Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 51 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Sonic CD bridges the gap between his oldest adventures and his new digital exploits.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Dec 15, 2011
    100
    If you're a fan of Sonic games and you haven't finished Sonic CD you owe it to yourself to check out this title - scratch that... if you're a fan of platformers, this remastered version is something you need to own.
  2. Dec 15, 2011
    100
    All told, Sonic CD was a masterpiece long before it appeared on the App Store. This wonderful mobile version only helps solidify its standing as one of the greatest video games of all time.
  3. Dec 15, 2011
    100
    Sonic CD is a terrific port of a great, under-appreciated Sonic game.
  4. Dec 15, 2011
    90
    Well bad news for a-holes, but good news for Sonic fans: Sonic CD is on iOS, lovingly recrafted, and you can all enjoy the hell out of it.
  5. Dec 21, 2011
    90
    Featuring your favorite characters, retro visuals, and lightning fast speeds, Sonic CD is a particularly well-developed port that easily exceeds our expectations.
  6. Dec 21, 2011
    90
    A faultless conversion of what is arguably Sonic's most accomplished adventure, Sonic CD on the iPhone combines amazing presentation with a surprising degree of depth and playability. This peerless 2D platform escapade is a must for any self-respecting iPhone gamer.
  7. Dec 21, 2011
    65
    Sonic CD was a great game in 1993. Today we can't put two hands in front of our eyes and ignore its flaws. Sega does a great job in mantaining the same old running atmosphere, but are we sure that it can still give to a 2011 user what he wants?

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Dec 16, 2011
    10
    Sonic CD for iOS is an incredible game. It plays and feels just like the original from 1993, but better. This version was ported by Christian Whitehead ("The Taxman"), a long time Sonic fan and game development guru. It retains the classic graphics, with improved effects. The gameplay and controls are also improved, borrowing Sonic 2's speed and spindash. (The original controls are still available as an option for those who prefer them.) The game includes both the US and Japan soundtracks, and has Tails as an unlockable playable character. The achievements are not many, but are a cool addition to the game nonetheless. So are the online Game Center leaderboards. The virtual gamepad is implemented very nicely, and doesn't get in the way even if you're used to playing the game with a joystick. The game can be beaten fairly quickly if you're willing to see only the bad ending, but to get the complete experience, a lot of exploration is involved. I would easily pay $10 for this game, and for the current price, you'd have to be crazy not to get it. Running smoothly at 60FPS at all times, Sonic CD for iOS sets a very high standard for iOS ports. Expand
  2. Jan 3, 2014
    10
    The iOS port of Sonic CD is amazing, Sonic CD is my favorite Sonic game and this is the game I was wanting for all those years, a Sonic CD where I could go anywhere with it. The game is perfect, gameplay is nice, I always had problems with iOS platformers due how weird is to control by touching the screen, but I didn't had this problem on Sonic CD. The ability to change the soundtrack between the American and Japanese is a welcome addition, since I always preferred the Japanese soundtrack, being able to control Tails as a extra bonus is also something I wanted. Expand
  3. Dec 15, 2011
    10
    Sonic CD for iOS is absolutely amazing. This is not just a regular emulated port like the other downloadable Sonic games, but it's actually been recreated from the ground up by a member of the Sonic fan community. The amount of care and detail that has been put into this is unbelievable.

    For those not familiar with the game, Sonic CD was originally released for the Sega CD system in 1993. Director Naoto Ohshima took the foundation built from Sonic 1 and made it into his vision of a Sonic game. The result is what is probably considered the most stylistic and surreal Sonic game there is.

    At first, it may seem like another typical Sonic game, which in a lot of ways it is. But beyond running through levels and spinning signposts at the end, there's a whole new twist added to the mix: time travel. If you want to fully complete the game and see the good ending, you'll have to travel back to the past to save the future.

    New features added to this game are the option to switch between the original Japanese soundtrack and the U.S. one, the option to switch between the original spindash and the Genesis-styled one, and the coolest new feature: the ability to play as Sonic's buddy Tails. This game also runs in widescreen instead of shrinking everything, which is a really nice touch.

    So yeah, if you're a fan of Sonic or platformers in general, you need to get Sonic CD on iOS. For the cheap price, it's nothing less than perfect.
    Expand
  4. Feb 21, 2013
    9
    This is a really great port of Sonic CD. Not only does it include both the american and japanese soundtracks (first time ever) it also includes tails as an unlockiable character, reworked physics engine, and the screen resolution remade to fit the screen perfectly, This is a really awesome port, and a great way to play an underapreciated and forgotten sonic title, which has some of sonics 2D best. Expand
  5. Jun 21, 2014
    9
    This near perfect game is everything a classic sonic game is. Almost everything about this game is awesome so I'm going to review this game . Well The main good point is the gameplay, it plays like a generic 2D classic sonic game with good controls all responsive, if your playing this version you will know the controls straight away they are that simple. The graphics are some of the best even though its in 16-bit style and they might even rival grand theft auto ( you never know). Another good point is the music because it is simply some of the best in all classic games I liked the metal sonic rival race music . my only complaints are very minor and they are, the game is way too easy and the bosses are easy as pie. Well overall I say give the game a go if you are a fan of the sonic franchise or not I garantee you will like it but don't expect to be pulling out your hair because this isn't megaman Expand
  6. Mar 14, 2012
    5
    Wow, Fanboy's are us ! I played this the first time around and although it was ok at the time, gaming has moved on, I really dont know what fun people can eek out of this other than thinking "my god I am glad we are not in the 90's aymore". It's Sonic and it still has the same problems that Sonic always had, no real flow to it, unless you are one of the below reviewers and have devoted your life to small spiky blue things, then chances are you will spend most of your time losing your rings and getting frustrated at which path to take. And this one I would say is worse than the others, half the time you don't know where you are supposed to be going, let alone having to deal with the sometimes annoying controls.

    Good for a bit of retro fun, but I certainly wouldn't give it anywhere near 10 out of 10 in the year 2012, I have given it a 5 and 4 of them are because it is nice to see again. The 1 is for the gameplay.
    Expand

See all 17 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best iPhone and iPad Games of 2011

    The Best iPhone and iPad Games of 2011 Image
    Published: December 20, 2011
    Looking for something to do with your iOS device over the holidays? We recap the best-reviewed iPhone and iPad games of the year.