Ridiculous Fishing - A Tale of Redemption Image
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 77 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In the future, fish turn to money when pulverized with high velocity ammunition.

    Hook 'em up and shoot 'em down. Hats sold separately.

    Game by Vlambeer, art by Greg Wohlwend, development by Zach Gage, music by Eirik 'Phlogiston' Suhrke.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Mar 19, 2013
    100
    The genius of Ridiculous Fishing comes from the fact that it’s actually three tightly woven mini games in one, which tie together in one of the most magnetic compulsion loops you’ll find.
  2. Mar 13, 2013
    100
    Ridiculous Fishing brings joy and happiness to the App Store.
  3. Mar 14, 2013
    100
    Ridiculous Fishing's art, by Greg Wohlwend, is unlike anything I've seen on any platform, an intricate arrangement of creatures, backdrops made entirely of 45-degree angles. Any screenshot you take of this game would make an amazing wallpaper – quite an achievement for a game about a guy sitting alone in a boat.
  4. Mar 14, 2013
    90
    Vlambeer’s game is, as its title suggests, ridiculous. In its simple, gleeful rhythms of play, it’s sublime, too.
  5. Mar 19, 2013
    90
    With its appealing looks and tight design, Ridiculous Fishing feels like something unique, but it’s more than that. The game’s concept allows for a great pace of play, while retaining a perfect balance and sharp gameplay. It reaches beyond the ridiculous looking content and blossoms into one of the best mobile games of recent memory.
  6. Mar 18, 2013
    88
    The attention to detail, the authors' passion and the way it constantly surprises the player are the reasons why Ridiculous Fishing is so ridiculously good.
  7. Apr 18, 2013
    70
    It may lack substance in the long-term, but it provides an experience which is admirably oriented towards pure intuitive fun, presented in a way which is great to look at and humorous in tone.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 19
  2. Negative: 7 out of 19
  1. Mar 16, 2013
    10
    Beautiful times, full of that "just one more try and I know I can do it" feelin'. The best kind of nonsense, all the way through to the end sequence, which brings a tear to the eye. Expand
  2. Mar 16, 2013
    10
    Look, the iPhone/iPad is full of great, addictive games. But not many of those games look great, play great, are fun, AND give you bang for your buck. Ridiculous Fishing is an amazing deal at $2.99 I've gotten more enjoyment out of this game in the two days I've owned it that I've enjoyed most of my PS Vita games since the console launched. You will NOT be disappointed. Collapse
  3. Mar 17, 2013
    9
    The first thing that strikes when you start the game is the amount of polishing that went in this game. Everything is smooth and responsive. Everything looks nice and colorfull. But what about the gameplay? It's great! It has the perfect balance of playtime and stressfull parts. It starts slow, avoid the fishes, then gets a little less tense once the line goes back up. Finally, when the fishes get thrown in the air it gets really tense. For me this is perfect. In just one game the pace changes at key points and is just short enough for quick plays or longer gaming sessions. Plus you can buy lots of stuff n the store that enhances the gameplay and there is no IAP. A must in any collection! Expand
  4. May 8, 2013
    8
    Want 3 really fun minigames put together in a ridiculous manner? Want easily obtainable yet fun upgrades with no freemium nonsense? Good game, nothing spectacular but easily worth $3 Expand
  5. Mar 17, 2013
    5
    I bought this game because it had a phenomenal Metascore, and the last iPhone game I bought for that reason was the incredible Year Walk. Well, Ridiculous Fishing is no Year Walk. It's disappointing. It feels like a flash game and nothing more. I can't believe I actually spent money on it. It's repetitive, and the main mechanic is a flash game staple: upgrades. If it ever becomes free, you should pick it up, but otherwise, just go to Kongregate and save your money. Expand
  6. Mar 31, 2013
    2
    My first Meta-review, and I was compelled to write it to save others from wasting full price on this "game". As a new iPhone owner, I have found great success with the Metacritic's reviews when looking for a new game. This one had been top of the heap for a while so I decided to take a chance, despite the quirky concept. Now I don't mind simple or repetitive games, but this is just terrible! If this were a free offering it would still be a waste of time. Even my 7 and 6 year old kids can find no entertainment in this time waster. Comparisons likening this to a Mario Party mini game are spot on. You will be bored within minutes. Expand
  7. Dec 19, 2013
    0
    Would maybe have played this a bit longer than 5 minutes if it was free. Not worth your time in this day and age, about as innovative as Pong.

    Buyer's advice: NO BUY.
    Expand

See all 19 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best iPhone and iPad Games of 2013

    The Best iPhone and iPad Games of 2013 Image
    Published: December 22, 2013
    Here are the highest-scoring games released for iOS this year.
  2. 10 Best iPhone/iPad Games for March 2013

    10 Best iPhone/iPad Games for March 2013 Image
    Published: April 2, 2013
    Looking for something new for your iPhone or iPad? Take a look at the 10 best iOS games released over the past month.