Royal Revolt! iOS

Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
Stream On
  1. Nov 28, 2012
    85
    You can look at Royal Revolt! by any side that you will always notice the attention that developers gave to every single detail in the game. Battles are fun and you'll need to face a lot of different situations in order to win and proceed to the next stage, and the level-up system for the hero and for his troops is well balanced and challenging. The game is free, fun is guaranteed. What are you waiting for?
  2. Oct 15, 2012
    100
    Royal Revolt is a prince among reverse tower defense games.
  3. Oct 13, 2012
    93
    Royal Revolt! is an awesome reverse tower defense: it's fun, deep and challenging, and it's completely free.
  4. Oct 3, 2012
    80
    Concerns about difficulty spikes aside, this is an action strategy title that packs in a depth of tactical gameplay that you wouldn't expect from the first ten or so levels. Please do persist with it though, as hardened strategy fans will find a meaty action game beneath the shallow surface.
  5. Oct 2, 2012
    60
    What Royal Revolt lacks in strategy, it makes up for in bright visuals and the ability to become more involved in the sweeping battles. It provides a surprising amount of content for a free game, with equally surprising production values to match.
  6. Sep 30, 2012
    80
    The only negative is a slightly too easy difficulty, and perhaps this is why I get so much game for free.
  7. Sep 27, 2012
    80
    With so much going for it though, it's hard not to urge gamers to pick up their sword and fight for the crown. Or at least pick up their mobile device. That's probably safer.
User Score
tbd

No user score yet- Awaiting 1 more rating

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 1 out of 2
  1. Sep 28, 2012
    10
    The moment I picked up Royal Revolt! I knew it is a true Appstore gem. Addicting, fun and easy to pick up. Even my girlfriend played for hoursThe moment I picked up Royal Revolt! I knew it is a true Appstore gem. Addicting, fun and easy to pick up. Even my girlfriend played for hours until finally giving me back my iPhone. Full Review »
  2. May 28, 2013
    2
    A would-be beautiful game, completely destroyed by integral in-app purchase mechanics. If they had charged an honest price for the game, theyA would-be beautiful game, completely destroyed by integral in-app purchase mechanics. If they had charged an honest price for the game, they could have had an engaging, charming, and addictive game. The graphics are cute and clever, and the mechanic is fun. But you can't avoid the slimy, in-your-face, clingy interruptions to entice you to buy "gems", or, even worse, to sign up for various services for gems. Blech. Full Review »