• Publisher: Ubisoft
  • Release Date: Sep 20, 2012
  • Also On: PC
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 32
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 32
  3. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Sep 25, 2012
    100
    Platformer fans, especially those fond of Rayman Origins or classic Sonic games, will definitely want to pick up Rayman Jungle Run.
  2. Sep 21, 2012
    100
    It is with no hesitation that I say Rayman Jungle Run is a must-own title for every iOS user. Its bite-sized structure fits perfectly on iOS, and Ubisoft has done a fantastic job crafting a complex experience that works perfectly with a touch screen interface.
  3. Sep 19, 2012
    100
    Ubisoft delivers a top-of-the-line experience by working with the touchscreen rather than simply porting to it.
  4. Nov 13, 2012
    90
    At $3, Rayman Jungle Run hits a nice middle ground in terms of price, but it's the quality of its content that makes this an invaluable gem.
  5. Oct 28, 2012
    90
    Rayman Jungle Run serves the fans or the ones with iPads, iPhones, Androids passing by. Well worked-out control system along with groovy audiovisuals render homage to the game and hardware. If it's possible, do not hesitate. Whoopee!
  6. Oct 10, 2012
    90
    A rhythmic platformer with great music and visuals. It's easy to pick up and play, but clearing the harder levels is a real challenge. Addictive.
  7. Oct 1, 2012
    90
    A must have for any iOS gamer, I just hope that Ubisoft add more content in the near future.
  8. Sep 30, 2012
    90
    Rayman is back, more energetic and refreshing than ever, teaching everyone how platforming should have been applied from the start on smartphones. If you enjoyed Rayman Origins and liked the new look of the franchise, then you should definitely not miss this one.
  9. Sep 27, 2012
    90
    Rayman Jungle Run is a beautiful game to watch, easy to be controlled by touch and more complex and long-lived than you might think at first sight.
  10. Sep 24, 2012
    90
    This is indeed a great game package. The presentation displays a lot of love, appreciation of detail and artistic talent. The music is excellently produced and has just as much whimsical personality as the visuals, and you can even unlock a range of wallpapers for your phone as you progress. What more do you want?
  11. Sep 24, 2012
    90
    It's a game with bite-sized levels and sensible controls yet all the action of its console brethren. This is what companion software ought to be.
  12. Sep 21, 2012
    90
    Rayman Jungle Run is a must have game, both for the simple but perfectly tuned gameplay and for the beautiful visuals.
  13. Sep 20, 2012
    90
    Probably one of the best platformers on iOS, Rayman Jungle Run is absolutely brilliant, blessed by incredible level design, a super simple one-finger-only gameplay, yet one that is both deep and demanding. Fantastic work.
  14. Sep 20, 2012
    90
    Simply, the best auto-runner on App-Store so far.
  15. Sep 19, 2012
    90
    For people who've never experienced Rayman or those who have strayed from the series, this is an excellent (re)introduction. For those who've played Origins, this may feel a bit mechanically and aesthetically familiar.
  16. Sep 19, 2012
    90
    Rayman Jungle Run is a breath of a fresh air.
  17. Sep 19, 2012
    90
    You'll enjoy every minute of Rayman Jungle Run, thanks to its tricky gameplay and high production values. It does a fine job complimenting the other games in the series, and should find a welcome home among the mobile and tablet crowd.
  18. Sep 18, 2012
    90
    Rayman Jungle Run is an outstanding example of bringing a franchise to mobile. This fast, tense, beautiful game is everything you loved about Rayman Origins, now perfectly suited to touch.
  19. Nov 25, 2012
    88
    The controls disappoint, but this is a great excuse to revisit an old favourite. [Christmas 2012, p.98]
  20. Sep 21, 2012
    88
    Many developers have attempted to reinvent the modern and classic platforming genre on buttonless touch screen devices to varying successes and failures, but Rayman Jungle Run's ingenious controls work perfectly.
  21. Sep 25, 2012
    87
    Rayman Jungle Run is a fantastic looking game, and a nice one to play too. The brevity of the 40 levels can easily hide the good but repetitive and slightly shallow gameplay.
  22. Sep 21, 2012
    87
    I hate you. More than anything else. I don't want to play anymore. Okay. One more time. Really. I promise. Okay, now only one more time. Damned, I can do better than that. This is really the last time. Oh man, that was close. Just one more time, I can do it. I hate you. I love you. One more time. Damn, you look good.
  23. Oct 13, 2012
    85
    Rayman Jungle Run isn't a very challenging game, but before you know it you're addicted to our running limbless friend. The levels are short but addictive and the graphics are straight out of Rayman Origins, which make it look fantastic on a tablet.
  24. Sep 22, 2012
    85
    An excellent, fun and original game. We may end up missing some more levels, but hopefully Ubisoft will be adding them in the future. Rayman Jungle Run is a game we fully recommend for both fans and newcomers to the Rayman franchise.
  25. Nov 16, 2012
    80
    It's a little fiddly, but Jungle Run is a beautiful way to while away a few hours. [Dec 2012, p.29]
  26. Sep 26, 2012
    80
    The levels here are every bit as inventive as they were in Origins and, by the time your moveset has expanded to include a hover, wall-run and punch, every bit as punishing.
  27. Sep 24, 2012
    80
    One of the best smartphone games of the year, with stunning cartoon visuals and gameplay that's as easy to control as it is to become addicted to.
  28. 80
    Small perfect levels, breezy controls and colors that just pop off the screen. Make no mistake, though, Rayman is in no way just a quick snack. The later levels are ruthlessly hard, but when you finally nail them, you will have no doubt that this is the way a mobile platformer should be done.
  29. Sep 21, 2012
    80
    At $2.99, it may sound like an expensive mobile game, but Rayman Jungle Run is not your typical title. It's a slice of one of last year's best console games. For the price of a New York cup of coffee, you get something special.
  30. Sep 20, 2012
    80
    Hopefully the quality of Rayman Jungle Run will herald a wave of developers rethinking how to transition their titles to mobile, hopefully making it so we can all live in a world free of dodgy virtual d-pads. I imagine, though, that natural simplicity and finesse of Rayman Jungle Run will just lead to loads more games that are a lot like Rayman Jungle Run.
  31. Sep 19, 2012
    80
    Rayman Jungle Run sidesteps the need to have a 'Rayman Origins' on the iOS platform by retaining the same focused gameplay through simplified controls and devious level design.
  32. Nov 9, 2012
    75
    A well-made platformer with a nice pedigree, albeit too short.
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. Apr 8, 2014
    4
    Have lost all my gems on the game. I have completed the first jump along with the leaps of faith. Also completed the jump section except for the last two. Completed four or five sections on the third which us wall run. Please advise how I can get them back. Full Review »
  2. Nov 12, 2013
    8
    Staying true to the art style of Origins, Jungle Run has Rayman auto running through 63 levels, plus 7 Land of the Livid Dead levels, where you have to jump and punch through obstacles collecting as many Lums as possible before the end of the stage. If you can collect all 100 lums in each stage you earn a skull tooth which go towards unlocking the Land of the Livid Dead level for each world.

    The graphics are as beautiful as Origins and the game ran smoothly on my HTC One. Just as a side note I’d like to add that I was rather supprised that when I restarted a level(after missing a Lum or two) there was no wait for loading. It just instantly restarted and trough me back in to the fast pace action which helps the dynamics of the continue keeping you locked in to the game. The sounds and music are awesome. I was not expecting this kind of high quality from a mobile game, maybe that’s because I haven’t really played a lot of games o my phone. I have never been in to mobile gaming apart from a few odd times now and then but I think Jungle Run may have changed my view on this subject. I have played a few great mobile games but this one is something else. It almost felt as if I was playing a full fledged console game. Although the music can get a bit repetitive and the gameplay is a bit cheesy I can honestly say they have a well balanced experience. I loved the Livid Dead levels. Being more challenging than the normal level they never felt like an add on that was put in to prolong the play time. It actually felt rewarding to unlock and then get 100% on them.

    Little extras like unlocking a wallpaper when you get 100% on a level is icing on the cake. Not that I will be using any of them. It’s the fact that you get a real reward for your hard work. Rayman Jungle Run is easy for all level of players to play, but can be very challenging when trying to master it and get 100% on all stages.

    If you ask me it’s worth every penny!
    Full Review »
  3. Oct 14, 2013
    10
    first of all i will say i played this on an android and it is by far the best game mobile game i have ever played it is just beautiful in pretty much every way the game play is easy to get used to, the whole game is so beautiful and vibrantly coloured even the darker sections of the game, the music is so catchy and fun i actually wanted to download it, the little extra pack you can purchase which has Globox, Dark Rayman and the Globox outfit for Rayman are all great, i cannot tell you how long i have spent on the main screen because of that song it is a fun and quite addictive game and it just shows what you can with mobile games these days and how far hey have come since IOS and Android came about Full Review »