idea, but a good one. QatQi offers a different type of word game challenge, and flourishes for it. All the better for being free to download, and exceptionally easy to dive into for short or long sessions.
  2. Dec 4, 2012
    80
    Yes, QatQi is a roguelike with words, and by the time it dawns, this ferociously smart game will have you hooked.
  3. Nov 20, 2012
    90
    So beguiling, so entrancing that the intrusion of something as mundane as money, blundering in to break the glamour, seems almost perverse -- But it does. A shame that the result is pockmarks on the face of perfection.
  4. Feb 11, 2013
    90
    Extremely well executed and addictive. [March 2013, p.27]
  5. Dec 5, 2012
    70
    QatQi is a fun and immensely stylish word puzzler, though its solo Scrabble gameplay isn't quite as innovative or compelling as its presentation would suggest.
  6. Nov 27, 2012
    60
    It can be prohibitively tedious on the harder levels, or when you want to optimize your score. Furthermore, if you play too much, you can exhaust your stock of undos. Oh, look, QatQi will sell you more thanks to the miracle of Apple's in-app purchasing feature. Et tu, QatQi?
  7. Nov 28, 2012
    90
    Depth, strategy, and looks, all wrapped around tried-and-testing word-building mechanics-that's QatQi for you.
  8. Nov 18, 2012
    80
    QatQi is a great relaxing word game that has taken the next step in the evolution of the genre.
User Score
tbd

No user score yet- Awaiting 1 more rating

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Dec 1, 2012
    10
    This game is so much fun! It's been a very long time since I got hooked on a word game, but this one is oddly beautiful and the early-in-the-week puzzles are very easy. I like to do them and listen to the game's music while I'm falling asleep at night - and I NEVER keep the sound on with games, but the music here is new-agey and relaxing. Also, I never thought an iPhone game (of all things) could break my addiction to Zynga computer games, but I haven't played Castleville since Qatqi came out, and I don't miss it at all! Full Review »
  2. Dec 1, 2012
    10
    I love this game and I hate this game! It's so beautiful and soothing and challenging that I lose all track of time when I'm playing. I've spent hours upon hours upon hours getting the little squares on my Main Menu dial to all be the same color. -- and then when they Are all the same color, it's time to move on to the next 'day' puzzles. Highly recommended and hope to someday be able to compete directly against my friends. ---Writer Millie Camille, find my dirty books on the Kindle store! Full Review »