Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Jan 3, 2014
    80
    A great racing game, damaged by a business model more fitting of a free-to-play game than a $4.99 one.
  2. Jan 2, 2014
    90
    An incredibly slick kart racer that marks a new high point for iOS kart racers and stands as another exemplary console conversion.
  3. Jan 23, 2014
    85
    It's probably the best karting game on iOS devices. There's a in-app purchases system that we're not too fond of, but the overall experience is fun, addictive and solid.
  4. Jan 3, 2014
    90
    This all adds up to a sequel that exceeds the original in every possible way. While I was initially worried about the IAP in Sonic & All-Stars Racing Transformed, I was really pleased to find the whole game was accessible without dipping into it or grinding.
  5. Jan 3, 2014
    65
    Sonic & All Stars Racing Transformed is ultimately a decent iOS racing game that serves as a tribute to Sega’s past hits.
  6. Jan 6, 2014
    100
    If you’re into racers, get this game.
  7. Jan 2, 2014
    90
    Despite these setbacks, when Sonic & All-Stars Racing Transformed works, it works well. The racing is solid, responsive, and feels fair.
  8. Jan 2, 2014
    50
    Had Sega simply bumped up the price and included everything in one shot, Sonic & All-Stars Racing Transformed would've been just as well received as its console counterpart. Instead, due to an unfair currency system and technical hiccups, it loses control.
  9. Jan 7, 2014
    80
    Sonic & All-Stars Racing Transformed on iOS may suffer compared to versions of the game on other systems, but for kart racers on a smartphone it's one of the best games in town.
  10. Jan 30, 2014
    80
    Sonic & All-Stars Racing Transformed expertly transforms a stale genre for some fresh kart racing fun that is a must buy in its action packed iOS form.
  11. Jan 6, 2014
    90
    Sonic All-Stars Racing Transformed hangs its hat on the variety of its game play and also tugs on our respective heart strings.
  12. Jan 6, 2014
    70
    By air, land, or sea, Sonic & All-Stars Racing Transformed delivers an entertaining burst of nostalgia-drenched fun, though the slow-to-unlock content and awkward in-game currency implementation are unappealing new mobile-exclusive features.
User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 8 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 2 out of 4
  1. Mar 29, 2014
    0
    i'm sure the iOS version is a great port, but for the android version, it is the EXACT opposite. it always glitches up the textures, it has severe framerate issues, and it is pay to win. i'm a sonic fan, but this is just stupid. Full Review »
  2. Feb 23, 2014
    9
    Very good game nearly flawless has some control issues but otherwise is great. Graphics and framerate are top notch. Stages are full of detail and are pleasent to view. I didn't enjoy the drifting stages as the hindering controls made a simple task very difficult to exexcute Full Review »
  3. Feb 9, 2014
    10
    An impressive port of the Sega's "Mario Kart". It looks and plays just as great as the other versions. Recommended if you want a great racing game on your iOS. Full Review »