Real Racing 3 iOS

Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 30
  2. Negative: 3 out of 30
Stream On
  1. Games Master UK
    Apr 13, 2013
    70
    A great game with gorgeous looks spoiled by excessive in-app demands. [May 2013, p.86]
  2. Hyper Magazine
    Apr 9, 2013
    70
    A fantastic tablet racing game, but one that greatly overestimates its own importance and value with slow progress and expensive in-app purchases. [May 2013, p.81]
  3. Mar 13, 2013
    70
    Stunning graphics, good controls and an interesting multiplayer don’t save Real Racing 3 from the freemium impasse. At the same price of its predecessor, it would have been a masterpiece.
  4. Mar 11, 2013
    70
    If you do not mind waiting 20 or 30 minutes to repair your car after a race or if you love the freemium formula with its sneaky purchases system, Real Racing 3 is simply the best racing-simulation game available today on App Store.
  5. Feb 28, 2013
    70
    Real Racing 3 is a spectacle on iOS, but this is a case where the developers over promised, and under delivered.
  6. Apr 4, 2013
    65
    With the beautiful graphics and large amount of content, Real Racing 3 could be one of the best games the smartphone has ever seen. However the microtransactions and long waiting times take away much of the fun.
  7. Mar 5, 2013
    60
    This is a sensitive employment of free-to-play, but despite its presentation and name, Real Racing 3 remains an arcade game in sim clothing, and one hamstrung by its host format. Limitations that keep it firmly in the tail-lights of deeper console experiences.
  8. Mar 5, 2013
    60
    There is a fantastic racing game core to Real Racing 3, but it is hiding behind a restricting free-to-play model. If there was a one-time purchase to eliminate upgrade times and increase the amount of cash earned per event, Real Racing 3 would be far more balanced and recommended without hesitation.
  9. Feb 14, 2013
    60
    Real Racing 3 is a true 'Jekyll and Hyde' - one moment you're lost in the majesty of throbbing engines, squealing tyres and exhaust fumes as you tear your way around a track... and the next you're staring at a ticking timer, waiting for a chance to get back in to that dream-like head-space and delay the inevitable wait for a moment longer.
  10. Feb 14, 2013
    60
    Whether the exact implementation of Real Racing 3's show-stopping freemium model is a question of greed or inexperience, we can't know - but we want to believe the latter. We also want to believe that between now and the game's global release on February 28th, greater consideration will be given to the long-term supporters of the series, and that a timer-free premium edition of the game will be released alongside this current incarnation. If that happens, we'll revisit our opinion of Real Racing 3 - and give it the accolades it would otherwise unquestionably deserve.
  11. Mar 28, 2013
    58
    This mobile racer definitely shows some potential, but with the concept of pay-to-win in-app-purchases and some rough edges in the design motivation grinds to a stop.
  12. Feb 28, 2013
    50
    Real Racing 3 is a brilliant game artificially constrained by some boneheaded business decisions.
User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 82 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 40
  2. Negative: 17 out of 40
  1. Mar 3, 2013
    10
    This is a visually stunning and well design racing sim. Camera angles are handled well and the sense of speed is excellent.

    A lot of the
    This is a visually stunning and well design racing sim. Camera angles are handled well and the sense of speed is excellent.

    A lot of the criticism surrounding the payment/waiting system seems to be closely tied to how much you play it. I've found that playing for 30 min spats has worked out fine. Furthermore, if you drive clean, then you're rewarded by needing less repairs. This is one aspect of the design I wish more games took into consideration. Anyone saying you can't go through a race without accruing damage is probably driving sloppily to be honest. Also, you can raise with damage, but you take minor performance hits to acceleration, top speed, etc. Some console sims DO penalize you for driving off the track or ramming other cars in terms of tire wear or the need for repairs. To me this seems pretty suitable for a mobile game to incorporate. The more skilled you are the more quickly and easily you'll progress.

    There are wait times for upgrades, but if you have more than one car (which is the case as you progress), then you'll be able to switch to another car. The time shift racing aspect definitely gives it a nice amount of competitiveness as well, as long as you have some gamecenter/facebook friends using the game. You'll still see other players around the globe playing, but it's fun to see a friend one-upping your own records. All in all, this is a great game at a very low cost. It is a sim at hear, so I wouldn't expect it to appeal as much to someone expecting a Need For Speed type arcade experience.
    Full Review »
  2. Feb 28, 2013
    3
    An amazing achievement of graphics and game-play on a mobile device. Sadly, EA got involved, and most of the design decisions have thusAn amazing achievement of graphics and game-play on a mobile device. Sadly, EA got involved, and most of the design decisions have thus revolved around the one big question... "How can we force our users to pay more money". The result is one of the most horrible gaming experiences I have come across, where forced waiting times, forced upgrades and unavoidable vehicle damage (ie just *using* a vehicle gives it damage) attempt to extract as much real money as possible. Its cynical and oh so frustrating to see in what would otherwise be a show-stopping experience. Full Review »
  3. Mar 1, 2013
    6
    An absolutely gorgeous game (especially on the iPad's Retina Display) marred by only a few shortfalls: the generally unobtrusive, yet everAn absolutely gorgeous game (especially on the iPad's Retina Display) marred by only a few shortfalls: the generally unobtrusive, yet ever present, attempts to get the player to spend real money via IAPs; the "if you don't use our currency to speed up delivery, we'll make you wait" trick for upgrades and repairs; and the fact that while your car is easily damaged (and its performance is negatively affected), other cars are not at all affected not even superficially by your collisions with them. AI is generally stupid, too: if you try and pass another car on the inside of a corner, they'll haphazardly and senselessly crash into you.

    The ultra-negative reviews are just hating because hating on EA and Activision is the 'cool' thing to do now on the internet... I guess they think that it increases their street cred, or whatever. Either way, this game is actually pretty good: it's really not that hard to ignore the IAP cash-in attempts (the wait times are usually pretty short), and you can switch to other cars in the meantime, and the graphics and gameplay are by far the best I've seen in an iOS-based racing game.
    Full Review »