User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 76 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 76
  2. Negative: 27 out of 76

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 5, 2013
    1
    Another Game ruined by Eletronic Arts.

    So why 1 star? Repair costs: higher end cars can cost thousands to repair, and you can't cover the cost if you don't win 1st in a race (and some events have really cheap payouts). To restart a race, you actually have to exit the app, and quit it from the fast app switcher. After performing maintenance, the "race" button is now replaced with a
    Another Game ruined by Eletronic Arts.

    So why 1 star? Repair costs: higher end cars can cost thousands to repair, and you can't cover the cost if you don't win 1st in a race (and some events have really cheap payouts). To restart a race, you actually have to exit the app, and quit it from the fast app switcher. After performing maintenance, the "race" button is now replaced with a "repair now" button. Same colour and size too, so it's really easy to accidently spend 6 coins because you forgot about the timer.
    Expand
  2. Oct 11, 2013
    9
    Graphics: 9/10 Realism: 8/10 Appropriate for All Ages: 10/10 Gameplay: 7/10 Price 10/10 Multiplayer: 2/10 In-Game Purchases: 6/10 Overall: 8.7/10

    One of my all time favorite games. The graphics are some of the best (except for the very front of the first car you buy, ugh.) Very realistic, using real tracks, real cars, and especially good virtual prices- they put in a really good prize
    Graphics: 9/10 Realism: 8/10 Appropriate for All Ages: 10/10 Gameplay: 7/10 Price 10/10 Multiplayer: 2/10 In-Game Purchases: 6/10 Overall: 8.7/10

    One of my all time favorite games. The graphics are some of the best (except for the very front of the first car you buy, ugh.) Very realistic, using real tracks, real cars, and especially good virtual prices- they put in a really good prize money for winning races, and good money for repairs, upgrades, and even buying vehicles. The PR level is probably the most annoying feature of the game because in some spots it is limited. Lastly, they seriously beg for in-game purchases, especially with those racing coins. Sure they give you plenty of opportunities to get them for free- however I am scared to spend the 65 I earned for free.
    Expand
  3. Dec 14, 2013
    7
    It's graphics and gameplay are undoubtedly the finest. Yet, it is a bit of a cash grab as money always seems to get involved. Also, the cars are sometimes too sensitive and gets damaged easily. However, everything else succeeds to make this a good gaming experience.
  4. Jan 30, 2014
    6
    I think this is the best racing game I've payed on the ipad. The graphics are excellent, lots of great cars, it makes you feel like you're really racing. Unfortunately with each upgrade the focus has become more about extracting the absolute maximum amount of cash from players. I've played since the game came out frequently several hours a day. I've spent about $30 buying extra gold toI think this is the best racing game I've payed on the ipad. The graphics are excellent, lots of great cars, it makes you feel like you're really racing. Unfortunately with each upgrade the focus has become more about extracting the absolute maximum amount of cash from players. I've played since the game came out frequently several hours a day. I've spent about $30 buying extra gold to buy cars. It used to be that once you owned all of the cars in a race series, you could compete the series with cars updated with race dollars, earned by playing. Now every new series requires upgrades with gold in order to complete.

    I just bought the 66 Shelby cobra. I spent $20 to get the gold to buy it. In order to finish this series I will need at least 120 more gold to upgrade the car before I can even enter the few races. That will cost me another $20 or playing every day for 4 months.

    I own 73 of the 79 cars. The last 6 cars cost a total of 3000 gold. That would $300 or playing every day for 1500 days. $300 is ludicrous. That's enough for a home gaming system.

    On top of that is their tech support. I spent $10 and bought 65 gold. At the time I actually did it because I liked the game so much and hadn't paid a cent. I thought they actually deserved some money. Then my gold disappeared. I asked their tech support for help in late November 2013. Since then I have receive 3 responses, all asking for information, the same auto request each time. I answered each one with the information requested. I gave them the same info each time, exactly as requested. I've spent about 3 hours of effort trying to get help, It's January 30/14 and they have done nothing.

    Without a doubt the worst tech support I have seen since I got my first computer in1990.

    A great game but don't expect to complete the game unless you're rich. Don't ever expect help.
    Expand
  5. May 12, 2014
    7
    The Best racing game avaiable solo far, constantly updated:

    Graphics: 7/10 Realism: 8/10 Gameplay: 8/10 Price 9/10 Multiplayer: 2/10 Sound:8/10
  6. Aug 9, 2014
    5
    This is a visually stunning game, with beautiful courses and scenery. I will pass on the question of payment, wait times, unreachable goals, etc., as these have been dealt with elsewhere. My one quibble is with game play, most especially the Melbourne course. This course is a bad joke - it is unrealistic, artificial, and the ONLY way to win races here is to play dodgem cars, and literallyThis is a visually stunning game, with beautiful courses and scenery. I will pass on the question of payment, wait times, unreachable goals, etc., as these have been dealt with elsewhere. My one quibble is with game play, most especially the Melbourne course. This course is a bad joke - it is unrealistic, artificial, and the ONLY way to win races here is to play dodgem cars, and literally push other cars out of the way. This is ridiculous, and completely out of character with the rest of the racing. This course should be eliminated, and the regular Australian GP one used instead. Expand
  7. Feb 28, 2013
    3
    An amazing achievement of graphics and game-play on a mobile device. Sadly, EA got involved, and most of the design decisions have thus revolved around the one big question... "How can we force our users to pay more money". The result is one of the most horrible gaming experiences I have come across, where forced waiting times, forced upgrades and unavoidable vehicle damage (ie justAn amazing achievement of graphics and game-play on a mobile device. Sadly, EA got involved, and most of the design decisions have thus revolved around the one big question... "How can we force our users to pay more money". The result is one of the most horrible gaming experiences I have come across, where forced waiting times, forced upgrades and unavoidable vehicle damage (ie just *using* a vehicle gives it damage) attempt to extract as much real money as possible. Its cynical and oh so frustrating to see in what would otherwise be a show-stopping experience. Expand
  8. Mar 3, 2013
    10
    This is a visually stunning and well design racing sim. Camera angles are handled well and the sense of speed is excellent.

    A lot of the criticism surrounding the payment/waiting system seems to be closely tied to how much you play it. I've found that playing for 30 min spats has worked out fine. Furthermore, if you drive clean, then you're rewarded by needing less repairs. This is one
    This is a visually stunning and well design racing sim. Camera angles are handled well and the sense of speed is excellent.

    A lot of the criticism surrounding the payment/waiting system seems to be closely tied to how much you play it. I've found that playing for 30 min spats has worked out fine. Furthermore, if you drive clean, then you're rewarded by needing less repairs. This is one aspect of the design I wish more games took into consideration. Anyone saying you can't go through a race without accruing damage is probably driving sloppily to be honest. Also, you can raise with damage, but you take minor performance hits to acceleration, top speed, etc. Some console sims DO penalize you for driving off the track or ramming other cars in terms of tire wear or the need for repairs. To me this seems pretty suitable for a mobile game to incorporate. The more skilled you are the more quickly and easily you'll progress.

    There are wait times for upgrades, but if you have more than one car (which is the case as you progress), then you'll be able to switch to another car. The time shift racing aspect definitely gives it a nice amount of competitiveness as well, as long as you have some gamecenter/facebook friends using the game. You'll still see other players around the globe playing, but it's fun to see a friend one-upping your own records. All in all, this is a great game at a very low cost. It is a sim at hear, so I wouldn't expect it to appeal as much to someone expecting a Need For Speed type arcade experience.
    Expand
  9. Mar 3, 2013
    1
    So this game is a better looking, better sounding Real Racing 2. The time shifted multiplayer is an awesome idea and works quite well. So why 1 star? Repair costs: higher end cars can cost thousands to repair, and you can't cover the cost if you don't win 1st in a race (and some events have really cheap payouts). To restart a race, you actually have to exit the app, and quit it from theSo this game is a better looking, better sounding Real Racing 2. The time shifted multiplayer is an awesome idea and works quite well. So why 1 star? Repair costs: higher end cars can cost thousands to repair, and you can't cover the cost if you don't win 1st in a race (and some events have really cheap payouts). To restart a race, you actually have to exit the app, and quit it from the fast app switcher. After performing maintenance, the "race" button is now replaced with a "repair now" button. Same colour and size too, so it's really easy to accidently spend 6 coins because you forgot about the timer. The multiplayer oftens chooses a good set of opponents, but some races are so easy, you end up lapping 2nd place. Other races pitted my stock Audi against all Porshe 911s which it was impossible to climb above 11th place. Expand
  10. Mar 1, 2013
    0
    When i download and start a racing game and the game tells me after few minutes: your done. you cant race anymore. wait or way... i cannot help but feel insulted.

    I maybe *could* understand this kind of behavior in facebook games or casuals. But inserting this kind of mechanik to a game that is clearly designed for GAMERS is nothing short of stupid. I would gladly pay 10... what the
    When i download and start a racing game and the game tells me after few minutes: your done. you cant race anymore. wait or way... i cannot help but feel insulted.

    I maybe *could* understand this kind of behavior in facebook games or casuals. But inserting this kind of mechanik to a game that is clearly designed for GAMERS is nothing short of stupid. I would gladly pay 10... what the hell... even 20 Euro for this kind of game. Upfront. But this way: I hope you get the bill EA... I hope people realise there is a line crossed...
    Expand
  11. Mar 1, 2013
    6
    An absolutely gorgeous game (especially on the iPad's Retina Display) marred by only a few shortfalls: the generally unobtrusive, yet ever present, attempts to get the player to spend real money via IAPs; the "if you don't use our currency to speed up delivery, we'll make you wait" trick for upgrades and repairs; and the fact that while your car is easily damaged (and its performance isAn absolutely gorgeous game (especially on the iPad's Retina Display) marred by only a few shortfalls: the generally unobtrusive, yet ever present, attempts to get the player to spend real money via IAPs; the "if you don't use our currency to speed up delivery, we'll make you wait" trick for upgrades and repairs; and the fact that while your car is easily damaged (and its performance is negatively affected), other cars are not at all affected not even superficially by your collisions with them. AI is generally stupid, too: if you try and pass another car on the inside of a corner, they'll haphazardly and senselessly crash into you.

    The ultra-negative reviews are just hating because hating on EA and Activision is the 'cool' thing to do now on the internet... I guess they think that it increases their street cred, or whatever. Either way, this game is actually pretty good: it's really not that hard to ignore the IAP cash-in attempts (the wait times are usually pretty short), and you can switch to other cars in the meantime, and the graphics and gameplay are by far the best I've seen in an iOS-based racing game.
    Expand
  12. Feb 28, 2013
    7
    A fun addictive game, that makes you wait for repairs, allowing you to catch up on work, and other games in your back catalogue. You're so thoughtful EA!
  13. Mar 30, 2013
    8
    Considering this game is free on the app store, it is very good. The graphics are stunning for iOS and there are lots of races and events to play through.
  14. Mar 9, 2013
    0
    Tried to delight people with good graphics, but it fails in the basic, and despite it's "free", the game begs to money spent. When the game have a price (coming with the paid features) and do the basic better, it will deserve a "3" as score.
  15. Apr 29, 2013
    8
    I have been playing a lot of iOS race games and I can say that Real Racing is one of the best games of this genre. The graphics are very polished, there is a lot of fun, many cars, many races, and it is a free game. The con is a lack of replay and no multiplayer, that is very bad, even so the game is worth it.
  16. May 14, 2014
    1
    It's a great game killed by in app purchase and (since Feb 2014) by constant adverts before and after every race. Just so you know for 100% completion you will have to splash money on RR3 considering that the dozen of high end cars cost about £50 each, and you will have to buy the upgrades for each car separately for about another £50. In total we're talking of over a thousand pounds, IIt's a great game killed by in app purchase and (since Feb 2014) by constant adverts before and after every race. Just so you know for 100% completion you will have to splash money on RR3 considering that the dozen of high end cars cost about £50 each, and you will have to buy the upgrades for each car separately for about another £50. In total we're talking of over a thousand pounds, I think that's a valid reason to be angry against EA. Also there are lots of cheaters in the multiplayer game, it's not rare to see players completing laps in a couple of seconds. Expand
  17. Apr 22, 2013
    10
    This must be by far the best racing game available on the ios and I just can't get enough of it. The graphics are stunning and the gameplay is just as awesome. What I especially like it that you can buy and car at any time, all you need is to build up enough cash. No need to unlock this and that. Get the cash, and buy the car you want. As easy as that. And that is why Real Racing 3 is theThis must be by far the best racing game available on the ios and I just can't get enough of it. The graphics are stunning and the gameplay is just as awesome. What I especially like it that you can buy and car at any time, all you need is to build up enough cash. No need to unlock this and that. Get the cash, and buy the car you want. As easy as that. And that is why Real Racing 3 is the real deal. Expand
  18. Aug 23, 2014
    9
    Design, mechanics,cars, all are beautiful, this is amazing.Sadly... Payment system.

    ***************************************************************
  19. Mar 1, 2013
    1
    Graphically on par with Real Racing 2, maybe a slight edge over the previous release but the new IAP system and the fact that you must wait a specified amount of time for servicing your vehicle is a nail in the coffin for this game. I'll stick to Real Racing 2, a far more enjoyable game. If EA continues to release free-to-play games as they stated they will, Real Racing 2 may be the lastGraphically on par with Real Racing 2, maybe a slight edge over the previous release but the new IAP system and the fact that you must wait a specified amount of time for servicing your vehicle is a nail in the coffin for this game. I'll stick to Real Racing 2, a far more enjoyable game. If EA continues to release free-to-play games as they stated they will, Real Racing 2 may be the last of it's kind. Expand
  20. Mar 28, 2013
    9
    I'm really enjoying this game. The graphics are very good on my retina iPad, and the gameplay is excellent. Regarding the controversy surrounding the in-app payments system, I've been playing it for at least an hour a day since it came out, and I've only once been tempted to spend any real money at all, a temptation I resisted at the last moment! If, as others have said, you buy (with inI'm really enjoying this game. The graphics are very good on my retina iPad, and the gameplay is excellent. Regarding the controversy surrounding the in-app payments system, I've been playing it for at least an hour a day since it came out, and I've only once been tempted to spend any real money at all, a temptation I resisted at the last moment! If, as others have said, you buy (with in game fake money) several cars, you can be racing another car while your damaged one is being repaired, so it's no big deal. Or go out for a walk! Again, I agree with others here that if you drive well, you don't have a big repair bill at the end of every race.

    One thing I'd like to see is more information about other players, especially my Facebook friends also playing the game. It would be great to see what cars they have, what mods they've bought, what their track records are etc.

    Another thing is that, after a few weeks, having only the same nine tracks to choose from gets a bit repetitive. It would be great if more tracks were in the pipeline. At least there are variations in the way the tracks are played full races, 1 on 1, speed trials etc.

    But on the whole, it's a professionally made, but free game, that's kept me returning to play it again and again.
    Expand
  21. Jun 2, 2013
    3
    I've been playing this great game for a long time and now I can tell with no shadow of doubt that the microtransactiom system just screwed the all the game. Great phisics, graphics that are just incredible... You can see that someone spent a lot of time in every detail to make a great game. But, come on! Get 800$ after winning a game with a car worth 500.000$ and that any of it's 20-30I've been playing this great game for a long time and now I can tell with no shadow of doubt that the microtransactiom system just screwed the all the game. Great phisics, graphics that are just incredible... You can see that someone spent a lot of time in every detail to make a great game. But, come on! Get 800$ after winning a game with a car worth 500.000$ and that any of it's 20-30 upgrades costs at least 40.000$? Looks like someone is trying hard to make me spend some money. Until now you could say that I'm just afraid to spend some dollars, but even that part is just ridiculous... If you pay 10 dollars, a reasonably amount of money for apps and a price that I would certainly would payed for this game, you can have only 300.000$ of the game money. You can buy only one car and maybe upgrade it. And not even a great car. You gonna need dozens of fully updated cars to get to the half of the game. The 5 millions pack costs 100 dollars... It's just too much for a app. For me it's the only pack that really could make the game more easy. The first ones just don't make real difference.
    I could understand that kind a system (with, obviously, lower prices) on a facebook game or some game for casual players, but in a harcore game like this? They just ruined a big game.
    Expand
  22. Feb 20, 2015
    6
    Real Racing 3... more like Micro-transaction Racing 3!

    Well, Real Racing has amazing graphics and pretty good framerate. It features detailed tracks and cars, the realtime reflections are beautiful and the game engine can handle 20+ car grid! The races are exciting and intense. It's really fun. The game features a so called Time Shifted Multiplayer (in other word: scam). It sounds good
    Real Racing 3... more like Micro-transaction Racing 3!

    Well, Real Racing has amazing graphics and pretty good framerate. It features detailed tracks and cars, the realtime reflections are beautiful and the game engine can handle 20+ car grid!
    The races are exciting and intense. It's really fun. The game features a so called Time Shifted Multiplayer (in other word: scam). It sounds good that you play against your friends in a Time Shifted Multiplayer, but in real, it's not what it is called. At least it doesn't feel real. No problem, there is real multiplayer too in the game!

    There is a huge variety of cars and tracks in the game. But to get car, you need to complete events, make money and you may spend real money for real progress. If you damage your car, you need to wait a lot. If you don't have multiple cars for an event, you really need to wait as you can't participate in that event so you may choose an other event with an other car. The damage system is somewhat OK, damage makes your car slower, ruins your brakes, etc... But why the hell even going to the grass damages your car? Also in some challenges, collisions are not allower. You collide, and you fail the challenge. But in a few cases, collisions were not registered perfectly. So it didn't feel stable.

    While the graphics are amazing, the car handling is so generic. It feels good and optimized and made it simpler for mobile devices, but all the cars act the same. Just they have different acceleration, brake points, top speed, etc. And old 1950 Ferrari is as stable as the other modern cars. No difference.

    The events are pretty good. Simple races, duel, drag race, reach the top speed, endurance (where you need to overtake cars to gain time, when the time runs out, you will slowly stop), etc...

    The sound effects? While the cars sound really well, it's also somewhat generic. There is no so much variety, even if the engines are totally different. But in overall, it's satisfying.

    So Real Racing 3 sounds and looks good, also the handling is pretty fun, EA made the game frustrating by making it a pay to win game. Everything needs money. You may enjoy the game without spending real money, but the progress will be really slow. And who just want to casually play, it will be painfully slow to progress. Oh, and guess what! Not only the micro-transactions, but there are in-game ads too!
    I would rather buy the game for $10 or $20 than wait and pay for even the smaller things. It can be really frustrating for some people.

    I am not an EA hater, but unfortunately, this is the trend by them. EA made and makes good games still, but I find this kind of business disgusting.

    This is a great game made by Firemonkeys Studios, released and ruined by EA. Not so surprisingly.

    If you are patient, and have time to play the game a lot and the micro-transactions don't discourage you, than download and play the game, because it's fun. If you can't play that much, you're disgusted by micro-transactions, then stay away from this game. Or at least, give it a try and you'll see.
    Expand
  23. Nov 2, 2013
    0
    These people want you to fork over $200 usd just to get you through the first six series of the game. That means, several hundred races. And you wont see any real racing cars yet, that doesn’t start for another 6 series.

    Don’t want to pay? You can bore yourself to death racing like an idiot over an over to raise money to purchase cars and pay for the expensive upgrades. Mind you, any
    These people want you to fork over $200 usd just to get you through the first six series of the game. That means, several hundred races. And you wont see any real racing cars yet, that doesn’t start for another 6 series.

    Don’t want to pay? You can bore yourself to death racing like an idiot over an over to raise money to purchase cars and pay for the expensive upgrades. Mind you, any race you lose you will have to be waiting for a long time until you get to race again. For example, service time on a Porsche in the “Everyday Heroes” race is 1h and 50 mins.

    So, even if you spend $200, it wont get you anywhere. That is 20 times the fair price for mobile game like that and you still end up empty handed and frustrated.

    This should serve as a warning to parents, because their children could rack up quite a bill if they have access to their Apple Store password.

    Last but not least, the game features the cheesiest soundtrack I have ever heard on a racing game.

    My recommendation: If you are a fan of racing simulations, buy yourself a PlayStation 4 with Gran Turismo. For a fraction of the price you will get full access to an REAL racing simulation with an amazing soundtrack, Formula 1 cars, rally cars and it is a delightful experience.

    Veredict: Gave Real Racing 3 a 1 star review and uninstalled it from my iPad.
    Expand
  24. Nov 18, 2013
    8
    Real Racing 3 is a fantastic game for the iOS platform. If you do not have a newer model of an Apple product, you and your device will have a moderately difficult time running the large racing simulator. I have had this game crash multiple times, either in the middle of a race, or while the game is loading. However, the fact that Electronic Arts has managed to apply such detailedReal Racing 3 is a fantastic game for the iOS platform. If you do not have a newer model of an Apple product, you and your device will have a moderately difficult time running the large racing simulator. I have had this game crash multiple times, either in the middle of a race, or while the game is loading. However, the fact that Electronic Arts has managed to apply such detailed three-dimensional graphics, this factor counter acts the lack of processing power on my current device.
    As I said before, the three-dimensional graphics applied to this game are extremely detailed; I have not managed to find a game with better graphics on the iOS so far. The sound may not be as high quality as the graphics but there is a benefit to the moderate sound quality, EACH SOUND IS DIFFERENT FOR EACH CAR.
    I have a few suggestions such as, when your vehicle needs servicing; I have noticed that the time it takes to service it increases with the class of the vehicle. I suggest that Electronic Arts should keep the servicing time the same for each vehicle. Perhaps 5 to 7 minutes?
    I also suggest that in the store menu, Electronic Arts could put an exchange service, where as you can trade in game money (Also known as R$) for gold.

    I enjoy Real Racing 3 and I give kudos to Electronic Arts for producing an excellent iOS gaming experience.
    Expand
  25. Nov 17, 2013
    2
    The only thing I like about Real Racing 3 is the cars. What I disliked are the use of multiplayer, service, the way to unlock the cars, and the difficulty to win races in 1st place.
  26. Dec 12, 2013
    8
    This game is awesome. You can say the graphic are pretty good. The game play is interesting most of the time. The music is giving me some awesome kick. The sad thing is, the you need to wait for services and car deliveries every time you buy a car. But this is still great.
  27. Dec 21, 2013
    8
    Real Racing 3 can best be described in a few words. The best racing on Iphone is a perfect description. It looks great, and the gameplay is rock solid.
  28. Dec 16, 2013
    8
    For a free game, the graphics are great, its very playable, and infectious. However, once you start progressing towards the "real" racers, it becomes difficult. To get better cars and win, you need to upgrade your current vehicles, some of which cost 100s of "Gold". That's costly. To then get the better cars, they cost 100s of Gold too. Not only that, it is actually difficult to get theFor a free game, the graphics are great, its very playable, and infectious. However, once you start progressing towards the "real" racers, it becomes difficult. To get better cars and win, you need to upgrade your current vehicles, some of which cost 100s of "Gold". That's costly. To then get the better cars, they cost 100s of Gold too. Not only that, it is actually difficult to get the "gold" other than buying it. An example: 400 gold coins £34.99,1000 £69.99!!!!! Some upgrades cost between 80 and 120 gold coins, just for one, and you might have to get 7 or 8 to get the better car and win to progress.
    In short, you will grind to a halt. I cannot see how I can get to the Ferraris without spending huge amounts on Gold to upgrade my cars!!! Any ideas from you experts........
    Expand
  29. Aug 6, 2014
    9
    Its a great mobile racing game that isn't a grind fest like most others.

    Many people are giving this bad reviews becuase EA. That's the only reason. Who cares about the publisher you buy a game for the game and its a solid game. Great multiplayer good racing mechanics and you can actually earn the premium currency quite easily.
  30. Jun 28, 2014
    1
    This game is all about trying to get you to spend money... specifically to buy gold. After some initial money based upgrades to cars that you can win the game they start making it so you can only do upgrades with gold which you cannot accumulate fast enough. You can't fully upgrade cars without using gold which the game does to provide enough opportunity to accumulate. 26 gold to go fromThis game is all about trying to get you to spend money... specifically to buy gold. After some initial money based upgrades to cars that you can win the game they start making it so you can only do upgrades with gold which you cannot accumulate fast enough. You can't fully upgrade cars without using gold which the game does to provide enough opportunity to accumulate. 26 gold to go from 200 -> 201 mph and it takes you 20 races to get 26 gold so they want you to buy gold packs.

    The Euro Supercar Duel is a good example. The last race requires a performance rating of 47. My Bentley Countinental Supersports has a PR of 45.3. Engine upgrade level 5 costs 18 gold and takes the car to 45.6, still far away from the required 47. It will take at least 70 gold to get the car to the required 47. So you spend 70 gold which takes forever to do with gameplay and then when you win all the races you'll win about 22 gold. So you will need to spend at least 100 gold to get the car to the minimum level to be eligible to win the level and you'll win 22 gold.

    Simply, the game is designed to get you to spend money.
    Expand
  31. Jul 17, 2014
    3
    The amazing graphics for an mobile device and sounds, not to mention the over 50 real life licensed cars from performance to hyper grades,definitely recommend to play this game on an newer generation iPad, however just as i was expected by a free-to-play game published by EA, this game constantly want you to pay no matter upgrades or cars. This make me and I'm pretty sure other playersThe amazing graphics for an mobile device and sounds, not to mention the over 50 real life licensed cars from performance to hyper grades,definitely recommend to play this game on an newer generation iPad, however just as i was expected by a free-to-play game published by EA, this game constantly want you to pay no matter upgrades or cars. This make me and I'm pretty sure other players who want to enjoy the game feel annoyed, not to mention the feeling of driving these cars seems to slow for a racing game.

    Final Verdict: play this game only for it's graphics and sound effects, otherwise be prepared to get interrupted by the constant pay-to-win contents.
    Expand
  32. Nov 11, 2014
    8
    i dont get it with this people who say this game is bad they probably fanboying over GTracing
    , the game is pretty good actually, the sound is one of the best on mobile , physics is unrivaled on mobile devices, the graphics is stunning, and many more.
    the only thing that make me dissapoint is the long wait times.
    i give this game a 8.1
  33. Oct 23, 2014
    8
    Impressive game for being on iOS. graphics are quite stunning, the driving experience is fun (although driving speeds in curves are way higher than reality).
    I would give this a 9 or 10 if it weren't for a couple negative things:
    1. Freemium model has gotten heavier and heavier.. upgrading a car to the max now usually requires gold even at earlier steps of upgrades (in first cars it was
    Impressive game for being on iOS. graphics are quite stunning, the driving experience is fun (although driving speeds in curves are way higher than reality).
    I would give this a 9 or 10 if it weren't for a couple negative things:
    1. Freemium model has gotten heavier and heavier.. upgrading a car to the max now usually requires gold even at earlier steps of upgrades (in first cars it was only on last upgrades). Prices for purchasing such currency are insanely high, and new cars get released all the time so if you want to spend.. there is no limit, you will end up spending more than buying a proper pc and a real game. With that said, if you're a VERY active player, you will manage to get to end game.. slowly but you will.
    2. When they increased gold per level up, they didn't reimburse any gold to people who were already high level. very unfair, as new levellers gained about 7 times as much gold per level up. that's a huge amount when you're talking about 100/200 levels.

    It's a pity that the gaming world has discovered how lame people are, and sadly that freemium works (over 90% of all profits from all apps in the world are from freemium games). We all stand here and complain, yet somehow most people are lamers that do spend a lot of cash to gain unfair advantage over other players.
    Expand
  34. Dec 22, 2014
    8
    This game's graphics are brilliant, but I think the freemium model was pushed a bit too far here. If you're just playing casually for short bursts you should be ok, but without spending money you can't get that far here because they make it hard to play for free. Cars need servicing after just 15-20 km of driving and some cars take up to 6 hours to service. You can speed it up with gold,This game's graphics are brilliant, but I think the freemium model was pushed a bit too far here. If you're just playing casually for short bursts you should be ok, but without spending money you can't get that far here because they make it hard to play for free. Cars need servicing after just 15-20 km of driving and some cars take up to 6 hours to service. You can speed it up with gold, but that either costs money or you can slowly (SLOWLY) get it for free. To buy new cars takes a long time to save up for, particularly as you progress further the cars cost like their real equivalents , in excess of $100,000, sometimes as high as $4,000,000. (in game money, of course. Not real money.) But you can buy in game money with real money, and you almost have to if you want to progress quickly.

    But for a while at least you can have a good time with this app.
    Expand
  35. Dec 20, 2014
    6
    I recommend playing the game with an iPad racing wheel.

    Things I like:
    - Beautiful graphics
    - A broad range of cars to try

    Things I don't like:
    - A lot of cheaters
    - The fake sound of the Ferrari F1 cars
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 30
  2. Negative: 3 out of 30
  1. Apr 13, 2013
    70
    A great game with gorgeous looks spoiled by excessive in-app demands. [May 2013, p.86]
  2. Apr 9, 2013
    70
    A fantastic tablet racing game, but one that greatly overestimates its own importance and value with slow progress and expensive in-app purchases. [May 2013, p.81]
  3. Apr 4, 2013
    65
    With the beautiful graphics and large amount of content, Real Racing 3 could be one of the best games the smartphone has ever seen. However the microtransactions and long waiting times take away much of the fun.