Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 24
  2. Negative: 2 out of 24
  1. Oct 6, 2011
    95
    Shadowgun really blew me away. It's one of the best games I've played on the iPhone, and it's one you can really show off!
  2. Oct 3, 2011
    90
    This game is a no brainer for any serious iOS gamer, and anyone that appreciates a genuinely visually stunning mobile game.
  3. Nov 20, 2011
    88
    Gears of War-style third-person action is an ambitious thing to pull off on an iPhone. But Shadowgun does it by compromising on complex controls rather than lovely visuals. [Christmas 2011, p.93]
  4. Oct 7, 2011
    85
    Its campaign mode last between five and seven hours, but it doesn't have a multiplayer mode, which is a shame. Despite this, it is one of the best games in the App Store.
  5. 80
    If you're pining for a handheld substitute for Gears of War, look no further than Shadowfingers brilliant Shadowgun. At a tenth of the price of Epic's blockbuster, recommending this one is easy.
  6. Oct 3, 2011
    80
    Despite these faults, it's hard not to be impressed by Shadowgun. The game is visually stunning and fun to play. It's certainly the best 3rd Person Shooter on iOS and paves the way for further expansion of the iOS shooter genre.
  7. Sep 30, 2011
    80
    It's the current benchmark for iPhone/iPad graphics, and serves as a window into the future. Don't balk at the price. Cough up the dough and give those aliens the business end of Slade's shotgun.
  8. Sep 30, 2011
    80
    Replay value is decent, mostly to marvel at the game's great graphics and style a second time.
  9. Sep 28, 2011
    80
    While not perfect a perfectly executed, the shortcomings in SHADOWGUN leave room for another even better game to take its place; not that there's any rush because it's still worth checking out.
  10. Sep 28, 2011
    80
    Shadowgun has surprised me with great level design, balls-to-the-wall cover based action, and solid set pieces; all wrapped up in an enjoyable b-movie-esque tale and, of course, stunning presentation. As a graphical showcase alone - of what can be achieved on iOS with the Unity engine - it's worth it.
  11. Sep 28, 2011
    80
    Fans of shooters looking for a game with high production values and console-quality gameplay scaled down for mobile will love this. Just be aware that it does pale in comparison in terms of complexity to the big-name console titles that it is inspired by.
  12. Sep 28, 2011
    80
    The best third-person action game available on mobiles, with stunning graphics and tight controls.
  13. 78
    Shadowgun is undoubtedly one of the most beautiful games on the App Store, and without question the one that most fully exploits its graphical resources, yet the experience lacks depth, preventing the overall experience from being excellent. Nevertheless, it remains a great stress reliever and deserves attention, if only to savour its technical prowess.
  14. Apr 4, 2012
    75
    Probably the best looking game that anyone can buy for their iOS devices. It's a Gears of War clone, no doubt about that. But it's a nicely made GoW clone.
  15. Sep 28, 2011
    75
    For gamers who want a Gears of War-like experience on the go, this stunning-looking shooter is the only game in town.
  16. Oct 4, 2011
    73
    Shadowgun sets new graphical standards, but it's also a derivative action game which takes inspiration from Gears of War without having a crumble of its charm.
  17. Sep 28, 2011
    70
    Shadowgun is competent in every way, but isn't exceptional in any way, besides its visuals. The game is fun from start to finish, but isn't likely to "wow" people with its gameplay in the same way it will with its graphics.
  18. Sep 28, 2011
    70
    Something that should be checked out simply because of what a technical accomplishment it is. On top of that, the game is utterly ridiculous; its tone is so over the top that it's delightful. Gameplay-wise, though, it's not quite polished enough to be truly enjoyable.
  19. Nov 15, 2011
    67
    Shadowgun mimics Gears of War so closely that if it were published on consoles, it would have been immediately branded as a desperate knock-off.
  20. Oct 29, 2011
    60
    You can play Shadowgun on your iPhone as well as your iPad, and it doesn't fare too badly here either because it uses the whole left and right sides of the screen to control running and aiming, unlike N.O.V.A. with its tiny joystick.
  21. Oct 2, 2011
    60
    If Madfinger can fix the crashing and save-game deletion issues with a patch, they're still left with a repetitive, but lovely looking shooter. There are hints of true quality in the boss fights and some minor sections of the campaign, but the majority relies on a simple, corridor design that's hard to find engaging for very long.
  22. Oct 31, 2011
    50
    Shadowgun is a bit more than a tech demo, but it's a lot less than an actual game.
  23. Nov 15, 2011
    40
    Sure, Shadowgun looks stunning, but that's about it. It lacks depth, the controls aren't good enough and it gets boring way to fast.
  24. Oct 10, 2011
    40
    This is a smart template for future fun, but the details need work. When it comes to getting this kind of game onto iOS then, Madfinger has, in more ways than one, done all the boring bits.
User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 7 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Feb 1, 2012
    7
    I'm impressed with what those guys squeezed out from unity - the game looks great (10/10 for graphics!) and this concerns the visuals alongside with the animations. Dialogs are not quite witty but they don't occur so often and the creators didn't manage to motivate me enough so that I would care much about the story. For me (a normal, usual player) it seems like I'm making my way through waves of enemies over and over again. It's like enemies->switch->enemies->switch->boss->chapter end. I also didn't like the weapons that they'd throw at me. I mean... who needs a shotgun when the ammo is short and most of the time you are fighting in the mid-range... I simply don't use it. Plus I feel that there should be a customisable aiding system on the iPhone... maybe not as strong as in CoD Zombies but guys! Give me a break. I'm in a bus - how I'm suppose to shoot a guy whose head is like 1 px on my screen?! Other topic is the menu not optimised for 3GS (blurred). All in all, good shooter, great graphics, average gameplay. Full Review »
  2. Dec 6, 2011
    9
    This is a great Iphone game. It's a pretty awesome sci-fi game with great graphics and only for a dollar!! everything is great about this game the story line, the graphics, the game play. 1 issue is that areas and parts may repeat them-self but it's easily forgiven. Full Review »
  3. Nov 30, 2011
    10
    When i got my Ipod Touch i always played gameloft games because for me the games that was made by gameloft has good graphics for a handheld device. But when i tried playing shadowgun it really blows the gameloft games. Shadowgun has all the action and Sci-fi adventure that everybody is wanting. Although i noticed similarities in the game. #1 is N.O.V.A 1 and 2 because in the game the protagonist speaks to S.A.R.A. similar to the computer woman in Nova. #2 Hitman Series because S.A.R.A always gives information to the protagonist. #3 Gears of Wars, the protagonist has resemblance to the protagonists of gears of wars. But in the end Shadowgun is the best Ios game ive ever Played. Full Review »