• Publisher: Capcom
  • Release Date: Apr 14, 2011
Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 13
  2. Negative: 5 out of 13
  1. May 3, 2011
    80
    It's lacking more than a few characters and the controls take some getting used to, but the overall experience is definitely a positive one. Especially for series veterans and third-person shooter fans.
  2. Apr 18, 2011
    60
    While some amusement can be derived from Resident Evil Mercenaries VS. it only features the most basic of competitive gameplay features, making it a hard game to enjoy even if you can forgive its control setup.
  3. Apr 25, 2011
    30
    If Mercenaries Vs was a basic online extra on a full-fledged mobile Resident Evil, you might forgive it, but as a standalone release it has no redeeming qualities. Come on Capcom, you can do better than this.
  4. Apr 20, 2011
    30
    From its terrible graphics to its awkward controls, Mercenaries is a complete and utter disaster. The iPhone version of Mercenaries is not the version you want to play.
  5. Jun 4, 2011
    50
    A disappointment. [July 2011, p.93]
  6. Apr 28, 2011
    60
    Resident Evil Mercenaries VS is sometimes fun despite its control scheme, but isn't a game I'd bother to play without my friends.
  7. Apr 15, 2011
    40
    While the concept of running around shooting computer-controlled monsters and other players sounds like a fun idea, in practice, it's an awkward mess, thanks to handicaps that have plagued the series for years.
  8. Apr 27, 2011
    57
    Resident Evil Mercenaries VS. focuses on the multiplayer, even if it's very hard to find a match right now. There are some interesting things the developers put on the table, but the cumbersome controls and the poor maps will let you down.
  9. Apr 15, 2011
    40
    Ugly, cumbersome to control, and lacking fun, Resident Evil Mercenaries VS. casts a dark spot on Capcom's survival-horror franchise.
  10. Apr 15, 2011
    50
    With better controls, this would be a killer deathmatch game. But it doesn't have better controls.
  11. May 2, 2011
    50
    With enough practice, some people may warm up to the style of multiplayer battling in Resident Evil Mercenaries VS, but with so many far superior online multiplayer experiences on iOS already it doesn't seem worth the effort.
  12. Apr 15, 2011
    70
    Resident Evil Mercenaries Vs, doesn't come close to the best multi-player iOS shooters out there. It does have some great ideas, and you will have fun online. But the control scheme is outdated now, particularly on a touchscreen, which severely dampens the overall package.
  13. Apr 15, 2011
    30
    Control issues plague Resident Evil Mercenaries Vs. and drag this Capcom title down into the murky depths of app store purgatory. The clunky, slowing moving characters that don't understand how to move and shoot at the same time are next to worthless, even with the slight tweaks I made.
User Score
tbd

No user score yet- Awaiting 1 more rating

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 1 out of 1
  1. Dec 6, 2011
    4
    I feel robbed of my money. This was only a dollar when i bought it, and i still feel robbed of my money. It's terrible! Nobody buy this App at full price. It has like two maps and barely passable game play. Full Review »