Sonic CD iOS

Sonic CD Image
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 92 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Sonic CD bridges the gap between his oldest adventures and his new digital exploits.
Stream On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Dec 15, 2011
    100
    If you're a fan of Sonic games and you haven't finished Sonic CD you owe it to yourself to check out this title - scratch that... if you're a fan of platformers, this remastered version is something you need to own.
  2. Dec 15, 2011
    100
    All told, Sonic CD was a masterpiece long before it appeared on the App Store. This wonderful mobile version only helps solidify its standing as one of the greatest video games of all time.
  3. Dec 15, 2011
    100
    Sonic CD is a terrific port of a great, under-appreciated Sonic game.
  4. Dec 15, 2011
    90
    Well bad news for a-holes, but good news for Sonic fans: Sonic CD is on iOS, lovingly recrafted, and you can all enjoy the hell out of it.
  5. Dec 21, 2011
    90
    Featuring your favorite characters, retro visuals, and lightning fast speeds, Sonic CD is a particularly well-developed port that easily exceeds our expectations.
  6. Dec 21, 2011
    90
    A faultless conversion of what is arguably Sonic's most accomplished adventure, Sonic CD on the iPhone combines amazing presentation with a surprising degree of depth and playability. This peerless 2D platform escapade is a must for any self-respecting iPhone gamer.
  7. Dec 21, 2011
    65
    Sonic CD was a great game in 1993. Today we can't put two hands in front of our eyes and ignore its flaws. Sega does a great job in mantaining the same old running atmosphere, but are we sure that it can still give to a 2011 user what he wants?

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Dec 16, 2011
    10
    Sonic CD for iOS is an incredible game. It plays and feels just like the original from 1993, but better. This version was ported by ChristianSonic CD for iOS is an incredible game. It plays and feels just like the original from 1993, but better. This version was ported by Christian Whitehead ("The Taxman"), a long time Sonic fan and game development guru. It retains the classic graphics, with improved effects. The gameplay and controls are also improved, borrowing Sonic 2's speed and spindash. (The original controls are still available as an option for those who prefer them.) The game includes both the US and Japan soundtracks, and has Tails as an unlockable playable character. The achievements are not many, but are a cool addition to the game nonetheless. So are the online Game Center leaderboards. The virtual gamepad is implemented very nicely, and doesn't get in the way even if you're used to playing the game with a joystick. The game can be beaten fairly quickly if you're willing to see only the bad ending, but to get the complete experience, a lot of exploration is involved. I would easily pay $10 for this game, and for the current price, you'd have to be crazy not to get it. Running smoothly at 60FPS at all times, Sonic CD for iOS sets a very high standard for iOS ports. Expand
  2. Feb 25, 2016
    10
    sonic CD for IOS is by far the best 2d sonic game. great grapgics for a 1993 sega CD game, wonderful soundtrack, fantastic level design, tightsonic CD for IOS is by far the best 2d sonic game. great grapgics for a 1993 sega CD game, wonderful soundtrack, fantastic level design, tight controls especially the sonic 2 spin dash which was added to this remastered IOS version, better frame rate in the stages and MUCH better frame rate at the 3d special stages, great new time attack mode, the option to play as tails. just perfect 10/10. Expand
  3. Apr 10, 2017
    10
    I am not a fan of the sonic franchise as a whole but rather a handful of his games. I love the original trilogy, generations, both racingI am not a fan of the sonic franchise as a whole but rather a handful of his games. I love the original trilogy, generations, both racing games and Cd. This is one of the best games one the mobile and the port is suprisengly almost perfect. Expand
  4. Dec 17, 2013
    9
    The first of Christian Whitehead's Sonic restorations. I had never gotten to play the classic game, but only watch it. One day, I searchedThe first of Christian Whitehead's Sonic restorations. I had never gotten to play the classic game, but only watch it. One day, I searched Sonic in the app store, and this was on the sidelines, so I had to pick it up.

    The main thing that sets this game apart is the idea of splitting the zones into a past, a present, a good future, and a bad future. There are sign posts distributed throughout the acts that let you go in between each of these time zones. It's initially frustrating getting the speed and consistency necessary to time travel, but when you figure out the best ways to go about it, you can easily go back and forth between the times to ensure that you get the best future. Then again, you could just rush through all the zones and not care at all, which is more likely than not, cause this is Sonic. However, there is a sense of satisfaction when you create a good future and get to run through the enemy free future that has a much more beautiful backdrop and happy music.

    The special stages put a grin on my face though. What's more fun than bashing UFO's to get the chaos emeralds (they aren't called this in the game, but let's be honest).

    This game is vibrant and colorful. Most stages are enjoyable, but some are gimmicky and infuriating (I'm looking at you Wacky Workbench). Some stages require a lot of precision like Metallic Madness, but some let you move at incredible speeds beyond most of the classical Sonic games like in Stardust Speedway. This game also introduces Metal Sonic, whom you get to challenge to a race.

    Yes, the time travel is a gimmick, but it enhances the gameplay appropriately and allows you to have an influence on gameplay style unusual to classic Sonic gameplay. Not every stage is a winner, but most of the levels are colorful and thoroughly enjoyable with several high notes. This game should be in any platforming connoisseurs collection.
    Expand
  5. Apr 13, 2016
    9
    [ Review is based on both the Sega CD version and the iOS version ] It's impossible to fall into the wrong train of Sega because any new game[ Review is based on both the Sega CD version and the iOS version ] It's impossible to fall into the wrong train of Sega because any new game released by Sega that's related to Sonic the Hedgehog most likely gets mixed reviews, hardly positive or negative. Now with a port from the Sega CD to the PC, PlayStation 3, and Xbox 360, I decide to only review the iOS version because that's the only version of Sonic CD that luckily managed to get an universal acclaim line from the critics. Time traveling now comes into play with Sonic CD, as Sonic comes to save Amy Rose and Little Planet from... you know it.... Doctor Robotnik and Metal Sonic. Usual special stages, different time lines can call in different levels in the same world, and bosses which normally bring in action. Not to also mention the unforgettable soundtrack (there's two different soundtracks: US and JPN/PAL. Choose whatever suits you... unless you want them to be both which I suggest you mix whatever you love to be in those levels). It's best to play it on the original Sega CD than the iOS, PlayStation 3, and Xbox 360, but whatever contains them, the iOS is probably the best port out of those ports of Sonic CD available to play and review. Now since it's on iOS and no longer just on the Sega CD, you can play this game anywhere you go for just $2.99 ($3 rounded) and that's definitely cheap for such a game like this. Expand
  6. Mar 14, 2012
    5
    Wow, Fanboy's are us ! I played this the first time around and although it was ok at the time, gaming has moved on, I really dont know whatWow, Fanboy's are us ! I played this the first time around and although it was ok at the time, gaming has moved on, I really dont know what fun people can eek out of this other than thinking "my god I am glad we are not in the 90's aymore". It's Sonic and it still has the same problems that Sonic always had, no real flow to it, unless you are one of the below reviewers and have devoted your life to small spiky blue things, then chances are you will spend most of your time losing your rings and getting frustrated at which path to take. And this one I would say is worse than the others, half the time you don't know where you are supposed to be going, let alone having to deal with the sometimes annoying controls.

    Good for a bit of retro fun, but I certainly wouldn't give it anywhere near 10 out of 10 in the year 2012, I have given it a 5 and 4 of them are because it is nice to see again. The 1 is for the gameplay.
    Expand

See all 28 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best iPhone and iPad Games of 2011

    The Best iPhone and iPad Games of 2011 Image
    Published: December 20, 2011
    Looking for something to do with your iOS device over the holidays? We recap the best-reviewed iPhone and iPad games of the year.