Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. May 9, 2013
    90
    An aquatic arcade romp with buckets of charm, style and humour. [June 2013, p.86]
  2. May 9, 2013
    80
    Worth it for the first few hours of hopeless addiction, the satisfaction of encountering new creatures, and the enticing allure of testing out all the new equipment. [June 2013, p.84]
  3. Apr 18, 2013
    70
    It may lack substance in the long-term, but it provides an experience which is admirably oriented towards pure intuitive fun, presented in a way which is great to look at and humorous in tone.
  4. 90
    An instantly accessible control system opens the floodgates to satisfying gameplay, hilarious upgrades and highly replayable levels. Ridiculous Fishing rarely makes a misstep.
  5. Mar 23, 2013
    90
    Give a man a fish and he’ll eat for a day. Give a man Ridiculous Fishing and he’ll never feel the need to eat again, simply because fishing, shooting and buying upgrades is incredibly tight in this game. Ridiculous Fishing is part of the best iOS has to offer.
  6. Mar 22, 2013
    92
    We could say it's pretty much a masterpiece. Fun, entertaining, curious, complete and addictive, it's hard to find something to complain about it.
  7. Mar 19, 2013
    80
    Combine spot-on controls with dozens of fish to discover and a wonderful sense of humor, and it would be ridiculous not to download Ridiculous Fishing.
  8. Mar 19, 2013
    90
    With its appealing looks and tight design, Ridiculous Fishing feels like something unique, but it’s more than that. The game’s concept allows for a great pace of play, while retaining a perfect balance and sharp gameplay. It reaches beyond the ridiculous looking content and blossoms into one of the best mobile games of recent memory.
  9. Mar 19, 2013
    90
    Featuring a colorful and quirky aesthetic, terrific controls, compelling collection mechanics, and one-more-try gameplay, Ridiculous Fishing is ridiculously fun.
  10. Mar 19, 2013
    100
    The genius of Ridiculous Fishing comes from the fact that it’s actually three tightly woven mini games in one, which tie together in one of the most magnetic compulsion loops you’ll find.
  11. Mar 18, 2013
    88
    The attention to detail, the authors' passion and the way it constantly surprises the player are the reasons why Ridiculous Fishing is so ridiculously good.
  12. Mar 18, 2013
    80
    As ridiculous as its name, Ridiculous Fishing is simple, fun, and should keep players happy until they've seen everything the game has to offer.
  13. Mar 16, 2013
    100
    Ingeniously designed, continuously compelling, painstakingly crafted, dripping with personality, packed with content -- I like everything about Ridiculous Fishing.
  14. Gear is the catnip that will keep you playing Ridiculous Fishing for hours on end. Whether it’s a new pair of duel-wield uzis that make it easier to perforate your catch, a hair dryer that you can tie to your line to electrocute the first fish that touches it (essentially giving you an extra chance), or just a redneck red cap to keep the sun off your fisherman’s head, every purchase is well worth the multiple casts it takes to earn it.
  15. Mar 14, 2013
    100
    Ridiculous Fishing ($2.99, Universal) offers a ridiculous amount of enjoyment with every element so well made to work in harmony, and fit perfectly on iOS. Ridiculous Fishing is an absolute must, so it’s time to reel in this epic catch.
  16. Mar 14, 2013
    80
    Ridiculous Fishing puts a smile on my face every single time I reach the climactic moment my gigantic haul of fish are flung into the air and the cartoony slaughter begins.
  17. Mar 14, 2013
    90
    Vlambeer’s game is, as its title suggests, ridiculous. In its simple, gleeful rhythms of play, it’s sublime, too.
  18. Mar 14, 2013
    100
    Ridiculous Fishing's art, by Greg Wohlwend, is unlike anything I've seen on any platform, an intricate arrangement of creatures, backdrops made entirely of 45-degree angles. Any screenshot you take of this game would make an amazing wallpaper – quite an achievement for a game about a guy sitting alone in a boat.
  19. Mar 14, 2013
    80
    You can't cut-and-paste the artistry and attitude that Vlambeer has brought to this extravagant bit of disposable nonsense. You can't copy a true original - even before it's out.
  20. Mar 14, 2013
    100
    Ridiculous Fishing is absurdly fun and seriously memorable.
  21. Mar 14, 2013
    100
    Ridiculous Fishing, Vlambeer's fishing (with guns!) game has been a long time in the works thanks to drama over a clone, but it's finally here and it's spectacular.
  22. Mar 14, 2013
    90
    Ridiculous Fishing may have a strange premise, but give it half an hour and it blossoms into one of the most innovative, well-balanced, and addictive games of the year.
  23. Mar 14, 2013
    90
    It's been a long and frustrating journey for Vlambeer to bring Ridiculous Fishing to the market, but for gamers it's certainly been well worth the wait. Let's hope the reward for the developers is success on the App Store, and that this particular fisherman's tale has a very happy ending.
  24. Mar 13, 2013
    100
    Ridiculous Fishing brings joy and happiness to the App Store.
  25. Mar 13, 2013
    100
    It totally captures that gameplay niche of a game you can load up and play for a few minutes while providing a feel of progression that also makes the title suitable for substantially longer play sessions- Especially once you start to discover some of its secrets and other particularly effective techniques for maximizing your score.
User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 78 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 20
  2. Negative: 7 out of 20
  1. JPB
    Mar 17, 2013
    1
    A modestly fun yet uninspiring mini-game to play for half an hour before it gets repetitive. Nothing more nothing less. The fact that it is scoring so highly is a mystery to me (and must be vaguely insulting for those who work on more ambitious games). Full Review »
  2. Mar 19, 2013
    9
    Perhaps the "upgrade game" perfected Ridiculous Fishing was quite addictive, but never enough to be disgustingly so, I was able to feel satisfied and put it down after 30 minutes to an hour play session. During that time, I still felt as if I was progressing in my skill with the three minigames, and the upgrades remained interesting enough. It offers a lot of interesting on ideas of progression of three central mechanics, and how you can scale them in complexity enemy placement and behavior as we drop the hook, how to pace the hook as you go back up deciding between hooking more fish and being unable to defeat the larger one in the shooting stage, or hooking less at risk of wasting time if you don't defeat the larger fish, then the shooting minigame.

    I'm not really a fan of the genre of games like this mostly just because I feel sort of empty afterwards (Though the experience may be enjoyable), *relative to other games*, I don't find myself with much to reflect on that isn't strictly game design but the game has a wonderful presentation and aesthetics, and it does let you abstract away some lessons for game development elsewhere. And the point of the game wasn't designed to be to give me lots of non-game-design stuff to reflect on. If you're lucky enough to own an iThing (I'm not, had to borrow a friend's for a few hours), give it a go, if you're even remotely interested in this genre of game. It's by far one of the best ones you can own on an iOS device, and it's only three bucks.
    Full Review »
  3. Apr 29, 2013
    7
    This game, like most other iPhone Apps was good for a while but then turned boring. I enjoyed this game at first making me keep playing to see what I could upgrade on my rod but also to see the different fish that their were. This game is highly addictive during the first levels but then starts to drag on during the higher levels. The graphics are simple yet fit right in being bright and colourful. This game was worth the 69p that was paid for it as I found it funnier than playing games such as angry birds and other games which are just money grabbing. I have full respect for the developers "Vlambeer". I would recommend this game to people that have spare time on their hands. Full Review »