Shadowgun iOS

Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 24
  2. Negative: 2 out of 24
Stream On
  1. Oct 4, 2011
    73
    Shadowgun sets new graphical standards, but it's also a derivative action game which takes inspiration from Gears of War without having a crumble of its charm.
  2. Sep 28, 2011
    70
    Shadowgun is competent in every way, but isn't exceptional in any way, besides its visuals. The game is fun from start to finish, but isn't likely to "wow" people with its gameplay in the same way it will with its graphics.
  3. Sep 28, 2011
    70
    Something that should be checked out simply because of what a technical accomplishment it is. On top of that, the game is utterly ridiculous; its tone is so over the top that it's delightful. Gameplay-wise, though, it's not quite polished enough to be truly enjoyable.
  4. Nov 15, 2011
    67
    Shadowgun mimics Gears of War so closely that if it were published on consoles, it would have been immediately branded as a desperate knock-off.
  5. Oct 29, 2011
    60
    You can play Shadowgun on your iPhone as well as your iPad, and it doesn't fare too badly here either because it uses the whole left and right sides of the screen to control running and aiming, unlike N.O.V.A. with its tiny joystick.
  6. Oct 2, 2011
    60
    If Madfinger can fix the crashing and save-game deletion issues with a patch, they're still left with a repetitive, but lovely looking shooter. There are hints of true quality in the boss fights and some minor sections of the campaign, but the majority relies on a simple, corridor design that's hard to find engaging for very long.
  7. Oct 31, 2011
    50
    Shadowgun is a bit more than a tech demo, but it's a lot less than an actual game.
User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 10 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 3
  2. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Feb 1, 2012
    7
    I'm impressed with what those guys squeezed out from unity - the game looks great (10/10 for graphics!) and this concerns the visualsI'm impressed with what those guys squeezed out from unity - the game looks great (10/10 for graphics!) and this concerns the visuals alongside with the animations. Dialogs are not quite witty but they don't occur so often and the creators didn't manage to motivate me enough so that I would care much about the story. For me (a normal, usual player) it seems like I'm making my way through waves of enemies over and over again. It's like enemies->switch->enemies->switch->boss->chapter end. I also didn't like the weapons that they'd throw at me. I mean... who needs a shotgun when the ammo is short and most of the time you are fighting in the mid-range... I simply don't use it. Plus I feel that there should be a customisable aiding system on the iPhone... maybe not as strong as in CoD Zombies but guys! Give me a break. I'm in a bus - how I'm suppose to shoot a guy whose head is like 1 px on my screen?! Other topic is the menu not optimised for 3GS (blurred). All in all, good shooter, great graphics, average gameplay. Full Review »
  2. Dec 6, 2011
    9
    This is a great Iphone game. It's a pretty awesome sci-fi game with great graphics and only for a dollar!! everything is great about this gameThis is a great Iphone game. It's a pretty awesome sci-fi game with great graphics and only for a dollar!! everything is great about this game the story line, the graphics, the game play. 1 issue is that areas and parts may repeat them-self but it's easily forgiven. Full Review »
  3. Nov 30, 2011
    10
    When i got my Ipod Touch i always played gameloft games because for me the games that was made by gameloft has good graphics for a handheldWhen i got my Ipod Touch i always played gameloft games because for me the games that was made by gameloft has good graphics for a handheld device. But when i tried playing shadowgun it really blows the gameloft games. Shadowgun has all the action and Sci-fi adventure that everybody is wanting. Although i noticed similarities in the game. #1 is N.O.V.A 1 and 2 because in the game the protagonist speaks to S.A.R.A. similar to the computer woman in Nova. #2 Hitman Series because S.A.R.A always gives information to the protagonist. #3 Gears of Wars, the protagonist has resemblance to the protagonists of gears of wars. But in the end Shadowgun is the best Ios game ive ever Played. Full Review »