Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 60 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Real Racing 3 brings some intense racing action to your mobile device.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 30
  2. Negative: 3 out of 30
  1. Feb 27, 2013
    91
    This is the best racing game available on mobile devices.
  2. Feb 27, 2013
    90
    Free-to-play or not, Real Racing 3 is a fantastic game that no iOS gamer should be without. Especially if they have Game Center friends to compete with.
  3. 90
    Amazing visuals, great controls and superb car physics. You might hate the freemium model introduced in Real Racing 3. But if you decide to skip the game because of this, then you will miss out on the greatest mobile racer ever made for mobiles and tablets. Sure, you can always buy the cheapest pack which includes a nice BMW. After all that will only be a third of the price for Real Racing 2. Go ahead no one is looking. If not, then lock your credit card away and drop repairs until you get enough in-game currency to put some cars in your garage. After that there’s no turning back. You will be hooked.
  4. Mar 11, 2013
    70
    If you do not mind waiting 20 or 30 minutes to repair your car after a race or if you love the freemium formula with its sneaky purchases system, Real Racing 3 is simply the best racing-simulation game available today on App Store.
  5. Apr 13, 2013
    70
    A great game with gorgeous looks spoiled by excessive in-app demands. [May 2013, p.86]
  6. Mar 5, 2013
    60
    This is a sensitive employment of free-to-play, but despite its presentation and name, Real Racing 3 remains an arcade game in sim clothing, and one hamstrung by its host format. Limitations that keep it firmly in the tail-lights of deeper console experiences.
  7. Feb 28, 2013
    30
    There's a good game somewhere within Real Racing 3 - and there are plenty of free-to-play games that prove this model can work successfully while respecting the player. Firemonkeys, and perhaps more pertinently EA, have got that balance horribly, horribly wrong, to an extent where the business model becomes the game - with gut-wrenching results.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 27
  2. Negative: 12 out of 27
  1. Mar 3, 2013
    10
    This is a visually stunning and well design racing sim. Camera angles are handled well and the sense of speed is excellent.

    A lot of the
    criticism surrounding the payment/waiting system seems to be closely tied to how much you play it. I've found that playing for 30 min spats has worked out fine. Furthermore, if you drive clean, then you're rewarded by needing less repairs. This is one aspect of the design I wish more games took into consideration. Anyone saying you can't go through a race without accruing damage is probably driving sloppily to be honest. Also, you can raise with damage, but you take minor performance hits to acceleration, top speed, etc. Some console sims DO penalize you for driving off the track or ramming other cars in terms of tire wear or the need for repairs. To me this seems pretty suitable for a mobile game to incorporate. The more skilled you are the more quickly and easily you'll progress.

    There are wait times for upgrades, but if you have more than one car (which is the case as you progress), then you'll be able to switch to another car. The time shift racing aspect definitely gives it a nice amount of competitiveness as well, as long as you have some gamecenter/facebook friends using the game. You'll still see other players around the globe playing, but it's fun to see a friend one-upping your own records. All in all, this is a great game at a very low cost. It is a sim at hear, so I wouldn't expect it to appeal as much to someone expecting a Need For Speed type arcade experience.
    Collapse
  2. Mar 28, 2013
    9
    I'm really enjoying this game. The graphics are very good on my retina iPad, and the gameplay is excellent. Regarding the controversy surrounding the in-app payments system, I've been playing it for at least an hour a day since it came out, and I've only once been tempted to spend any real money at all, a temptation I resisted at the last moment! If, as others have said, you buy (with in game fake money) several cars, you can be racing another car while your damaged one is being repaired, so it's no big deal. Or go out for a walk! Again, I agree with others here that if you drive well, you don't have a big repair bill at the end of every race.

    One thing I'd like to see is more information about other players, especially my Facebook friends also playing the game. It would be great to see what cars they have, what mods they've bought, what their track records are etc.

    Another thing is that, after a few weeks, having only the same nine tracks to choose from gets a bit repetitive. It would be great if more tracks were in the pipeline. At least there are variations in the way the tracks are played full races, 1 on 1, speed trials etc.

    But on the whole, it's a professionally made, but free game, that's kept me returning to play it again and again.
    Expand
  3. Dec 16, 2013
    8
    For a free game, the graphics are great, its very playable, and infectious. However, once you start progressing towards the "real" racers, it becomes difficult. To get better cars and win, you need to upgrade your current vehicles, some of which cost 100s of "Gold". That's costly. To then get the better cars, they cost 100s of Gold too. Not only that, it is actually difficult to get the "gold" other than buying it. An example: 400 gold coins £34.99,1000 £69.99!!!!! Some upgrades cost between 80 and 120 gold coins, just for one, and you might have to get 7 or 8 to get the better car and win to progress.
    In short, you will grind to a halt. I cannot see how I can get to the Ferraris without spending huge amounts on Gold to upgrade my cars!!! Any ideas from you experts........
    Expand
  4. Mar 1, 2013
    6
    An absolutely gorgeous game (especially on the iPad's Retina Display) marred by only a few shortfalls: the generally unobtrusive, yet ever present, attempts to get the player to spend real money via IAPs; the "if you don't use our currency to speed up delivery, we'll make you wait" trick for upgrades and repairs; and the fact that while your car is easily damaged (and its performance is negatively affected), other cars are not at all affected not even superficially by your collisions with them. AI is generally stupid, too: if you try and pass another car on the inside of a corner, they'll haphazardly and senselessly crash into you.

    The ultra-negative reviews are just hating because hating on EA and Activision is the 'cool' thing to do now on the internet... I guess they think that it increases their street cred, or whatever. Either way, this game is actually pretty good: it's really not that hard to ignore the IAP cash-in attempts (the wait times are usually pretty short), and you can switch to other cars in the meantime, and the graphics and gameplay are by far the best I've seen in an iOS-based racing game.
    Expand
  5. Jun 2, 2013
    3
    I've been playing this great game for a long time and now I can tell with no shadow of doubt that the microtransactiom system just screwed the all the game. Great phisics, graphics that are just incredible... You can see that someone spent a lot of time in every detail to make a great game. But, come on! Get 800$ after winning a game with a car worth 500.000$ and that any of it's 20-30 upgrades costs at least 40.000$? Looks like someone is trying hard to make me spend some money. Until now you could say that I'm just afraid to spend some dollars, but even that part is just ridiculous... If you pay 10 dollars, a reasonably amount of money for apps and a price that I would certainly would payed for this game, you can have only 300.000$ of the game money. You can buy only one car and maybe upgrade it. And not even a great car. You gonna need dozens of fully updated cars to get to the half of the game. The 5 millions pack costs 100 dollars... It's just too much for a app. For me it's the only pack that really could make the game more easy. The first ones just don't make real difference.
    I could understand that kind a system (with, obviously, lower prices) on a facebook game or some game for casual players, but in a harcore game like this? They just ruined a big game.
    Expand
  6. Jun 28, 2014
    1
    This game is all about trying to get you to spend money... specifically to buy gold. After some initial money based upgrades to cars that you can win the game they start making it so you can only do upgrades with gold which you cannot accumulate fast enough. You can't fully upgrade cars without using gold which the game does to provide enough opportunity to accumulate. 26 gold to go from 200 -> 201 mph and it takes you 20 races to get 26 gold so they want you to buy gold packs.

    The Euro Supercar Duel is a good example. The last race requires a performance rating of 47. My Bentley Countinental Supersports has a PR of 45.3. Engine upgrade level 5 costs 18 gold and takes the car to 45.6, still far away from the required 47. It will take at least 70 gold to get the car to the required 47. So you spend 70 gold which takes forever to do with gameplay and then when you win all the races you'll win about 22 gold. So you will need to spend at least 100 gold to get the car to the minimum level to be eligible to win the level and you'll win 22 gold.

    Simply, the game is designed to get you to spend money.
    Expand
  7. Mar 9, 2013
    0
    Tried to delight people with good graphics, but it fails in the basic, and despite it's "free", the game begs to money spent. When the game have a price (coming with the paid features) and do the basic better, it will deserve a "3" as score. Expand

See all 27 User Reviews